We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Morrels Restaurant

Morrels Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had a lovely three course meal here while staying at a nearby B&B. Food was fantastic and there was lots of choice, even on the set menu. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Only downside of the meal was that each course came out too quickly with hardly any time in between-it felt a bit rushed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kateybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    230
    59
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food and good value”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

A popular restaurant that you will need to book a table for on Fridays and Saturdays. There is a good value three course menu for £20 or you can choose from specials and a la carte. Decent quality wine from £15 rounds off the package. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
934 reviews
736 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant - hands down the best restaurant in Keswick”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We visited Morrels again this week, and as ever it was superb. The three course set menu for £19.95 is amazing value, especially for food of this quality, and with the restaurant being so busy these days, it seems that word is spreading.

We were quickly seated by the very friendly waiting staff, who were excellent all night. After a drinks order, we went for starters of veg pakoras, and breaded haddock with onions and a mushroom cream sauce. Both dishes were excellent, especially the haddock dish. The latter dish came with a bed of rocket, which married the fish and sauce together beautifully.

For main course, we had the daube of beef and the chinese style pork belly. Both again were brilliant. The pork belly was set on a bed of celeriac puree, and surrounded by a beautiful honey and soy sauce, whilst the beef was very tender and perfectly cooked with a rich gravy.

For puddings we had the cheese board, and a home-made apple, date and walnut cake. The cake was sensational, and definitely the dish of the evening. Just superb.

I would recommend Morrels very highly to anyone. We have eaten out all over Keswick, and I would say that Morrels is without doubt the best restaurant in the town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, good service.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a meal at Morrels on Friday evening. We ordered from the set menu, not sure why you wouldn't, 3 courses for under £20! Would def recommend, was busy so I'd advise booking.
Staff were attentive and the dinning room had a nice buzz.
Will be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely meal at Morrels last Saturday evening. We ordered off the three course menu which offers excellent value. Both the food and the wine were lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolamy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrels Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Morrels Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing