We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Xmas atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pheasant Inn

The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #6 of 126 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Xmas atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Pheasant as we were staying in Keswick for Xmas. Booked well in advance and were not dissapointed. Atmosphere was fab, very Xmassy, pub decorated gorgeous.
Food was fantastic and went very well with the mulled wine. Try the mushrooms stuffed with Pate. Fab.

My 10yr old son had a Xmas dinner and ate every bit of it!
Even managing to upset his nan by telling her it was better than her Xmas dinner!!

Will definitely return.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    281
    51
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A lovely meal. Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had a great meal here. Staff very friendly, food delicious. If we are back in Keswick we will be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This pub is fantastic me and my partner frequently travel to Keswick as we love the break from the big city mayhem. we visit once a month sometimes with our small children which are made to feel more than welcome. From the very first visit Christine and Johnny, the landlords of the pheasant have made my family feel more than welcome and always for have time for us. The food is fantastic it is clean with a warm loving feeling the only fault i would say is its not a B&B as i would love to stay but they probably wouldn't get rid of me. I keep meaning to go somewhere else but i dont want disappointment but have never been let down so why change things that are not broken. Thanks Christine and Johhny, hope to see you soon prop my bar stool up for me!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Truemanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good pub fare and pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Fairly good choices for vegetarians - we had the soup and baked camembert for starters, the veg risotto for mains and the sticky toffee pudding for dessert. The tomato basil soup was a bit too tomatoey but the caramelized onion relish that came with the baked camembert waa heavenly!! Gooey deliciousness! Risotto was a bit sloppy and didnt need so many vegetables in it but the main course was more than made up for by the sticky toffee pudding....one of the best i have ever had! Overall good go to pub fare in a cute little room with a real fireplace, friendly staff and plenty of character! Def try for local flavour!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sneha_manohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Looking for Sunday lunch with some friends we knew The Pheasant was a good bet. We were not dissapointed. Good, friendly service and huge portions more than adequate for all in our group. Nice roaring log fire made the damp dull weather fade away.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakesman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant Inn also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing