We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, comfortable, clean, well...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Crag Cottage

Living room with fire place
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with fire place
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Living room with fire place
Living room with wood burning stove
Kitchen
Double bedroom with a king size bed, fitted wardrobes and tv
Single bedroom
Bathroom with bath and shower
Secluded rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
568antony...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location, comfortable, clean, well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a great place, walking distance to all Keswick has to offer. Cottage super clean and had everything we needed. Little garden was lovely, managed an evening drink in the sunshine! Tip: Three of us stayed there with two cars, if you have one small one you can fit two cars in the parking space.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, luxurious, and well equipped.”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A very short walk to the centre of Keswick so could leave the car. The lake a 5 min walk away. Excellent location. Two supermarkets within 5 mins walk.
Well equiped only needed to bring towels that was did not have needed to bring washing up liquid, tea towels etc or handsoap and toilet roll, although we had brought our own so used that. Bathroom on ground floor so be aware.
Overall we would return for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and luxurious of cottage. Home from home.
Liked least: Nothing cottage was fantastic
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemhawk
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely contemporary cottage in a great location for shops and restuarants in Keswick”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Crag Cottage for 5 nights in mid-March, not least because we were blessed with glorious spring weather. The cottage suited our needs perfectly, particularly the location just a stones throw from all the amenities of Keswick. The small single bedroom was perfect for our daughter who used the travel cot which is provided. The double bedroom is spacious and offers plenty of storage space.

The cottage offers off-street parking at the rear, accessed off a private road near to one of Keswick's main public car parks. There is also some private outside space to the front of the property but we didn't have time to use this.

The property has a small but well-equipped kitchen including a small table and chairs. We ate at this a couple of times but found it a little bit tight for space, but mainly because Ariadna (the property owner) had kindly arranged a highchair for our 1 year old daughter which took up most of the floorspace!

Ariadna replied to my emails very quickly and was only too happy to help with organising the highchair for us. We didn't have a need to contact her during our stay as the key to the property is kept in a key safe at the property itself.

My only suggestions to improve the property would be that a bin be provided in the upstairs bedrooms as we found it annoying to traipse down to the kitchen with every tiny bit of rubbish. Also, a wider selection of glassware would be very handy as there were only two small tumblers and two wine glasses, so no good if you want a large beer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, Decor, Bathroom, Open fire
Liked least: Lack of glassware, dirty cutlery/utensils
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel H
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A very pleasant cottage right in the centre of Keswick, but because it is not on a thoroughfare it was remarkably quiet. Everything provided and the parking space was very useful in such a busy town,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomH423
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Crag cottage for a weekend in November 2015. The location is absolutely perfect for exploring Keswick and the surrounding area. Having parking in a property so close to the town centre is an absolute bonus. The cottage is beautifully decorated with everything you could need but remember to bring your own towels!! The living room has a wood burning stove which makes for a cosy cottage in the depths of winter. Would certainly recommend this little gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location, stove and wifi
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Warm - Cosy- Perfect Location”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just returned from our first visit to Crag Cottage. Everything was just perfect - what I liked best was the location, just off the square. Will definitely return X

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay in keswick”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage has all of the facilites that you need for a great stay. It is located in the center of keswick and you can be at the lake in 5 minutes or the main street in 1 minute. It is a beautiful cottage with central heating, good kitchen and lounge, wifi and nice bedrooms. There is off street car parking as well in a town where parking can be difficult and expensive. We didnt have a car and travelled by public bus and then walked every where and the cottage is ideal for this as well. Ariadna was very good through the process of making the inquiry and booking and during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing