We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craglands Guest House
Ranked #86 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was absolutely wonderful, an excellent location which offered a nice scenic route to town and brilliant food. The hostess was charming and so helpful. She offered excellent advice for local walks and entertainment. Thank you so much for the weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 142 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Booked this wonderful Guest House through lastminute.com, for a couple of nights stay. We can honestly say, the place and Mark & Pauline deserve the high praises given,by so many guests. The place was very clean and tidy, the breakfast brilliant, and the service first class. Mark & Pauline went the extra mile to make us feel at home, so the least we can to is to thank them publicly for making our weekend so enjoyable. Having visited many guest houses around the UK over the years, we can honestly say this is up there, with the best.

Room Tip: Wonderful bedroom at top of house. Two double glassed windows overlooking Keswick and snow capped mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus67413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

don't normally review places but felt compelled to thank our hosts for a very pleasant stay. room was excellent and Mark and Pauline were extremely helpful!! breakfast was brilliant (good luck on eating it all ;-). flask of tea for the walk was a lovely touch as we're the waterproof maps, drying our boots and great advice. this is an excellent place to stay and would recommend it to anyone!! would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milandalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked this place on a whim form laterooms for my Fiancee Annie and myself for a wee getaway down to the Lake District for the weekend. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Pauline and Mark make you feel instantly welcome and at home. They are very friendly and extremely helpful. nothing is too much trouble for them and they are happy to chat away whenever they see you.

The room we had was excellent. it was well equipped, spotless and warm, and very comfortable

Breakfast was fantastic, well cooked, tasty and really set us up for the day

If you are going anywhere in the Lakes, do yourself a favour, go stay at the Craglands, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: pick any room, they are all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machighlander_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago in deepest darkest winter. I think it was actually 2012. I'd cycled up from windermere and they helped me find a place to stash my bike.

On my first occassion in the peaks I was a bit naive, not having the best waterproof gear. They gave me a lovely waterproof map and invaluable advice and discussion on where to go etc.

I'll definitely be back next time I'm up that way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomtom462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night walking trip at the Craglands and it was most enjoyable. It offered everything you want from a Guest House! Pauline & Mark were lovely they shared so much knowledge of Keswick and surrounding areas! Pauline makes an extremely delicious english breakfast to order and the portion sizes definitely set you up for a great day walking and climbing! They also offer an abundance of maps with walks for different areas they recommend that you can take with you! And Pauline made us a huge flask of hot tea which was definitely needed at the top of Skiddaw in 50mph winds and -16 temperatures! Thank You Pauline & Mark for a fabulous stay in Keswick! Highly Recommended!!x

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Excellent place to stay. Clean and well decorated rooms. Breakfast was lovely even with homemade bread. Pauline and mark couldn't be more helpful even offering a flask of coffee to drink once we'd reached the summit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neleh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.6 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#46 of 189 in Keswick
192 reviews
3 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
0.7 mi away
Larry's Lodge
Larry's Lodge
#83 of 189 in Keswick
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#77 of 189 in Keswick
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 189 in Keswick
570 reviews
0 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#13 of 189 in Keswick
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craglands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craglands Guest House

Address: Craglands Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $85 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craglands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craglands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing