We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent break !.”
Review of Clarence House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence House
Ranked #20 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just wanted to say thank you again to Richard and Karen for a wonderful stay in their excellent B & B. We had a great time and can't wait to return! The house is beautiful, clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts are tasty and very filling.
Having stayed at many bed and breakfasts, this is the first time we would definitely go back again, this is mostly due to how welcoming friendly and helpful Richard and Karen. They made us feel at home and gave us lots of useful information and advice which made our holiday really enjoyable. Janet

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_heywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Janet & Steve
Thank you so much for posting this review so soon after your long journey home. It was a real pleasure having you as guests for the week especially as you were so keen to explore the area and discover new places to eat etc.... We get genuine satisfaction when he hear that guests have enjoyed their time at Clarence House and had a great holiday in Keswick. Hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes and kind regards
Karen & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 375 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our second visit to Clarence House since August 2012.

House is beautiful. Our room was immaculately clean with lovely decor. Breakfast was really filling with a good choice of cereal, yoghurts, fresh fruit salad & then a cooked breakfast!!

We will definitely be back!!

Thanks for a great stay again Richard & Karen.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Rachel
Thank you posting this review. It was great to see you and Jon again and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to us. Glad you enjoyed our breakfasts, we do our best to set people up for the day by offering choice and quality. Hopefully you can come and see us again this year for a longer stay.
Thanks again, kind regards

Richard & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our weekend break at clarence House in Keswick. Must say a great big thank you to Richard and Karen for their excellent and very friendly service throughout our stay.
We have been coming to the lake district for many years and have not had a better choice at breakfast, loved the fruit salad and exceptional hot cooked breakfast, We stayed in room 3 with a kingsize bed, so comfy and spotless..Would recommend it!
Thanks Richard for your indepth knowledge and good advice about were to go and places to eat,
Most certainly will come back.

Thank you again,
Wishes

Teresa and Kev Liverpool

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Teresa & Kev
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for being such friendly and lovely guests. Karen is really thrilled that you liked the fruit salad and the cooked breakfast - it makes all her hard work worth it. It would be so nice to see you both again in the very near future, there are lots more hills to climb and places to eat that you haven't tried yet!
Many thanks and best wishes

Richard & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Everything you want from a good B&B -- warm comfortable bedroom, compact but well-laid out en-suite, plenty of choice for breakfast (special mention for the fruit salad as well as the cooked breakfast), combined with a good location only a short walk from Keswick town centre.

Unrestricted free on-street parking.

Karen and Richard are excellent hosts. They've been running Clarence House for less than a year but have clearly put a lot of thought and effort into getting everything right. I'm quite sure that this will be a place that will get lots of recommendations, so book a stay here while you can. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrunoJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for posting such a kind review, it really does mean a lot to us, especially from such seasoned travelers such as yourselves. We have worked hard to make Clarence House a welcoming and comfortable place from which to enjoy Keswick and the northern Lakes and we get genuine satisfaction from knowing guests have had found our guest house very much to their liking.
Once again thank you for this review and please come and see us again
Best wishes
Karen & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived here both Richard and Karen made us feel like friends rather than guests. Richard even recommend a nice place for dinner. It was very mice that first names where used in the morning, Breakfast was of very good quality and served hot. They both wave us off, wishing us good luck at our trip to a wedding fair not so far away. We will be back again. Oh and yes we have set a date for the wedding at the venue ( 8th March 2014) Thank you both. Craig & Sarah

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachboy527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Sarah & Craig. Thank you for this really nice review. We're pleased that your short stay with us was enjoyable and productive and we're really thrilled to hear your news. Such an exciting time for you both now you've set the date and found the venue. It would be lovely to see you both again in the future and if we can be of assistance in any small way please don't hesitate to contact us.
Kind regards

Karen & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Clarence House, Keswick. Had not stayed in a B & B in a long time and this exceeded my expectations. The service and attention to detail was excellent and very friendly from the moment of arrival to when we left. The location is ideal - short walk to the town centre and lake. Room was cosy and nicely decorated -would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kirsten_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Kirsten & Jack. Thank you for taking the trouble to post this review, we are always very grateful when guests provide feedback. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that you found Clarence House and Keswick to your liking. We think our location works well for visitors with free unrestricted parking and so much within an easy walk.
Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future if you return to Keswick.
Kind regards
Richard, Karen & Alfie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Booked a one night stay at short notice earlier this month for a netball event in Keswick and we were highly impressed and wished we'd booked another night. Richard and Karen are excellent hosts, friendly,helpful and informative. They have clearly invested a lot of time, effort and expense in refurbishing Clarence House to a high standard throughout. Our room was spotless, very well furnished and decorated and warm on what was a sub-zero night. Breakfast was excellent, nice choice of cereals, fruit and the like followed by a cracking, freshly prepared cooked breakfast. We only had time for something of a flying visit but will certainly consider returning next time we're up in the lakes for a more leisurely stay. The hotel is ideally situated for all that the centre of Keswick has to offer, being about 10 minutes walk from the main square.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rochdalians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you so much for such a positive review, we really do appreciate feedback from our guests. We're so glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope that you may be able to return for a little break in Keswick sometime, it's a great place and ideal for a 2 or 3 night getaway. Thank you also for the very nice things you have said about Clarence House - it makes all the hard work worth it.
We hope your daughters netball tournament went well and wish you all luck for the future.
Kind Regards
Karen & Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
811 reviews
0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 196 in Keswick
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 196 in Keswick
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#8 of 196 in Keswick
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 196 in Keswick
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#14 of 196 in Keswick
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House

Address: 14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $119 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jane and Nigel welcome you to Clarence House. A fine detached victorian guest house, recently refurbished to offer a high standard of accommodation. Friendly, clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in a quiet residential location but just 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre and 10 minutes from the lake. All rooms have been completely refurbished and are now decorated and furnished in a smart and relaxing style. They all offer quality oak and pine furniture, generous hospitality trays and free broadband WiFi.Breakfast is served in the spacious and attractive dining room, complete with Victorian fireplace. Guests can choose from a number of breakfast options as well as help-yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing