We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A break from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ellas Crag Guest House
Ranked #126 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A break from the city”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

A beautiful peaceful spot to relax in. Very nice room and bath. Breakfast was delicious, as are their flapjack treats. The location was a little remote and hard to find, and you had to drive someplace for dinner. Great DVD collection and views from the room.

Room Tip: Get the room with the large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010worldtraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in September. We picked the room with the bath (Robinson). The views from the bedroom were amazing. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent - the shower and bath was luxurious. The breakfasts were great - excellent porridge/muesli, freshly squeezed orange juice, and good choice of other breakfast foods. Thank you Ed and Jane for an excellent stay. We also liked that their cat, Truffles, deigned to keep us company while we were reading in the lounge in the evening.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Ed and Jane are gracious hosts and love what they do. The rooms were the largest we had during our 2 week trip of England and the bathrooms were spa quality! After long days of hiking in this beautiful area, a hot bath in a quiet B&B was superb.

The location is not walking distance to restaurants/town so eat your meal go back to the B&B to relax and settle in for the night. We liked the location because they are nestled in the Newfoundland Valley and on a great circular car tour close to trails and waterfalls.

We enjoyed our quiet and restful stay and appreciated the tea and biscuits available to us at any hour.

Jane makes a wonderful porridge with whiskey and the cheese omlette was my personal favorite. The breakfast room has a breathtaking view and lots of room to stretch out.

We would love to come back to the Lake District and spend a week hiking the area. We will definitely make Ellas Crag Guest House our home base.

Note: We found having our GPS unit was a lifesaver in this area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mototravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huissen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The best stay we have in our roundtrip around the UK. The only thing I can advice to book the room with the bath. We had the room with the shower, because we don’t like to bath. But this room is very small. It’s like they think that people who like to shower don’t need space?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We took our sons, 9 and 15, around England for two weeks. Not only was the Lake District our favorite destination but Ellas Crag was our favorite place to stay. The views from our bedroom windows were stunning, and the breakfasts were the best we had, as well--clearly, they love to cook and do it well. We had fresh-squeezed orange juice, a first for me in my trips to England. The bedroom was clean and cozy and comfortable, the bathroom large, modern. Wonderful to stay out of the city in the Newlands Valley 10 minutes from Keswick. We were able to walk to the start of the Catbells trail, too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETT1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Stayed here for four nights in May for a walking holiday. Ellas Crag is in an excellent location: only a few miles from Keswick and the Lakes of Buttermere, Crummock Water, Bassenthwaite and Derwent Water. We lied the simplicity of the room which had all we needed plus a very spacious bathroom with a large tub - great for relaxing after a long walk. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotless and cleaned every day. Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and generous, but the serving times are less convenient for people who like to sleep in when on holidays (8:15am is the last sitting). Our room had windows on two sides, offering views of the whole Newlands Valley, Catbells and Skiddaw.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.9 mi away
Swinside Lodge Hotel
Swinside Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newlands
223 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
390 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
583 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swinside Farmhouse
Swinside Farmhouse
#2 of 2 in Newlands Valley
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellas Crag Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellas Crag Guest House

Property: Ellas Crag Guest House
Address: Ellas Crag Stair, Keswick CA12 5TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellas Crag Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ellas Crag Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing