We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right”
Review of Oakthwaite House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakthwaite House
Ranked #70 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just right”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a 2 night stay with David & Karen over the Keswick Mountain Festival. The room was really comfortable, super-king size bed & fabulous shower - once in you didn't want to get out! The breakfasts were really tasty too - you must try the homemade granola. Thanks very much for a wonderful stay - we will be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    14
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
308
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have just had a fantastic 4-day stay at the Oakthwaite House in Keswick! Our room was very tastefully decorated and cosy with a very comfortable bed and also little treats which were a lovely touch! We were very impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the place as well as the exceptional attention to detail. Breakfast selection was superb, very tasty and plentiful. David was a great host and an invaluable source of local knowledge and tips which were extremely helpful for first time comers to Lake District! We could not have wished for a better stay and we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just stayed 2 nights at Oakthwaite. We were in Room 4 which is perfectly described on the website as compact. It certainly is but that's not an issue as the room is really nicely decorated and cosy and spotlessly clean. We arrived a little earlier than we had said but David was very welcoming and showed us to our room after giving us a run down of the location and town and some useful tips about pubs and restaurants in Keswick (all of which turned out to be spot on!). The breakfast choice was very good for a B&B and the food itself was absolutely superb. I went for the full lakeland both mornings and both were cracking and set me up for the days walking. All in all, a fantastic B&B and the hospitality shown by David was second to none. Would 100% recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have Just returned from a 2 day stay with friends in Keswick at Oakthwaite House. It smashed all expectations, breakfast was delicious... the well presented detail of the gorgeous granola, smoothies and of course a well sourced full english. David and Karen are very accomodating and the attention to detail in the rooms was fantastic.... We had a great stay and would highly recommend to anyone looking for that something special.....Everything was exceptional thank you. We hope to see you again when we get another kid free weekend...

Room Tip: Both rooms 2 and 5 are on the front but both quiet and exqusite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 232Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I've just spent the night in Oakthwaite House so wanted to recommend it to everyone as the breakfast, room and host was exquisite. I travel with work so spend a lot of time in B&B's but this one really is a cut above the rest, the breakfast has to be the best I’ve even eaten.
Highly recommended, I’ll certainly be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XGeorgeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I booked the 3 night stay for my Dads 60th birthday, in April. David (the owner) helped organise the stay and recommended places for my parents to eat and places to see during their visit.
On arrival my parents where greated with a warm welcome and a gift was left in the room for my Dads birthday which was very thoughtful.
The decoration and finishing touches of the accomodation was outstanding and the breakfast was fabulous. My parents would definitely recommend the accomodation to anyone wanting a nice relaxed break in lovely surroundings. Trust me you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at Oakthwaite House in Keswick. It is the best B and B we have stayed in since our arrival in the UK and would highly recommend it to all our friends and trip advisor readers. It is close to the centre of town and is a modern and comfortable B and B. There has been close attention to detail to ensure the comfort of all the guests and whilst our attic eerie was small the space had been well utilized. David and Karen could not have been better hosts and took steps to ensure our stay was as good as it could be helping us out in inclement weather and ensuring we were never stranded. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and if you go there you must check our the fruit smoothies and the porridge not to mention the many choices you have for your main course. Thank you David and Karen for our lovely stay with you. Alison and Terry
(Australia)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#67 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Littlefield Guesthouse
Littlefield Guesthouse
#101 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#46 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#95 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#90 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakthwaite House

Property: Oakthwaite House
Address: 35 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakthwaite House is a Victorian town house built c.1876 in a quiet residential area of Keswick, only a five-minute walk from the town centre. We provide a high quality service and offer you a comfortable, relaxing, refreshing and enjoyable stay. The location of our guesthouse in Keswick and in the Lake District National Park makes it an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the many wonders of the northern Lakes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakthwaite House Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing