We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Oakthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakthwaite House
Ranked #64 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here after New Years on a whim and what a great choice this was. Peter and Sandra were extremely friendly and helpful throughout and made sure our stay was enjoyable. We stayed in room 2 which is the big double room pictured on their profile - perfect for a romantic getaway. Hotel is 5 mins walk to centre of Keswick so ideally placed for going out in the evening after a day on the fells!

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hello and thank you for posting your comments and we are so pleased you had a lovely stay and that the room you stayed in was to your taste. We have lots of guest stay in Room 2 and yes it is a romantic room, one couple got engaged in that room last summer.
We look forward to welcoming you into our home again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 408 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our tortuous seven hour trip northwards was well worhwhile with this stay. Warm welcome from Sandra and Peter who are ideal hosts. Guest house is clean, comfortable and well looked after. Quiet location, well placed for vthe town centre. Deep sleep in cosy room 5. Top class breakfast , especially the granola! Hope to re-visit in not too distant future.

Room Tip: For king size bed go for either room 5, or , for slightly bigger room, room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Hello and thank you for posting your comments. Yes it was worth travelling for, it was so good to you both and welcome you to our home. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay and find some time to see how beautiful Keswick really is.
It was an absolute pleasure to spend some time with you both and we do hope you will come back real soon.
Wishing you a very Happy and Merry Christmas and a happier and successful New year, and that goes for ALL the wonderful guests that have stayed with us this year. We now consider to be very privileged to have so many friends and do hope to see you all again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic hidden gem, Peter and Sandra were really friendly and welcoming they really ensured we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and really cosy and its only a short walk from Keswick town centre which is a bonus. We would highly recommend this place to any couple who want to chill out and relax. Thanks to you both, we will be visiting again soon Chloe & Jay x

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chlo5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hello, thank you for posting your comments and we are so pleased you had a chilled out weekend. We aim to offer the very best we can and are very happy when guests have had a lovely time in Keswick. We are so pleased that we will get a chance to see you both again and look forward to that next year. Have a very happy Christmas and all the very best for the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at this lovely B & B for a weekend away to celebrate our wedding anniversary!
Lovely room, great hosts that went the extra mile to accommodate all our requests!
The location is perfect for a car free stroll into town and the best restaurants all in walking distance!
The room was spotless and warm, and the most comfortable bed to rest "tired bones" after a full day in the hills.
Can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suprememaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hello and thank you for posting your comments, we are so pleased you had a lovely time at our home and in Keswick. It was really nice to meet you both, it gave us the opportunity to look after you and assist in you having a relaxing weekend. We do hope to see you real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay here. The attention to details really made such a difference.
We had bottles of water and chocolates on arrival, an impeccably clean room, super comfy bed, welcome book that tells you where the breakfast ingredients are from (breakfast was amazing, the sausages and bacon were delicious!).
Location wise this is excellent for walking into keswick, we didn't use the car at all, beautiful walks on the doorstep, and restaurants/pubs for dinner just around the corner.
Sandra and Pete were really friendly and helpful, they even helped us to find a walk suitable for a pregnant lady :)
Would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74Rachel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

What a fantastic review and we thank you both so much. We could not ask for a more glowing reference and we are very confident when guests read your comments they will not want to stay anywhere else in Keswick. We pride ourselves on going that extra mile to make our home your home away from home. We wish you both good health and the beauty and joy a new baby brings. All the vey best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a perfect pad for a lovely 2 night stay - without the kids! Lovely room, great breakie, ideal location to stroll into town or set out for a hike on the fells. Thank you Peter and Sandra for looking after us - keep up the good work - we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattMatt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hello and thank you for posting your comments and letting future guests know what a perfect pad we have here. We open our home to such wonderful people like yourselves and hope you have a terrific time. You surely did and had a good weekend, without the kids, and enjoyed the wonders Keswick offers. We look forward to welcoming you both back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Oakthwaite has dealt with all the little niggles which may have bothered you over the years in other establishments There is an iron and a board in the room; a fridge in the dining room for guests' sandwiches and wine, blackout blinds so that you do not wake at dawn; shampoo AND conditioner; a bottle of water each; chocolates on arrival;spotless,beautiful white bed linen; a reasonable price - what's not to like?

Room Tip: Go for top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank so much for taking the time to place your comments, and what lovely comments they are. You painted a beautiful picture of what most guests expected when staying in a Bed and Breakfast. We are so grateful and pleased you enjoyed your stay in our home.
As we all start thinking of 2014, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#66 of 189 in Keswick
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cragside
Cragside
#89 of 189 in Keswick
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Underhill Guest House
Underhill Guest House
#24 of 189 in Keswick
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#67 of 189 in Keswick
633 reviews
5 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakthwaite House

Address: 35 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $111 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakthwaite House is a Victorian town house built c.1876 in a quiet residential area of Keswick, only a five-minute walk from the town centre. We provide a high quality service and offer you a comfortable, relaxing, refreshing and enjoyable stay. The location of our guesthouse in Keswick and in the Lake District National Park makes it an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the many wonders of the northern Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakthwaite House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing