We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarence House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarence House
Ranked #10 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked Clarence House the day before our arrival, after seeing such beautiful photos on the internet. We stayed for 4 nights to celebrate my husbands birthday. Clarence House is friendly and welcoming which has recently been completely refurbished. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Richard who made us very welcome straight away. He showed us to our room and as soon as I walked in the room I was taken back with how lovely it was. Everything was so modern, the furniture, flat screen tv, it was so nicely decorated and very clean. It had a lovely ensuite shower room and a hospitality tray with refreshments which was filled up every day. Richard and Karen are such a lovely couple very friendly indeed. They both took an interest in what we were going to do each day and recommended places for us to go and told us about some lovely scenic routes to take. Lastly and not forgetting Karens fantastic home cooked breakfasts. After tucking into cereal and toast, then followed the cooked breakfast which had a wide range of local produce, the sausage especially was the best! It kept us going for the rest of the day. Clarence House was a pleasure to stay in. Richard and Karen are great hosts very friendly and chatty and we will definately be staying there again. It was the first time we had been to the lakes and it won't be the last! So beware Richard and Karen that couple from Dudley will be back! Lovely stay and thanks again.
Tina and Mark

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tinaj022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Tina
Thank you so much for posting such a nice review, we really do appreciate you taking the trouble to do this. We are thrilled that you and Mark enjoyed your first visit to the Lake District and that you found Keswick and Clarence House to your liking. We only opened for business on 16 July and are still newcomers to Guest House ownership but lovely guests like yourselves and your very kind comments give us genuine satisfaction and the encouragement to keep up high standards. It would be fantastic to welcome you to Clarence House again in the future. There is still lots of the Lake District you haven't seen and you should see it when the sun shines!
Thanks again and best wishes
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
244
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

From the minute Richard opened the door - we knew we had made a good choice, Clarence House is warm, friendly and welcoming. The house is beautifully decorated, totally in keeping with its age but with all modern facilities including WiFi and a lovely ensuite , even a hairdryer. Richard and Karen have obviously put a great deal of thought into their rooms, there was even a cork screw in ours. The bed linen is exquisite, my friend and i admired it so much we both said we need to go shopping ! breakfast is delicious, i particularly enjoyed the sausage, my friend loved her smoked salmon bagel.
Richard and Karen are great hosts, very warm, chatty and genuine. It was a delight to stay and we wish them all the best in their business .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LBWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post this review. You have been most kind and we are very grateful for these positive and constructive comments. We love the Lake District and Keswick in particular and find it so rewarding to help regular visitors such as yourselves enjoy your time here.
We are also pleased that you noticed and appreciated all the little touches, luxuries and extras which we hope make Clarence House a really nice play to stay. It would be lovely to see you again in the future and once again many thanks for your comments and best wishes.
Regards
Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you are looking for a delightful stay in the beautiful lakes, come here! You are guarenteed and warm welcome from Karen and Richard, They are helpful, friendly and thoughtful. The room was very tastefully decorated, comfortable and extremly clean.
Breakfast was delicous and beautifully cooked with a wide range of local produce.
Lovely stay!
Anne and Mike

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Anne & Mike
Karen and myself are very grateful for your kind comments and are really pleased that you enjoyed your little break in Keswick. We are trying our very best to make Clarence House a place which people find comfortable, relaxing, clean and friendly. We're really glad you found the breakfasts to your liking also; we don't use cheap ingredients and are proud to use local, high quality Cumbrian sausages, bacon. free range eggs etc...
Once more thanks, please come and visit us again.
Regards
Richard & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have recently returned from Clarence House after a 4-night break in the lakes. We knew very little about the B&B - picking it solely from the pictures we could see on LateRooms.com! We immediately realised how fortunate we had been as soon as we arrived at Clarence House. We were warmly greeted by both Richard and Karen, who made us feel very welcome.

The B&B was, in our opinion, immaculate. The dining room was spacious, yet cosy, and we ate a delicious and filling breakfast every morning at a personal table. We felt a bit spoilt for choice at the variety of breakfast foods available! Every morning at breakfast, Richard and Karen were genuinely interested in how our previous days activities had gone. This made our breakfast times all the more pleasant.

This was our first trip to the lakes, and Richard was incredibly helpful - offering suggestions of places to go, activities to do, and the most scenic routes to drive through. We followed Richard's suggestions most days, and were never disappointed!

Our room was spacious, fresh, comfortable, and very clean - A lovely room to return to after a physically challenging day out. The en suite bathroom was a good size, and the shower temperature was very easy to control!

Clarence House was a complete delight to stay in. We will certainly be returning in the future. The B&B was of fantastic quality, while Richard and Karen's generous and hospitable nature ensured our stay was thoroughly enjoyed.

Thanks Richard and Karen! - Tom and Kirsty

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Tom & Kirsty
Thank you so much for your kind words, myself and Karen are really happy that you enjoyed your first trip to the Lake District so much. Thank you also for being so complimentary about Clarence House - it's nice to know that all our hard work refurbishing this place has resulted in a guest house that it is appreciated by our customers. We are determined to set and maintain high standards in all that we do.
We really do enjoy meeting and chatting with our guests and doing all we can to make their stay with us a pleasant and relaxing experience. We hope that you will visit this very special part of the country again and would love to welcome you to Clarence House once more.
Many thanks and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at Clarence house, fantastic value for money.
Richard and karen are perfect hosts,stayed in the twin room,very clean and comfortable.
The whole house/facilities showed an attention to detail and is tastefully decorated throughout.
Richard had a warm and non intrusive manner and was very knowledgeable regards to the local area.
Karens breakfast was excellent and plentiful,offering a good choose,and used quality produce
throughout,in particular the coffee which for me is important, first thing in the
morning.!
Certainly a template for some of the establishments I've stayed at over the years,
look forward to going back again if in Keswick..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Gary
Thank you very much for posting this review and for offering such positive comments. We have only been open for business a few weeks and feedback like this really encourages us. It is really pleasing when customers notice all the little touches and appreciate the quality that we try to put into everything we do. We could purchase cheaper bacon, cumberland sausages, coffee, bedlinen, biscuits, mineral water etc..... but we don't because we want our guests to really enjoy their stay with us and feel they are getting good value for their hard-earned money.
Thanks again for your very kind comments, it would be lovely to welcome you again to Clarence House.
Regards
Richard & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I booked Clarence House for a 1 night Bank holiday break. We do not usually stay in B&B's as we've had poor experiences in the past however, the photo's of Clarence House tempted me to book and give it a go. We were not disappointed! The room we had booked (number 3) had the king size bed and the bay window which was amazingly spacious with extremely tasteful decoration. The en-suite had everything that we required and we were pleasantly surprised to find complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. Cleanliness was faultless all over the house, I even ran my finger over one of the small display tables in the dining room to check for dust but no dust was found. The house is 5 mins walk into Keswick and a short walk away from Derwent water so it was great that we didn't use the car at all. In short, we did not want to go home so we stayed an extra night!! The weather was not kind to us but Richard and Karen gave us lots of top tips as to where to go and what to do to make the most of our stay. Karen took in our wet coats and boots and dried them overnight. Breakfast was fabulous, I can recommend the Smoked Salmon & scrambled eggs Bagel if you fancy a change from the regular Cumbrian breakfast. Complete value for money - get your booking in now because we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Rachel
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review. Thank you also for your very kind words. We get genuine satisfaction from knowing our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We're glad that you decided to stay another night and found so much to do in the area despite very mixed weather.
It would be wonderful to see you again in the future and hope you will come to stay at Clarence House.
Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Gill, Tyne and Wear, Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights at Clarence House and we were really impressed. Having stayed before with the previous owners, we hadn't expected anything other than a pleasant stay but were really impressed with its new look.
It's been beautifully redecorated and is literally sparkling clean everywhere. We found the new owners to be very friendly, and felt like we'd been really 'looked after'.
We will definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Karen
Thank you for this very positive review. It's great to have active people like yourself, who really appreciate what the Kewick area has to offer, staying with us. We are glad you found Clarence House to your liking and hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Once again many thanks and all best wishes
Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#7 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House

Property: Clarence House
Address: 14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karen and Richard welcome you to Clarence House. A fine detached victorian guest house, recently refurbished to offer a high standard of accommodation. Friendly, clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in a quiet residential location but just 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre and 10 minutes from the lake.All rooms have been completely refurbished and are now decorated and furnished in a smart and relaxing style. They all offer quality oak and pine furniture, generous hospitality trays and free broadband WiFi.Breakfast is served in the spacious and attarctive dining room, complete with victorian fireplace. Guests can choose from a number of breakfast options as well as help-yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clarence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing