We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super accommodation in a great town.”
Review of Cragside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cragside
Ranked #75 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
naps64
1 review
“Super accommodation in a great town.”
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Not wishing to repeat what others have said about this guest house, Cragside has to be one of the most comfortable and relaxing, places to stay in the Lakes.
It does what it should and provides the best possible service at a great value price.
We were amazed by the features found in the room, from the quality of toiletries and bedding to the mod cons of WiFi, DVD and Digital TV etc. The cleanliness has to be admired and on our five day stay the room was serviced and vacuumed every day to the highest standard.
Even though we stayed in August, parking was easy and Cragside is very well placed in terms of location to the Town and parks etc.
We were given useful information on arrival and we were helped by Wayne to take our luggage to the room.
Cragside is a special place in every way and we have already booked our next visit.
Well done Alison & Wayne for makng our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naps64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    20
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
129
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2009

What a great time we had in Keswick. The weather could have been better for August, however this did not matter as there is so much to do.
Cragside was the perfect B&B for us and we will return next year, as we were so pleased with everything.
My wife loved the room we had, as it had a stunning view and was super clean. We were both impressed with the little extras in the room and it was so comfortable and quiet.
There was nothing run down or tacky about Cragside and the owners obviousy take a great pride in making everyones stay as comfortable as possible.
The breakfast set us up for the whole day and we were very impressed by the produce used, as well as the size of the breakfast.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My wife and I wanted a relaxing break to explore and walk the fells and valleys of the Northern Lakes. We chose Cragside because of the location and because several of the rooms appear (on the website) to have great views.
We were very pleased with our room, as it had a stunning view of the fells. We were able to walk several of the fells from Cragside itself.
The first impression was` very comforting, as it is obviously well cared for, the small front garden being full of flowers.
The inside was very functional, everything being easy to find and well laid out. The hosts moved our luggage to our room and made us feel most welcome.
Our room, apart from having a great view, was also very very well appointed. The en-suite was the cleanest we had ever been in and the daily service replenished anything used. The service was infact up to top hotel standard.
Breakfast service was at a good pace and the food was a cut above the usual expected at a B&B. The full breakfast was fantastic.
We feel that it offers excellent value for money.
Cragside is the place that we will return to when we stay in the Lake District again.
Superb!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank line55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We travelled with our friends for an extended (3 nights) weekend break and chose Cragside because it seemed perfect for our needs, being fairly central, yet in a quiet part of Town. The other reason was because it seemed to offer excellent value. And so it proved.
We had a nice sized double en-suite room and our friends had a larger en-suite room with kingsize bed. Our room had great views of the hills and was very clean. The en-suite had good quality toiletries and the room had Freeview TV, a DVD and WIFI. Our towels were changed even though we were only staying for three nights.
We were all impressed with the breakfast and the service was excellent. We were able to change what we wanted for breakfast, each day and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the owners.
This was the perfect base for our stay and Keswick continues to be a great place from which to explore the Lake district.
Top accommodation in a great Town.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skip34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I really wanted to like this place - but the negatives nearly equal the positives. The rooms are very small, rather plain, but they are clean and the paint is fresh. Bathroom very small - and yes, I know that's typical. But this was even smaller than normal. The breakfast was nothing special - I've had better and worse in English B&B's. The location is ideal - near the town but not in a noisy area. I wish the owners had been as helpful and friendly upon our arrival (we did not know the area) as they were as we were leaving - maybe we just caught them on a bad day? Nothing specifically wrong with the place and I would be okay with returning, but with so many others to chose from, I'd look long and hard at alternatives in the same area and price range before booking.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2008

Spent three days in Keswick at Cragside which provided excellent accomodation. The bedroom was spacious and clean and the property was conveniently located to the town centre. We enjoyed the excellent full-english breakfast , which set us up for the day walking in the hills. The hosts were friendly and helpful even providing us with daily weather forecasts! We would certainly recommend Cragside and hope to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeLegsIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2008

We have just had a great break in the Lake district. The weather was cold, but fine and the accommodation (Cragside) was great.
Comfortable, very clean and in an advantageous location.
The breakfast menu had a large choice and the food was excellent. Plenty of it to!.
To be honest we could not fault this accommodation in any way and what great value for money.
We will return!

  • Liked — Attention to every little detail to make our stay excellent
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RainbowDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#63 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brookfield B&B
Brookfield B&B
#18 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Littlefield Guesthouse
Littlefield Guesthouse
#99 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#13 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragside

Property: Cragside
Address: 39 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragside 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured of a warm and friendly welcome at Cragside. Rooms are all en-suite, well appointed and have splendid mountain views. Excellent breakfast choice. Located in the heart of the beautiful English Lake District, in the charming Victorian town of Keswick, Cragside is an excellent base for mountain walking, water sports (on Derwentwater), or a relaxing holiday in some of the most stunning scenery England has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cragside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing