We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #40 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Allerdale House in October.

We found Helen and Tony to be friendly and welcoming hosts, with plenty of helpful suggestions for walks and places to eat.

Our standard double was on the top floor. It was a clean, comfortable and well-appointed room for the price. Small niggles would be that the "power" shower wasn't all that powerful, probably due to low water pressure at the top of the building, and we could hear our next-door neighbour snoring at night!

The breakfast was excellent - great choice of hot and cold items - and the full-cooked breakfast was one of the best we've had for a long time.

On-site parking was a real bonus and as it's only a 5 minute walk into the centre of Keswick we didn't need to use our car during our stay.

We would definitely consider staying here again, but would probably try and book the superior room.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farqui, Owner at Allerdale House Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2010

Thank you for your review of Allerdale House. We appreciate your comments.

Regarding your comments re the water pressure situation. Last season we had a few comments regarding the low water pressure and if fact on 2 occasions the water actually stopped flowing altogether in one of the showers!!

Over the winter we have looked into the problem and next week we are having 3 new feeder tanks put into the house. This should solve the lack of water and also, as the tanks are being put at a higher point in the loft, the problem with lack of pressure.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay and hope that it won't put you off booking with us again in the future.

Regards

Helen and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 499 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2009

From the moment of arrival, Tony and Helen went out of their way to make one feel welcome (without being overly intrusive). Whether a pleasant chat over a cup of tea after a long days walking, to drying ones wet rain gear, to handy tips about anything local, to filling a thermos daily, nothing was too much bother. And those breakfasts.............Gordon Ramsey eat your heart out! This interest and attention to detail was lavished on all guests, that I could see. Handy also that there was sufficient off-street parking for all guests and because of proximity to Keswick centre I did not need to go near the car for the duration of the stay. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlJSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Stayed with my wife and our 17 month old little boy. Tony and Helen made us feel very welcome, breakfast was fantastic, and the room was clean, spacious and with a large bathroom (we booked a superior room).

Would not hesitate in returning - in fact, will hopefully be back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Withnai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Helen and Tony are wonderful hosts. Their place is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Both went out of their way to speak with us, help us find our way around the town. Helen booked restaurants for us and made arrangements for us to see a theater production. Allerdale was like a home away from home...gracious, comfortable. We recommend highly.
Marsha & Herb

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldsherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

went for a weekend feel walking - Allerdale couldn't have been more hospitable - In my opinion an unreserved recommendation to anyone looking for a quality B&B

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wudg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

More than lived up to it's reviews.Both Tony and Helen were extremely helpful going so far as to letting us take their own personal walking guides out with us.A great welcome with a cup of coffee and a biscuit and run down of the local area-pubs,restaurants,walks etc.After a tiring 6 hour walk it was a pleasure to return to this place.Also,if there is a better breakfast in the lakes I'll run to top of Skiddaw naked!! Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitbit34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed for five days at the Allerdale House in Keswick with Tony and Helen on a trip to the Lake District in England. They were warm accommodating hosts who went out of their way to make us feel at home and bring delight to their small slice of England. The room was pleasant, very clean, and the common areas spacious and comfortable. I would heartily recommend the establishment and the owners who seek to make each of your days more pleasant.

We were planning on going to York, Edinborough, the Lake District, and London on this visit. Prior to leaving I suspected the Lake District would be the low point of the itinerary but was surprised because it ended up being the highlight. For those interested, Keswick is very much more relaxed, quaint, and fun than the areas of the southern Lake District - Windermere, Ambleside, and environs. The fels are larger, more rugged, and the hiking spectacular. And the visible evidence of stark tourism business less in evidence to the north.

Every day Tony came up with a different set of ideas for things to do or walks to take. If it was too easy, just ask for something a litle harder. Be advised, some of the walks are vigorous and may require scrabbling up the rock face of a high fel. Anyway, we had a great time and would highly recommend Allerdale House and the community of Keswick.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viking22Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 189 in Keswick
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#8 of 189 in Keswick
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ferndene Guest House
Ferndene Guest House
#49 of 189 in Keswick
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#44 of 189 in Keswick
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#3 of 189 in Keswick
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $51 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing