We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic getaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wingrove Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the house in the sunshine (afraid we can't guarantee the sun) The kitchen sink sparkling in the light
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The front of the house in the sunshine (afraid we can't guarantee the sun)
The kitchen sink sparkling in the light
However you choose to cook - hob, oven, toaster or microwave
View through the kitchen
Breakfast time
Bedroom 1 - the perfect place for a lie-in with the papers
Bedroom 1 - somewhere to store all your things
Bedroom two set up for one
Bath time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bramley22
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway ”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage in a perfect location in a quiet area. Only ten minutes from town centre where you find pubs restaurants. The cottage is a high standard with everything you need to make it home from home. The bottle of wine left was a lovely touch from belinda whom can't do enough for you if you have any questions about the cottage. Thanks for lovely stay will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie H
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location/Good Facilities”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a lovely comfortable stay at Wingrove and would definitely returned. Location was great with lovely walks around the Keswick area. It was lovely to be able to walk into town (8 minute walk). I have recommended this property to friends already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucybigam
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a fantastic stay at wingrove cottage. It is Recently renovated so everything is in perfect condition but also a cosy and comfortable stay. Comfortable beds with fluffy pillows and a great deep bath to soak in after a day walking. It is also a 2min stroll to all shops, amenities and the countryside.
A more than perfect stay and I will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate S
1 review
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My partner and i stayed here for a week over the New Year's break. The cottage is located in a perfect place just a 5 minute walk and we were in the heart of Keswick which has numerous shops to suit everyone from well known outdoors shops to independent gift shops. The cottage provided everything we could've asked for including a huge variety of cooking utensils which came in handy as me and my partner enjoy cooking and baking. It has been refurbished to an exquisite standard and really did feel like home as soon as we walked through the door and the added bonus of a log fire really did make it exceptionally cosy, there wasn't one thing we would've changed about it. The cottage stayed warm throughout the day even when the heating wasn't on which was lovely to come home to after a long days hiking. Keswick itself is a beautiful town with lots of little cafes and pubs to try, we really were spoilt for choice. One restaurant we woud recommend is the Sizzling Stone where we had an exceptional 3 course meal and were served to a very high standard. Also Lakeland spice cuisine is brilliant for those who love a good curry. The walk around the beautiful Derwentwater lake is a must and for those who like a challenge then the hike to Skiddaw mountain is for you, the views from the top are well worth it! We had an amazing New Year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed here with my parents for the Christmas week. It is located very conveniently near to the town but on a quiet road of similar cottages. All the facilities we needed were catered for, including a boot room, very handy after a day on the fells with a small dog! The cottage has been refurbished to a high standard and really feels very homely and cosy. We were worried it might be cold but the heating and underfloor heating and log burner meant it was very warm. Lovely soft furnishings and comfy beds. We have been to Keswick several times and it's a lovely little town, full of gorgeous cafes, great pubs with real fires and lovely shops selling local art and craft. Recommend the Dog and Gun goulash.lots of great walks even from the house- Walla Crag and beyond just behind it. We had a great Christmas!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing