We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in great place with great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Craglands Guest House
Ranked #76 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My fiance and I stayed with Mark and Pauline over new years and thoroughly enjoyed it. The B&B is ideally located, just out of town so you are close enough to enjoy all that Keswick has to offer without having all the hassle of staying right in the heart of it all. And you've got some of the better walks right on your doorstep. Room was extremely comfortable and the breakfast would be hard to beat... we both over ate each morning as the options available were all too good to say no too (lucky we walked each day!). Recommend highly.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank roamingfellowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Craglands Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 141 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this FAB guest house. We have stayed many times in Keswick but never here and were we so pleased we did. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel so welcome by the hosts Pauline & Mark,what a really friendly lady she is and nothing is too much trouble for her. Our top floor room had lovely views and was definitely 4*. IT was spotless and so comfortable. The breakfast was enormous and if you opt for the beautful porridge I suggest you ask for a medium potion or you won't be able to do the cooked part justice. We actually only had cooked once as the buffet choice was more than ample and lovely home made bread to toast complemented this well. Will definitely stay here again and already planning a spring visit- cannot ever imagine anyone finding fault and so reasonably priced ,you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186478Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a find-one of the best b/b we have stayed in.The rooms and food were excellent,spotlessly clean and comfortable.In the rooms we had tv/tea and coffee making facilities.The family were lovely-especially the landlady pauline who was so friendly and a laugh a minuet.going back in february cant wait

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great hosts,exellent food. Guest house clean and comfortable.Will stay there again. Mark very knowledgable on walks in the area. Paulines goes out of her way too make sure everything is ok even down to bringing us two glasses to the room to enjoy the bottle of wine we brought with us instead of us using plastic ones.

Room Tip: Stayed in tom fox crag room the views were fantastic.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riggers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a lovely guest house, close to the centre of Keswick, with very friendly and helpful hosts. The breakfast is simply excellent and varied to cater for most tastes and one of the very few we have stayed at that offer Soya milk as an option. The rooms are well appointed and the bed that we had in our room was very comfortable indeed. Between Mark & Pauline they are able to offer excellent advice regarding the surrounding area, both walking and driving. We will definately return and enjoy more of this picturesque area again. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arejay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Lovely clean guest house,near Keswick and not far from Ambleside(beautiful journey to Ambleside from Craglands)Comfortable rooms and wonderful full English breakfast-recommended. Tried to find restaurant in Ambleside,all quite expensive,but found good value at Luigis-great little Italian off the main drag.

Room Tip: Top rooms give amazing views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stockportlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our second stay at Craglands with Mark and Pauline. Good location and only 10min walk from town centre. Marks detailed knowledge of the area was greatly appreciated, Paulines hospitality as ever was excellent. The breakfast was outstanding and Pauline was able to make up a packed lunch for us whis was excellent value for money. Rooms are nice and clean and the beds are comfortable. I can highly reccomend Craglands. Good location, comfortable, great value for money and outstanding levels of hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#42 of 189 in Keswick
188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Powe House
Powe House
#6 of 9 in Portinscale
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#67 of 189 in Keswick
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cragside
Cragside
#95 of 189 in Keswick
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#83 of 189 in Keswick
77 reviews
2.9 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craglands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craglands Guest House

Address: Craglands Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $83 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craglands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craglands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing