We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“B&B of a very high standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Damson Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Damson Lodge
Ranked #35 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mid-Wales
1 review
“B&B of a very high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Following good reviews on Trip Advisor, we stayed a week in August 2011 and found it lived up to its high reputation-in terms of the room, the most powerful shower ever, and really tasty and varied breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterP80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
127
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Damson Lodge is truly the best B&B we ever stayed in!! The breakfasts are very special, with a choice of full English, vegetarian and many others as wellas a daily "special"-for example Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. The bedroom was superb and like everything else at Damson Lodge spotlessly clean. Our hosts Paul and Viri do everything, including the cooking, themselves and a max size of 6 guests ensures a great cared for feeling. This was our second visit and we certainly hope to go again.

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and all looked great but room 1 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cotswolder186288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Having been to Keswick on numerous occasions we felt it necessary to comment on our visit to the Damson Lodge b&b. Our room was spacious and immaculate with a superb shower. Breakfast was delicious with a choice of specials offered daily. Paul and Viri are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. We were supplied with booklets and maps to assist us on our walks and should we have returned wet we were offered to have our clothes dried. As well as being an excellent bed and breakfast the town centre is only 5 minutes walk and we managed to park right outside the front door. I would recommend this bnb to anyone and we will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jb1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed four nights after reading all the great reports on trip adviser can only say nothing more to add just don't change a thing Paul & Virri have got it right.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blox13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Our second stay. Rooms are comfortable, nicely decorated and CLEAN. Breakfasts are first class and for evening food, Damson Lodge is only 10 minutes walk from Keswick centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemuskoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Great B&B - friendly owners, breakfast very good with all organic and locally-sourced food, immaculately clean and nicely decorated throughout, quiet room with view over roofs to the mountains, location very convenient for Keswick, within about 5/10 mins walking distance.

Only bad points - no wifi (and for some reason there doesn't seem to be any Vodafone 3G reception in Keswick making wifi even more important), and parking is all on-street and would anticipate may be problematic on busy/bank holiday weekends as a couple of times we found the last space on the road.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pm2006uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This was our fourth visit to Damson Lodge which is the perfect B&B.Beautifully decorated rooms, spotlessly clean& very comfortable. Paul & Virri are the perfect hosts, very friendly & nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is excellent and spoilt for choice, with full English and vegetarian options and a different special every day, all this with fresh fruit, lashings of tea/coffee, toast and homemade jams. The Guest House is 5 minutes walk from Keswick centre, with some great places to eat in the evening. Damson Lodge is the perfect destination and now we would not contemplate staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomoLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.8 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#10 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#17 of 178 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#54 of 178 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oakthwaite House
Oakthwaite House
#39 of 178 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#9 of 178 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#43 of 178 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damson Lodge

Property: Damson Lodge
Address: 25 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Damson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing