We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West View Guest House
Ranked #65 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The room and ensuite were spacious and very clean and tidy. Dawn was welcoming and hospitable, giving plenty of tips about places we wanted to visit. Parking is on-street (free) or public car park and whilst walking around when we were there I got the impression that's quite common for Keswick B&Bs. The location was great for getting to the lake and only a couple minutes walk into town. Breakfast was delicious with a great choice and exceptionally well cooked.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room as they vary in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for posting such a good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
83
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

fantastic guest house, stayed for one night, owners could not do enough for us, even drying our boots and sorting out the car!. lovely room and amazing views with the bonus of a fantastic breakfast. will go back again without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudetheMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for such a good review. We like our guests to have a good care free time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here with my wife on 14/10/13 for 1 night. We stayed in the Causey Pike room. This is a very spacious room which is clean, and had everything we needed. It has a a king size bed, a very modern bathroom with underfloor heating and walk-in shower, a walk-in wardrobe and fabulous views over Hope Park and the fells beyond. The battery operated candles were a nice quirky touch.

We managed to get a parking space on the street right outside the building. We were lucky with this because we had been driving up and down faffing about for a while, looking for a space. We had just pulled over to ask the owner, Dawn, for advice which she was very helpful with when someone got in their car and drove off. Good timing! If you struggle with parking, ask Dawn and she will help. She is friendly and made us feel very welcome.

Breakfast was great. A selection of fruit, cereals, juices and coffee are provided and you get a cooked breakfast to order. It was very tasty. The sausages are up there with the best I've ever tasted!

All in all, a great place to stay if you are visiting Keswick. Its ideally placed for the town, theatre and lake and we would recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandNicolaLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for such good review. Everyone seems to like the electronic candles! We are always pleased to know that our guests have had a great time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Booked this B&B via the internet as a surprise for my wife.
This was our first time in keswick so it was hit or miss where we would book.
Could not have been more pleased and satisfied with my choice.
The welcome from Dawn was excellent and our room was spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was supurb and Dawn and Paul were very helpful with information on where to walk and where to drink and eat.
Would definately use this if we were to return to Keswick.
The location of the guest house for the lake and the high street could hot have been better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks for such a good review. I think part of the surprise is that it wasn't raining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed in West View on 3rd for one night great b and b . The owner Dawn made we very welcome when we arrived ,a very lovely lady .The en suite was first class with everything we needed.Had a very comfortable nights sleep .Breakfast was first class, from the juices to the great home jams .We will be giving this B and B a call in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely, spacious room (large and comfy bed!) with a very modern en suite bathroom, all very clean. We also enjoyed the cosy and beautiful guest lounge. Breakfast is scrumptious with all fresh products and home made jam. The hosts Dawn and Paul are really friendly, they made us feel at home from the first moment. Above all they are experts on fell walking so they gave us excellent advise for our walks which we appreciated very much. We intend to return to West View as it was the perfect B&B for a perfect holiday in the Lakes!

Room Tip: we booked the superiour en-suite room which is spacious with a luxury bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwennyOostende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at West View and it was fabulous. As it was our wedding anniversary my husband booked a superior room it was great. The bathroom was huge and spotless, the bedroom was big and there was a big cupboard / wardrobe to store everything. The breakfast was really nice and Dawn and Paul were friendly but not intrusive. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzygran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R5-man, Owner at West View Guest House, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for such a good review. You know you dont need a special reason to come back! Any excuse will do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#28 of 175 in Keswick
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#20 of 175 in Keswick
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rooms36
Rooms36
#99 of 175 in Keswick
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#53 of 175 in Keswick
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View Guest House

Property: West View Guest House
Address: West View The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West View is a large house in the most popular street in Keswick. Close to the lake, theatre, shops, pubs and restaurants, overlooking Hope Park. Fantastic views from the all-day guest lounge. Our fabulous breakfast will set you up for the day. All tastes catered for. Our prestige rooms have wet room showers, toilet and basin, and king size beds. Prestige rooms can also accommodate a cot or small bed for one young child. Standard rooms have ensuite shower, basin and toilet. One standard room is on the ground floor for easy access.We have secure internal storage for bikes. We can advise you on walking and cycling routes and trails. We can also take you on a guided trail run if you feel fit and bring your kit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your West View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing