We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarence House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarence House
Ranked #7 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Clarence House for two nights in the superior double room... When we arrived to check in we met Richard, who was very welcoming and friendly. He was very helpful and full of advice and knowledge about the local area. Our room was fantastic and a great size, lovely decor and absolutely spotless. We met Karen the next morning at breakfast, she was lovely and extremely friendly. The cooked breakfast was lovely and so was the porridge, with offer of more tea and toast if required. The hotel location was great, just a 5 minute walk into town. Everything was great about our stay here, and if we ever did have any problem (which we wouldn't) both Richard and Karen were extremely approachable. Overall a great stay and we definately will be back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Amy.

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for taking the trouble to post this really positive review. We get genuine satisfaction from having lovely guests such as yourselves and hearing that your visit to Keswick and Clarence House has been so enjoyable.

Please come and see us again.

Kind Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
241
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my friend Helen as we were attempting the Scafell Pike 5 Peaks Challenge to raise funds for Marie Curie Cancer Care. We had a fantastic stay with spotless room, comfy beds and wonderful breakfast! Fresh fruit salad a particular like and undoubtedly aided our post walk recovery!!
Richard & Karen made us very welcome and were so helpful they even sponsored us! We hope we get a chance to go back and to explore more of Keswick and more fells!
Thank you both so much and a big pat for Alfie, D & H x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Denise

You and Helen had come so far, to undertake a big challenge for a most worthy cause which means a lot to us. It was a real pleasure for us to do all we could to make your trip to Keswick as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We really appreciate this very kind review and hope you'll return to Clarence House.

Best wishes

Karen & Richard & Alfie (woof-woof)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Clarence House, we stayed for 3 nights at the weekend and was as perfect as the 1st Time.
Richard and Karen are two of the most genuine and friendly people, it felt like visiting old friends.
Big thank you to Karen for a lovely choice of freshly prepared cooked breakfast, with a good choice of menu. Nothing is too much trouble.
Kichard is extremely knowledgable regarding walking as he is an experienced mountain climber,and also can recommend good places to eat. We met Alfie, (the dog) this time, lovely labrador. This is Top Notch hospitality.
I have been coming to the lakes for more years then I care to remember, but I can honestly say that this B&B leaves the others wanting!
Looking forward to New Year.
Many thanks again

Teresa and Kev Liverpool

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Teresa & Kev

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us again and for leaving another review. We're really chuffed that lovely guests such as yourselves are coming back to us - makes us think we must be doing something right! Glad you also enjoyed meeting Alfie, he's such a big softie and very sociable.

Thanks again and best wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very clean and of a high quality, modern looking, over all great stay. Great food, very helpful and friendly hosts. Good knowledge of lake district and walks which was helpful. Definitely well worth going back to and it is really close to the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Rob

Many thanks for posting this review and for recommending Clarence House to others. It's really nice for us to know that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you'll come and visit us again.

Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Clarence House September 6th. ( Sorry a little late in writing review). This is the 2nd time we have stayed here actually it was about this time last year and the welcome we got from Richard & Karen felt as if it was only a few weeks since we last saw them. We stayed for 3 nights in a different room which was just as nice as the previous one we stayed in. Can't believe they remembered us (must be the midland accent). Richard is still good at giving advice on walks, places to visit and places to eat. Karen's breakfasts still delicious especially the eggs!!!
Its lovely to chat with them, they are such friendly people. Again we will definitely be returning, thanks again Richard and Karen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaj022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Tina & Mark

It was fantastic to welcome you both back to Clarence House and thank you so much for posting this review. We always remember nice guests and especially the ones with great West Midlands accents! So glad you enjoyed your second visit to these parts and we think that Mark's baby (the sports car) really enjoyed the mountain passes?

Thanks again and see you next year perhaps?

Kind Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I visited Clarence House with my boyfriend for our anniversary in October. Our stay was absolutely perfect. Clarence House is beautifully decorated, clean and well serviced, Karen and Richard were so welcoming, friendly and helpful without being overbearing and the location is perfect for easy access to the town and to skiddaw and for vehicular access to the other lakes. All in all a great stay!

We would definitely stay again.

Sarah and Peter

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sarah & Peter

It's really good of you to post this review so soon after your visit and we are very grateful. It's lovely for us to see a nice young couple obviously enjoying their break in Keswick and we're pleased to be able to play a part in making your weekend special for you. Now you've conquered Skiddaw - the skies the limit, so please come and see us again.

Many thanks and best wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belbroughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for the weekend of the Keswick beer festival, when the town is heaving, and we were really pleased to have found this B&B. It is very pleasant, well appointed rooms, convenient location close to the town centre, street parking nearby was straightforward. The breakfast is just what you want and the owners are helpful and friendly as required (e.g. not overbearing like some, but very approachable and happy to chat). This all left us feeling we had very good value. The highest praise I could give is that we would use this B&B again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Peter

Thank you for posting this review and for recommending our Guest House to others. It's really satisfying for us to know that you enjoyed your stay at Clarence House and the Beer Festival of course!

Kind Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House

Property: Clarence House
Address: 14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen and Richard welcome you to Clarence House. A fine detached victorian guest house, recently refurbished to offer a high standard of accommodation. Friendly, clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in a quiet residential location but just 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre and 10 minutes from the lake.All rooms have been completely refurbished and are now decorated and furnished in a smart and relaxing style. They all offer quality oak and pine furniture, generous hospitality trays and free broadband WiFi.Breakfast is served in the spacious and attarctive dining room, complete with victorian fireplace. Guests can choose from a number of breakfast options as well as help-yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing