We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Abacourt Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James2494
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage ”
Reviewed January 11, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Loved staying here for a long weekend in December. Location is great, only minutes walking away from the restaurants and pubs in the centre and some great walks around the area. The parking space is a little tight which was the only negative, but there is a permit for use in the car park down the road. Very clean and homely. Will be recommending this to my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane s
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Lakeland Cottage”
Reviewed December 21, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with friends at Abacourt Cottage in September 2017. We had a great few days spent walking from the cottage, beautiful scenery everywhere.The cottage was very well equipped for cooking and with lots of takeaways in Keswick, we had the choice to have some cosy evenings in.The cottage is spacious, clean and very comfortable, it is ideal for walkers to relax in. We found it very peaceful and were especially impressed with it's close proximity to the town. It is a very traditional cottage for the region and we found it delightful and intend visiting again next year, It would be enjoyable any time of year as Keswick has so much to offer, especially pubs, restaurants, independent shops and a theatre by the Lake.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2018
Jane, thank you for taking the time to review Abacourt Cottage and for your kind comments. Its lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit and had everything you needed for a comfortable stay in Keswick. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Keswick Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul g
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Abacourt Cottage , Great place to stay.”
Reviewed December 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Recently returned from another fabulous stay at Abacourt Cottage.
My family love this cottage ; Great location , fantastic fascilities and spotlessly clean.
It is a very comfortable cottage with off - road parking ; a bonus at Keswick.
Can,t wait for our next stay there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2018
Hi Paul, we are delighted that you enjoyed another in Abacourt Cottage. Hope to welcome you for another stay soon. Keswick Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShirleyBa...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We visit the Lakes every Christmas as a family. The cottage was not very well equipped for a Christmas dinner to be cooked. The oven door does not close properly causing the our Christmas dinner to take hours to cook. On arrival to the cottage I checked the beds which had blood stains and urine stains on every bed ( I do have photos but there isn’t an option to upload them). The pillows where yellow and the duvets were just as bad. I contacted the owners straight away and they said they couldn’t provide us with clean linen, duvets and pillows until the next day. When the owner turned up he didn’t apologise and didn’t bring any clean duvets. I was given duvet covers and sheets and pillow cases. I had to put two covers over each duvet and not try and think about how dirty they were. The washing machine is situated in a lean to which leaks and you are not provided with any information for the use of the washer dryer. There is a serious problem with the flow of water to the bathroom/kitchen and is very hard to get a hot shower or bath because of this. The TV in the main bedroom didn’t receive any normal TV stations and can not be classified as a free view television. The television in the living room. is not a smart TV as you can not get any of these services on it. We would not recommend this cottage to anyone. We have stayed in many different cottages in the Lake District and this cottage is very poor in comparison to the rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Response from the owner of Abacourt Cottage:

Thank you for staying in Abacourt Cottage and taking the time to review your stay.
I am truly sorry if your Christmas in 2016 was spoiled in any way, your review posted at the end of October 2017 has only just come to my attention.
We have a reputable lettings agency in Keswick that look after the property for us and we welcome comments good or bad so that we may improve the experience of guests.
I have spoken to the agents and they tell me that before you arrived you had wanted to change your arrival and departure dates. Unfortunately this wasn't possible as we had guests arriving on the day you were due to leave. I'm told that you weren't happy with this even though the agency had taken your booking in January 2016 and you wanted to change it a few weeks before your arrival in December. The agents will do all they can to accommodate requests but I'm sorry, on this occasion it wasn't possible.
This seemed to set your stay off on the wrong foot and you made a report to the agents about the bedding. The house has a full spring clean twice a year and a thorough clean and fresh bedding/towels are supplied for every new guest.
After you notified the agency of marks on the bedding, an employee delivered new bedding to you (it wasn't me, as I live over 100 miles away) and felt that your comments were unjustified. Having seen your pictures they are certainly not as described. The letting agents have an email from you stating that 'everything else in the cottage is lovely'.
I'm told by the agents that during and after your stay you didn't contact them again. They are a local agency in Keswick and could have helped with any issues that you may have had at the time. I appreciate that we can't get everything right all of the time but hope that if guests have a problem that they contact the agents straight away so that any issue may be resolved.
Unfortunately your stay and comments are from 12 months ago and we have made a number of improvements in that time to Abacourt.
One guest commented on the cooker and we had it replaced with a new one within 2 days. The roof of the back porch has been replaced along with other upgrades. There are instruction manuals for all appliances in a pack in the sideboard.
We always take seriously the comments of our guests and are pleased that until your review every comment on Tripadvisor and every other site have always given us full marks. Virtually every review we get comments favourably on the location of the house, being within 2 minutes walk of the centre of Keswick.
I'm disappointed with this review as it has only focussed on negatives and seems out of step with all others we have received.
We are always looking to improve facilities and ourselves along with the agency work hard to ensure that guests enjoy their stay and have a good time in Keswick.
If Ms Bailey would like to contact me, through the agency, I would be more than happy to speak to her.
John C.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catriona...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house,in central location.”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Cental keswick, easy to reach local shops,pubs,restaurants. It's only a 10 min walk to the lake. The house has lovely views , especially from the top floor balcony.
the property is well appointed. We have stayed in this house twice, as we found it to be in a great location for what we needed. We were in Keswick for the jazz festival and my husband who was playing at the festival could easily walk to the various venues that were being used for festival.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2017
Hi Catriona,

many thanks for taking the time to review Abacourt Cottage following you most recent stay with us. We love that Keswick continues to host the jazz festival, it is a wonderful event for locals and visitors alike. We hope that your husband's playing went down a storm!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graham314...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Abacourt Cottage holiday”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Nicely positioned cottage with the town centre very close and plenty of bars and restaurants. Fitz park is only just round the corner for a nice walk by the river. The cottage itself is a three storey building. The top floor having a spacious bedroom and a balcony you can sit on ( this we didn't do due to the time of year) the stairs from the middle floor to the top floor are fairly steep. The middle floor had the spacious bathroom and two more bedrooms. The ground floor had comfortable living room and small kitchen. The porch was ideal for the walking gear and a place to clean and dry off the dog. My only issue is getting the car back into the alley from the car parking space which is rather tight for a largish car but you can always leave it in the car park as you have a disk so you can park for free. We had an enjoyable stay but feel like Keswick is nearly our 2nd home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
Hi Graham, many thanks for your wonderful review of Abacourt Cottage. It is great for ourselves at Keswick Cottages and the owners of Abacourt Cottage to read how much you enjoyed your stay. As a small agency everyone at Keswick Cottages knows all of the properties inside out and therefore very happy to help you find your ideal property for your next stay. Just get in touch! Hope to see you again very soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura T
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed in Abacourt Cottage and absolutely love it! The cottage is spacious enough but cosy with everything you could possibly need, a well equipped kitchen and Smart TV! We booked through Keswick Cottages who I would highly recommend everytime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to leave such lovely comments following your recent stay in Abacourt Cottage. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your second stay in the house! We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again soon, if you would like any help or advice when planning your next visit to Keswick please do not hesitate to get in touch. Keswick Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing