We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great B & B”
Review of Cragside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cragside
Ranked #80 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great B & B”
Reviewed November 18, 2008

5 nights in the lakes in November sounds grim, but we had a great time, a lovely b & b, a very spacious family room at a very reasonable price, great hosts and a more than adequate full English breakfast to start the day, and 5 days of dry weather to boot!! I would recommend this b & b to anyone and we will definately return.

  • Liked — The comfy and spacious room and huge breakfast,and only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Keswick.
  • Disliked — That we had to go home!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torridon1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    20
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
129
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

My boyfriend and I were looking for a short holiday in the Lake district and fell upon this Cragside B&B with its wonderful reviews on tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed! Breakfast was lovely with a good number of choices, and their service was impeccable. Wayne and Alison were extremely helpful with places for sights and activities for our three days, rest assured they will help you with anything you need to know! Would definitely recommend this charming b&b.

  • Liked — Service and price.
  • Disliked — Our views from the room were not what we expected (seeing the website), but was still good
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank purplishrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle River, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Cragside is a great value in a beautiful but popular area. Situated in a residential area within a very short walk of the main touristy areas, the location was excellent and the rate/tarriff exceptional for the area. The room was plenty comfortable, and by the time of our visit we were well used to the 4-5 TV stations to which we would be limited for the hour or so of viewing we did between visiting the local pubs and going off to bed!

Breakfast was good, with excellent bacon and sausage, and the best Muesli we found during our two weeks of vacation (very important for the wifey, who doesn't eat eggs!). Wayne was very helpful in recommending local activities and providing materials related to area attractions. Be sure to get the discounted boat tickets at the B&B if you plan to use the boat service that traverses the nearby Derwent Water.

We'd highly recommend Cragside as a terrific alternative to blowing a bunch of cash on more expensive B&B's and hotels in the area. Keswick and the Lake District are beautiful, with tons to do, and provides a great launching point for day trips up to Carlisle, Hadrian's Wall, and even the magnificent and beautiful borderland in Scotland.

  • Liked — Great bargain in a popular area, and helpful hosts
  • Disliked — no complaints here!
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psmcdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

The B&B is clean, friendly, excellent value for money and five minutes walk from the centre of Keswick on a quiet, side street. It had a lot of nice touches in the room, tissues, smellies, make-up mirror etc. Our room (2) had a view of the hills from the window. The hosts were very helpful with information over & above the array of tourism leaflets they stock, like the fact that the Bassenthwaite ospreys had moved their nesting site earlier that week. It was good to park the car when we arrived and leave it there for the majority of the stay as we didn't need it. There were enough walks nearby to keep us occupied without having to drive anywhere. Recommend the Theatre-by-the-lake, if you have an evening free and Abraham's Tea Room above George Fisher Outdoor shop.

  • Liked — Being given a street map and local information on arrival.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank liitle_nell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Cragside B&B Keswick Lake District
My husband and I just spent 2 days at the above over the easter break and had a most pleasant stay. When we were shown up to the top of the house we thought it might be a pokey wee room but far from it. The room was lovely with the most enormous bed ever. The view from the window was great. The owners Wayne & Alison were lovely and couldn't do enough to make you feel at home .The breakfast was great with a marvelous choice.We would recommend it to anyone Ann & George Roberts

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank annieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#50 of 173 in Keswick
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 173 in Keswick
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#45 of 173 in Keswick
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#78 of 173 in Keswick
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beckside Guesthouse
Beckside Guesthouse
#46 of 173 in Keswick
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hall Garth Guest House
Hall Garth Guest House
#65 of 173 in Keswick
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cragside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragside

Property: Cragside
Address: 39 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cragside 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured of a warm and friendly welcome at Cragside. Rooms are all en-suite, well appointed and have splendid mountain views. Excellent breakfast choice. Located in the heart of the beautiful English Lake District, in the charming Victorian town of Keswick, Cragside is an excellent base for mountain walking, water sports (on Derwentwater), or a relaxing holiday in some of the most stunning scenery England has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Cragside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing