We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome awaits you”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Honister House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Honister House
Ranked #3 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaits you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent on night in October after completing our first day on the C2C route. We had a really warm welcome. Tea and coffee lovely and fresh, even gave us a flask with fresh milk, very welcome. set ideal for the town only round the corner. the lake is within easy walking distance. Breakfast was excellent. we also had a packed lunch. Really good value, and certainly knocks the meal deals on the head. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for such a top notch review. Much appreciated.We aim to keep our standards consistently high and value those extra touches which we think make all the difference.
We hope to see you again
John and Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
202
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mold
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Warm welcome, parking pass for Central Car Park.
Room was comfortable, sufficiently spacious and well equipped.
Bed comfortable, but a bit smaller than we have at home, but perfectly fine.
Superior choice of tea and coffee facilities - real coffee! Great home made cookies rather than packet biscuits.
Great shower - no bath, but we expected that.
The breakfast choice was vast - plenty of cereals, fresh fruit salad and a fantastic cooked breakfast choice which is cooked to order in the morning when you come down, no need to choose the night before. Great quality items too - no cheap nasty sausages here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review which is much appreciated.
We hope you will consider returning next time you visit the Lake District
John and Susie Stakes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Yet again, our stay with John and Susie at Honister House was most enjoyable. I stayed in Catbells and my brother – in - law in Causey Pike. I was staying for the fifth time, and yet again standards are high. Both rooms had been tastefully refurbished for this year. Breakfast cooked by Susie was first class together with John’s timely delivery of the toast. John has extensive knowledge of the Lake District and was able to give us additional and reassuring advice about our planned walks for the day. Honister House is centrally located, but yet quiet at night. We can recommend the privately owned Italian Restaurant Casa Bella in Station Street, for good food and atmosphere, also the Dog and Gun, for good pub food. We recommend this B&B to anyone and you won't be disappointed. Thanks to Susie and John for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a very kind review which confirms our objective which is to keep our standards as high as possible at all times. We really do appreciate the thanks we receive which helps to maintain our enthusiasm.
John and Susie Stakes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed for the first time at Honister House on the 17th & 18th August. What fabulous hosts John and Susie are, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are brilliant, nicely decorated and lots of personal touches,homemade biscuits, with so many choices of beverages on the tray.Hairdryer, even a hot water bottle for if it gets cold. Lovely fluffy towels with beautiful smelling shower gels and shampoo. Breakfast is perfect, spoilt for choice. I did not want to go home, I felt so spoilt.I would 100% recommend this place to anyone wishing to stay in Keswick. People come back time and time again, so try and book well in advance as you might not get in, it is that popular. I know that I will definitely return. - Louise Boardman - Manchester

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, two with double beds, and one with twin beds, they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thanks for such a winderful review which is very much appreciated. We are particularly pleased that our extra touches do seem to make the difference and help us to give real value for money. Look forward to seeing you again.
John and Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reddish, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was a fantastic stay with John and Susan,they went out of the way to make you feel welcome.Beautiful bedroom with lots of extra touches like homemade biscuits,bottled water and bath/shower bottles.The breakfast was fantastic lots of choices and the table beautifully set out.We would definately stay again and would recommend this to anyone.
Maria Tom and Jess Ellis,Stockport.

Room Tip: Although in the town,rooms do not get much noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to send in your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again
Kind regards
John and Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed 4 times with susie and john, not once dissapointed, fantastic breakfast lovely rooms amazing service and generally nice honest helpful people. If your thinking about it, don't anymore it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you so much for such an enthusiatic review. We really appreciate it when returning guests find that our standards remain high when compared with previous visits. This is the best way of demonstrating that our commitment to quality is working. We hope you will return and will be no less impressed.
John and Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have stayed with John and Susie three times now, and have loved each visit. Not only is the accommodation lovely and the breakfast delicious, but you couldn't ask for better hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them, whether it's arranging flowers for an anniversary, making home made biscuits for the rooms, or suggesting activities for the day (suitable for an 8 month pregnant lady!). Location is excellent, being very close to the Central carpark and the centre of town - they also provide a parking permit for only £2 pounds a day which is valid for lots of carparks in the local area. Most importantly, we had lots of laughs with John and Susie, and loved every minute of our stay. Honister House is a real gem, and we hope to be going again for many more years to come!

Room Tip: Two of the rooms can be booked together with an adjoining door - perfect for couples with children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBrown1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post such an enthusiastic review which we hope demonstrates that we strive to keep our standards consistently high which we do enjoy sharing with our guests.
We hope to see you again sometime and that you will be just as impressed.
John and Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honister House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honister House

Property: Honister House
Address: Honister House 1 Borrowdale Road, Keswick CA12 5DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honister House is located closer to the heart of Keswick than any other B&B, just a short stroll from the charming Market Square, the 100-year-old Cinema, the Theatre and Derwent Water. With only three guest rooms, Honister House is ideal if you're looking for a relaxed and welcoming place to stay. We cook breakfast fresh to order, have lots of options available and use high quality produce. We're happy to cater for special dietary needs. Our hospitality trays include filter coffee, a wide range of teas, and home-baked treats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Honister House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing