We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Views, Basic accomodation, great price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manesty Holiday Cottages
Ranked #20 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Reviewed April 10, 2009

I needed to book on short notice for a large group of friends, and Manesty offered us the location and price that we needed. The owners were very helpful and accommodating and very patient - we'd had a very long drive and ended up getting lost -so a little frazzled on arrival. The cottages were basic inside, our only disappointment was making our beds, and paying for towels (£1 each - if we had realised we could have brought our own). We did have problems with running out of hot water - but I put this down to the fact that we had filled the little cottage to the brim with tired hikers, so a normal family would have been fine. The views from the cottage were breathtaking, nestled at the foot of some beautiful hills, perfect for our mix of levels of hikers - Scarfell to a walk around the lake! Oh - and plenty of room for groups - large vehicles absolutely fine as there is extra space down the road. Overall, don't expect luxury here, but if you need a getaway that won't break the bank with location to die for, this is it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2008

Agree with previous reviewers comments: these are great little cottages in a fantastic location for walkers or country-lovers. It was so peaceful! We climbed from the door, without having to get in the car: Catbells, Maiden Moor, Castle Crag, Dale Head, Kings Howe, Watendlath, and walked partway around Derwentwater taking the launch back via Keswick. Cottage was clean, comfy (and warm - very imporant at this time of year) and had everything we needed. Great views too. Very welcoming / helpful owners. Wireless broadband was useful. Did not try the hot tub but it looked nice.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yellowbee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

I was very pleased to have found this cottage on TA and higly recommend it. We loved the location, the views and the period features. The facilities were excellent for the price - two bathrooms, drying room with washing machine and drier, free wireless broadband, books, maps, suggested walk itineraries and the on site eco hot tub.

The style of the cottage is simple, not luxury but there were nice touches e.g. slate worktops in the farmhouse kitchen, natural sisal flooring in the entrance hall, antique bedsteads. The small garden had great views, as did the living room (cosy, not as big as the kitchen but light with a big window).

We were able to peek into other cottages in the hamlet on our last day and were happy with our choice - the interior of 'Manesty' had the most charm.

We shopped in Keswick at the famous Booths supermarket but also ate in pubs and restaurant in the Borrowdale valley. The times we drove out of Borrowdale to other areas of the Lakes we wished we'd stayed put!

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank pleter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

I have stayed at Manesty Holiday Cottages with both a group of friends and with my extended family in Manesty Band (4 bedrooms ) and Manesty (3 bedrooms) and highly recommend it.

The location is, in my opinion, the best in the Lake District. The cottages overlook Borrowdale and we could walk to Lake Derwent Water in a few minutes. The views were just beautiful and there were lovely gardens with proper garden furniture to relax in. Behind the cottages is Catbells, my favourite 'lttle' fell to climb.

As well as all the usual mod cons (dishwasher, DVD, washing machine, drier) there was a fab log fired outdoor hot tub in a secluded woodland (with more views) that you can rent by the day - which was perfect after a day on the fells.

The cottages are owned and family run by a local and his New Zealand wife who live just next door and are very helpful. We found having the owners on site very handy for our own little 'emergency' (needing a bigger roasting tin for the farm shop leg of lamb!) and I don't think this level of service is normal in holiday cottages. The owners have written a set of walks that you can do right from the doorstep and can recommend lots of things to do in the area. But they were never intrusive.

Both cottages we stayed in were very clean, warm and well maintained. I got the feeling the place was very well cared for. The decor was simple, traditional and homely in a farm house sort of way: no frillies, but not chic or particularly stylish either. We picked Manesty Cottage the first time because of its original features: it has a huge stone table in the hall, and hooks for hanging hams in the kitchen and plenty of solid antiques. I believe some of the newer cottages are less interesting but have big picture windows for the views.

The only drawbacks were that cleaning is not included (not surprising at the price) so you have to make the beds on arrival and clean up after yourself before you leave . But by then we were so rested it didn't seem too much of a chore.

I will certainly be returning in the new year (perhaps for a romanitc short break next time...)

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank bluemonkeyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,149 reviews
7.5 mi away
Near Howe Cottages
Near Howe Cottages
#5 of 23 in Penrith
126 reviews
5.3 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manesty Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manesty Holiday Cottages

Address: Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Price Range: $33 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday cottages with stunning views of the most beautiful valley in England. Manesty stands at the foot of Catbells in well-maintained private grounds. Relax with family and friends in a peaceful rural setting just 1km from Derwentwater. Enjoy walks from the door to lake, river, woodland and high fells - we provide 10 detailed suggestions (and maps) to get you started! Owner operated. Cottages sleep 2 - 8. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing