We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views on a Derwentwater Launch ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Derwentwater

Derwentwater
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.55*
and up
Lake District Tour from Windermere: Ten Lakes in One Winter Day
Ranked #1 of 64 things to do in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tampa Bay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful views on a Derwentwater Launch ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I were fortunate to be in Keswick when the weather was sunny and clear. One of the highlights of the trip was a ride on the boat (locally called a launch) which took us around Lake Derwentwater.
One of the great things we noted at the lake shore was that it appears to have been kept un-commercialized and un-spoiled. There are launches and rowing boats to rent and they look like they are the same ones that visitors enjoyed some 50 years ago !!!
The man who sold us our tickets for the launch ride was very friendly and gave us some great information on the different stops on the boat ride. We opted for the ticket where we could hop on and off.
It was so amazing to be sitting in the open air seating of the boat in the middle of the lake and to be surrounded by all the mountains around Keswick and the beautiful Borrowdale Valley.
We took the boat to Lodore Falls and walked along the scenic public footpath, which took us through the woods and alongside the lake. We picked up the launch at the High Brandlehowe stop
back to Keswick and enjoyed more beautiful views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pickyyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,625
    313
    21
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Strolling along the paths around the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Well marked out, easy paths all round the lake, suitable for all ages, with splendid views, woodland and wildlife.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A popular lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Easy access from Keswick makes this entrance to Borrowdale very popular and the main road is a simple drive, but it is well worth going round the "difficult" side and the views from that road are really something. The Lodore falls (Stock Ghyll Force) hide behind the Lodore hotel and are a short hike up a steep slope - worth it if you like cascades.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great boat trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Fun trip on the lake. Not a rip off. Goes all around the lake, can hop on hop off along the way. Boats nice and clean. Really enjoyable sail.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kazzorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“river boat trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

another lovely trip also dog friendly . we got a ticket so we could get on and off at the various points of our choice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derwentwater also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Derwentwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing