We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect relaxing break”
Review of Oakthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakthwaite House
Ranked #61 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Oakthwaite House for 3 nights in July 2013 and wanted a relaxing break, which is exactly what we got. Peter and Sandra are extremely welcoming, helpful and accommodating, and are doing a fantastic job as the new owners of this lovely B&B.

Our room was comfortable and extremely clean, with an ensuite bathroom. There are TVs with inbuilt DVD players in all the rooms, and if you don't bring your own, there small collection of DVDs that guests can borrow, which is welcome in the evening after a day of walking. Another nice touch is the couple of wine glasses and bottle opener in the room so you can enjoy a drink or two in the evening. Breakfast is excellent, with plenty of choice to suit everyone.

The location is excellent, just a short walk to the centre of Keswick, Derwentwater and the bus station. We travelled without a car - which we would recommend - and it was easy to get a bus over to Lake Windemere for a day. Having done so we were glad we chose to stay in Keswick, which was much more peaceful, less touristy and just as beautiful.

Other recommendations in Keswick would be Lawn Tennis (you can hire rackets and balls at the courts for £3.50pp) and the Alhambra Cinema which is a cute old fashioned independent cinema complete with curtains and balcony seating.

Overall we had a wonderful stay in the Lake District, and would love to stay at Oakthwaite House again.

Room Tip: Room 3 is one of the smallest rooms, but would definitely stay in it again as is well laid out and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hello, thank you for posting your comments and you will be pleased to know that we have taken note and moved the toiletries to the shelf next to the towels where they can be found more easily.
We are pleased you have a lovely stay with us and in Keswick and we do hope to see you real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our second stay at Oakthwaite House. Unfortunately the previous owner hadn't passed on our booking to the new owners but they went out of their way to ensure we could stay. They were very thoughtful and kept checking everything was ok. The kingsize room we stayed in was lovely, previously we had stayed in Room 2 which we had re-booked as it was very good too. It is a great location for Keswick. Thanks to Sandra for posting some clothes I left in the wardrobe also!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hello we are so pleased we was able to accommodate you and in fact you did have a lovely time with us. Going that extra mile comes second nature to us and do hope your clothes arrived safely. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A comfortable stay with fantastic breakfasts - we stayed for five nights and worked our way round the menu so feel qualified to particularly recommend the granola, crepes, and poached eggs.

We were surprised to find that Peter and Sandra had recently taken over as we made our booking several months ago, and the first we knew of the change was when Peter rang on our arrival day to double-check our arrival time. I was a little concerned at first but am pleased to say that they are doing an excellent job - the room was kept very clean, and they got to know and accommodated our preferences at breakfast as our stay went on. They even left a card and little vase of flowers in our room after hearing I'd just celebrated my birthday, which was a lovely personal touch!

We stayed in the kingsize room 5 - as this is at the top of the house the ceiling is a little low on one side of the bed but not a problem. It's a good size and very comfortable with an excellent ensuite shower. Our stay was during a heatwave and we were offered an electric fan but didn't take it up as we could leave the window open for air. Free fast wifi is the icing on the cake.

We highly recommend this B&B and Keswick generally as a base for exploring the Lake District - we visited without a car and were able to see a lot of the sights, with the centre of Keswick (including bus station) and the beautiful Derwentwater a short walk from the B&B. We're sure Peter and Sandra will quickly build up their knowledge of local recommendations which was the only small downside of the recent change of ownership. P.S. Peter, if you're reading, make sure to let Sandra out of the kitchen a little more often!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiilassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hello and thank you for your comments we are so pleased you felt in safe hands and enjoyed your stay with us. Peter as taken note and as asked Sandra to visit the dinning room to say good morning to her guests, thank you for the useful tip. We do hope to see you real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I would definitely recommend this B & B.
It was clean and modern. Bathroom was spotless. Really appreciated the little bags of toiletries.
Attention to detail made all the difference. Especially being offered fresh jugs of milk for the tea/coffee tray in the room.
The hosts were friendly and chatty.
Would definitely go again next time I'm in the area .!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you stayed with us, we hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Oakthwaite House for three nights over the May 2013 bank holiday weekend. We stayed in Room 5, the King size room with a great view overlooking Castlerigg Fell and towards Walla Crag.
David was so helpful with suggesting places to eat in Keswick and good walks for us to try. We're not big walkers but his recommendation for Walla Crag was excellent, we were so glad we did that walk, the views over Derwentwater were beautiful.
The B&B was really clean, and our bed was huge and comfortable. The bathroom was small but modern, with a good shower.
Breakfast was a great start to the day, the whiskey porridge especially was a different experience and really delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niki84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I chose this for a "special" week-end away on the back of tripadvisor reviews, so was slightly taken aback to find that the ownership had changed between my booking and our arrival. I needn't have worried. From the moment Peter greeted us to the moment Sandra said goodbye we were treated with friendly consideration, and our room was lovely - clean, very well appointed and a pleasure to be in. Breakfast was excellent, and whilst we like some fresh fruit available at breakfast which was a miss, the smoothie to start with was delicious and provided the first two of out five-a-day!

Oakthwaite House is very conveniently located for the town itself, and the theatre visit that was part of our intention for the week-end and we came away having had one of those first class experiences which leave you planning your next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank consettgashead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your opening comments and for taking the time to post your comment. It was encouraging to read that we are offering the same quality you previously experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have lost count of the number of times we have stayed with David and Karen. Nothing has changed over the years. A warm welcome is always assured, lovely rooms, spotless en-suite, a fantastic breakfast and a convienient fridge in the dining room. Always a pleasure to return here. We look forward to returning many times in the future.

Garry & Hania Lowe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazza675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#67 of 189 in Keswick
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cragside
Cragside
#89 of 189 in Keswick
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Underhill Guest House
Underhill Guest House
#24 of 189 in Keswick
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#68 of 189 in Keswick
633 reviews
5 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakthwaite House

Address: 35 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $111 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakthwaite House is a Victorian town house built c.1876 in a quiet residential area of Keswick, only a five-minute walk from the town centre. We provide a high quality service and offer you a comfortable, relaxing, refreshing and enjoyable stay. The location of our guesthouse in Keswick and in the Lake District National Park makes it an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the many wonders of the northern Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakthwaite House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing