We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“easter weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarence House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarence House
Ranked #7 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“easter weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our weekend break at clarence House in Keswick. Must say a great big thank you to Richard and Karen for their excellent and very friendly service throughout our stay.
We have been coming to the lake district for many years and have not had a better choice at breakfast, loved the fruit salad and exceptional hot cooked breakfast, We stayed in room 3 with a kingsize bed, so comfy and spotless..Would recommend it!
Thanks Richard for your indepth knowledge and good advice about were to go and places to eat,
Most certainly will come back.

Thank you again,
Wishes

Teresa and Kev Liverpool

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Teresa & Kev
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for being such friendly and lovely guests. Karen is really thrilled that you liked the fruit salad and the cooked breakfast - it makes all her hard work worth it. It would be so nice to see you both again in the very near future, there are lots more hills to climb and places to eat that you haven't tried yet!
Many thanks and best wishes

Richard & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
241
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Everything you want from a good B&B -- warm comfortable bedroom, compact but well-laid out en-suite, plenty of choice for breakfast (special mention for the fruit salad as well as the cooked breakfast), combined with a good location only a short walk from Keswick town centre.

Unrestricted free on-street parking.

Karen and Richard are excellent hosts. They've been running Clarence House for less than a year but have clearly put a lot of thought and effort into getting everything right. I'm quite sure that this will be a place that will get lots of recommendations, so book a stay here while you can. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrunoJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for posting such a kind review, it really does mean a lot to us, especially from such seasoned travelers such as yourselves. We have worked hard to make Clarence House a welcoming and comfortable place from which to enjoy Keswick and the northern Lakes and we get genuine satisfaction from knowing guests have had found our guest house very much to their liking.
Once again thank you for this review and please come and see us again
Best wishes
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived here both Richard and Karen made us feel like friends rather than guests. Richard even recommend a nice place for dinner. It was very mice that first names where used in the morning, Breakfast was of very good quality and served hot. They both wave us off, wishing us good luck at our trip to a wedding fair not so far away. We will be back again. Oh and yes we have set a date for the wedding at the venue ( 8th March 2014) Thank you both. Craig & Sarah

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachboy527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sarah & Craig. Thank you for this really nice review. We're pleased that your short stay with us was enjoyable and productive and we're really thrilled to hear your news. Such an exciting time for you both now you've set the date and found the venue. It would be lovely to see you both again in the future and if we can be of assistance in any small way please don't hesitate to contact us.
Kind regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Clarence House, Keswick. Had not stayed in a B & B in a long time and this exceeded my expectations. The service and attention to detail was excellent and very friendly from the moment of arrival to when we left. The location is ideal - short walk to the town centre and lake. Room was cosy and nicely decorated -would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsten_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Kirsten & Jack. Thank you for taking the trouble to post this review, we are always very grateful when guests provide feedback. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that you found Clarence House and Keswick to your liking. We think our location works well for visitors with free unrestricted parking and so much within an easy walk.
Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future if you return to Keswick.
Kind regards
Richard, Karen & Alfie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale, lancs
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Booked a one night stay at short notice earlier this month for a netball event in Keswick and we were highly impressed and wished we'd booked another night. Richard and Karen are excellent hosts, friendly,helpful and informative. They have clearly invested a lot of time, effort and expense in refurbishing Clarence House to a high standard throughout. Our room was spotless, very well furnished and decorated and warm on what was a sub-zero night. Breakfast was excellent, nice choice of cereals, fruit and the like followed by a cracking, freshly prepared cooked breakfast. We only had time for something of a flying visit but will certainly consider returning next time we're up in the lakes for a more leisurely stay. The hotel is ideally situated for all that the centre of Keswick has to offer, being about 10 minutes walk from the main square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rochdalians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you so much for such a positive review, we really do appreciate feedback from our guests. We're so glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope that you may be able to return for a little break in Keswick sometime, it's a great place and ideal for a 2 or 3 night getaway. Thank you also for the very nice things you have said about Clarence House - it makes all the hard work worth it.
We hope your daughters netball tournament went well and wish you all luck for the future.
Kind Regards
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been looking for a quality B&B since our favourite closed some 10 years ago. At last we have found it !!! Richard and Karen were the perfect hosts and made us feel part of the household and the family. Cleanliness was paramount and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed just before Christmas and this put us in the mood for the festive season. Apologies for not posting sooner Richard, but my tripadvisor name seem to conflict with yours (Richard L) and did not accept my previous attempts. Hopefully this goes through !! Richard and Maureen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Richard & Maureen. Thank you very much for this kind review, it's really good of you to do this especially when you had to persevere to get tripadvisor to accept that Richard L. the guest was not Richard L. the owner! It was a real pleasure for us to have such nice guests and we do hope you will come and stay again.
Thanks again and kind regards
Richard & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just arrived home from a fabulous couple of nights at Clarence house. Was greeted by Richard on arrival with a very warm welcome and an upgrade to the kingsize room:-) as we were the only guests that night. The room was lovely, homely and spotless.
We met Karen the next day at breakfast she was very friendly and makes a great poached egg! They are both such lovely people and very warm and welcoming.
If you need to know anything about the area, for example where to eat or visit just ask and they will know.
We will definitely be returning in the summer, would highly recommend a stay!
Thanks, Emily and Sarah :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlestboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Emily & Sarah
Thank you so much for these kind words, it's very good of you to provide such nice feedback and we are very grateful. We genuinely enjoy having friendly guests like yourselves and get real satisfaction from knowing that you have had a pleasant experience at Clarence House. We are still quite new to the B&B business but we're determined to make our Guest House somewhere that people gladly return to and recommend to others. It would be lovely to see you again this year and once again many thanks.
Kind Regards
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House

Property: Clarence House
Address: 14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen and Richard welcome you to Clarence House. A fine detached victorian guest house, recently refurbished to offer a high standard of accommodation. Friendly, clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in a quiet residential location but just 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre and 10 minutes from the lake.All rooms have been completely refurbished and are now decorated and furnished in a smart and relaxing style. They all offer quality oak and pine furniture, generous hospitality trays and free broadband WiFi.Breakfast is served in the spacious and attarctive dining room, complete with victorian fireplace. Guests can choose from a number of breakfast options as well as help-yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing