We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Restaurant - ideal for pre-theatre meals”
Review of Morrels Restaurant

Morrels Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant - ideal for pre-theatre meals”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have visited this restaurant many times over the years and have never been dissappointed. We went last evening before the "The History Boys" at the Thetare on The Lake and discovered (as we had not been for quite awhile) that they have introduced a fixed price menu at £19.95 for three delicious course. Plenty of choice too.

Highly recommend it along with the Pinotage wine, bin 29, from organic grapes.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cambridgeblue65to67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    225
    57
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine food fair price”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Lovely food.....

Good service........

Well worth a visit.......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HSKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yet another Lakeland Gem!”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We must have visited this restaurant ten times in as many years and on each and every occasion have been impressed with the wonderful food, attentive service and general ambience of the restaurant. It is comfortable, almost understated, but smart, leaving you with the feeling you have been somewhere really special. Indeed, we always look forward to visiting because it is special!
The menu caters for a wide range of tastes and it is sometimes hard to decide what to choose, the food always very elegantly presented.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent attention to detail , will be back.”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic night at Morrels . The menu was so tempting I did not know what to choose, however my choice was delicious. I loved that you could have dishes as starter or main size and chose a delicious trout stir fry which was cooked to perfection. The sea bass was superb and came with a great selection of fresh vegetables and potatoes. I didn't need a dessert, but couldn't resist the chocolate tart and poached pear , worth every calorie.
The friendly service was first class and recommended wine excellent. We will look forward to returning soon .

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneAud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We enjoy fine food and this place is really good. We have been twice now and on both occasions the food was lovely, service great and a good selection of wines. Impressed!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank forkie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrels Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Morrels Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing