We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarence House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarence House
Ranked #6 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Traveling from the USA, I spent 3 nights at Clarence House hosted by Richard and Karen. They were the most friendly and delightful hosts going above and beyond to meet my needs. The home was very clean having been updated fully in 2012 in neutral tones with very tasteful furnishings. It is centrally located in Keswick within easy walking distance to shops, pubs, and hiking trails. The room size was small, but typical of the region with amenities such as bottled water, hot water kettle, cookies, and bath products. Richard was very familiar with the hiking trails and guided me to the best locations. Karen was a wonderful cook and served a very satisfying full breakfast. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arlene f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Arlene. We're really pleased to know that you have arrived back home in Michigan safely and hope the jet lag is wearing off fast! Thank you very much for posting this review so soon after your trip and for recommending us to other travelers. It's very gratifying for us to know we have helped to make your visit to England an enjoyable and memorable one.
Thanks again and best wishes for the future

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
241
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Dear Richard and Karen
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you both for a wonderful stay in Keswick. You made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. If anyone is wondering where they should stay at Clarence House they should read the Tripadvisor reviews. I think the reviews say it all !!!

We hope to see you soon.

Much appreciated
Richard and Maureen Lowes

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Richard & Maureen.

It was a real pleasure to see you both again and thank you posting this review. We wish you both the very best in your future plans and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a very lovely stay at Clarence House - owners lovely and friendly and an overall very nice feel to the place. We had a large room on the first floor which was perfect to accommodate our extra luggage. Would recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for being our guests and for recommending us to others. We hope the rest of your holiday up in Scotland went well for you and that you enjoyed the golf. Please come and see us again.
Kind Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Karen and Richard might only have been at Clarence House for one year but boy they look as if they have worked hard to get the house up to its current standard. We were there for one week and loved every minute of it. The rooms are fairly spacious, they are furnished to a high standard and it is the little extras provided like a bottle opener, corkscrew and wine glasses that just makes the finishing touch. They even have pictures of sheep on the walls in case one cannot get to sleep! Breakfasts were freshly cooked by Karen according to what you wanted and there was always fresh fruit salad available as well as all the usual breakfast cereals. Situated in a nice residential street it is a lovely and peaceful location. It was very handy for the centre of Keswick and the theatre by the lake. Richard was always very helpful and informative about all the activities and walks within easy distance and further afield and both he and Karen were genuinely interested in what we were up to or going to do and keen to get to know there guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Rose & Andrew. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review and for your very kind words. Refurbishing and running Clarence House has been a complete lifestyle change for us and quite a challenge but having such lovely guests and receiving positive feedback like this makes it all worthwhile. We hope the long journey from the south coast was worth it and hope you will head north to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Clarence House for the weekend 5th-7th July 2013. We were warmly welcomed and we found the place spotlessly clean with solid quality furniture, comfortable and spacious.
Richard has a wealth of knowledge and nothing is too much trouble, he leant us a map so that we could find the recommended stargazing areas he had advised us on. Directed us to the lovely Chinese Restaurant 'Golden Hills' and recommended some nice relaxing places to sit and have a beer. Thank you, it really enhanced our stay, even though we had to forego the stargazing due to forgotten lenses!
The breakfast is a real treat, plenty of choice, fresh and well presented. Karen cooks everything to perfection and can't do enough for you, she is also very lovely to talk to, taking a genuine interest in her guests.
Our room was delightful and the free standing magnifying mirror is a bonus when your eyes are not what they once was hehe, I liked it so much that I am looking to buy one from the same company.
The only negative thing I can say is that a full length mirror would have been nice, but that is hardly a big problem, and would not stop me from staying with Richard and Karen again!
All in all a very good B&B, you won't be disappointed if you stay here, guaranteed!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Elaine & Kevin. Thanks for coming to stay with us and for posting this great review. It's really nice for us to hear that your weekend at Clarence House was an enjoyable experience and we do hope you you will come and visit us again. Thank you for the point about the mirrors, we will certainly look at that.

Thanks again and best wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had an excellent 3 night stay at Clarence House. Richard and Karen were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome, going above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Both created a very welcoming and friendly atmosphere and took the time to get to know us and what we wanted from our time in Keswick. Richard was a wealth of knowledge and gave some great recommendations for making the most of our time there and Karen provided a fantastic breakfast each morning. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated, with a comfortable bed and the shower was also nice and powerful! There was a great variety of delicious breakfast options and they use local produce wherever possible. The location was perfect for walking into town / the lake etc. Everything was exactly as you would want it to be. We will definitely book here again if we get the chance to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biccari127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are really grateful for this great review and thank you for taking the trouble to post it. Thank you also for being such a pleasure to have as guests in our house. We were very touched by your visits to places with strong family connections and memories for you and hope we helped make your stay a special one. We would like to wish you the very best of luck for the future and hope we may see you again one day.

Kind Regards
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Clarence House was the perfect B&B for our recent visit to the Lakes. The rooms were modern, newly decorated and very clean. There was a great selection for breakfast and Karen is an excellent cook if you like a full english breakfast. Street parking was simple and easy. We never parked more than 20 meters away from the B&B.
Keswick itself was the perfect base for our walking break. Richard was super helpful with his recommendations, so we had some lovely evening meals out and about.
On the last day we wanted to be up and out by 6.45am. Richard was incredible. He pretty much put on a full breakfast for us at 6.30am!! We were not expecting this and it was fantastic that he wanted to accommodate us.
Overall, I couldn't recommend Clarence House enough. It really was fantastic value for money in a superb location. Richard & Karen clearly like people and were great hosts.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Nicola, We're really pleased to hear that you and Mark enjoyed your stay at Clarence House and thank you for giving us such a positive review. The early breakfast really was no bother - as a keen mountaineer Richard understands the need for an early start sometimes. We hope your upcoming trip to The Alps is a successful and enjoyable one for you - you'll have to come back up north and tell us all about it.
Thanks again and best wishes
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#12 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House

Property: Clarence House
Address: 14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen and Richard welcome you to Clarence House. A fine detached victorian guest house, recently refurbished to offer a high standard of accommodation. Friendly, clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in a quiet residential location but just 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre and 10 minutes from the lake.All rooms have been completely refurbished and are now decorated and furnished in a smart and relaxing style. They all offer quality oak and pine furniture, generous hospitality trays and free broadband WiFi.Breakfast is served in the spacious and attarctive dining room, complete with victorian fireplace. Guests can choose from a number of breakfast options as well as help-yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing