We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Lakeland Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #31 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
lincolnshire
1 review
“A Wonderful Lakeland Experience”
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I have to agree this is the best B & B i have stayed at. Me and Lucy (the dog) were made to feel exceptionally welcome. The room was spotless and the breakfast was second to none. Tony and Helen made me feel very welcome and there was a lovely atmosphere over breakfast which is just what you need when travelling solo. I hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelandfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
338
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Just got back from the Easter break staying at Allerdale House, cannot fault it in any way. Got to go along with all the other reviews and state it is the best B&B we have stayed in for a long, long time. The hosts, Tony and Helen, will do anything they can to make your stay a happy one. The breakfasts are great and set you up for the day. The hospitality is second to none. The only way you are going to find out if we are all telling the truth is to go visit for yourself... you will not be diappointed!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSAManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We've stayed at Allerdale House 4 times now and have never been disappointed. We'd go along with all of the other positive comments - Tony and Helen are absolutely fantastic at what they do and this is easily the best B and B that we've ever stayed in. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2009

This was our second visit and once again I will have no hesitation on recommending this Guest House to my friends as long as there is still room for us.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Helen and Tony were welcoming (pot of tea on arrival), friendly and helpful. The breakfast was huge and delicious - local cumberland sausage, bacon, eggs etc. My room was spotless and comfortable, with a decent bed and well-maintained facilities. There was also a pleasant guests lounge, with honesty bar, books about the area and internet access. The owners have clearly thought long and hard about how to make people's stay as pleasant as possible. Last but not least, the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timptastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

I arrived at Keswick as a single professioanl female seeking total relaxation I was looking for a safe environment to go walking, a nice place to rst my head, and a general chill. Alone.. I have stayed at Keswick numerous times and decided to ring the changes with a diffrent B&B . I had researched where to saty using the Trip Advisor and based on Allerdales ratings, I bit the bullit . The feedback from the Trip Advsior was correct about Allerdale and I wasnt dissapointed . I was very warmley welcomed as I rang the doorbell, and was greeted by name. No issue was made of my being single and my breakafst tabel was very sensitively placed (not smack bang in the centre!) My room was very nice and had all I required. The finishing touches weere nice, we ladies like attnetion to detail and even though I'd brought my own bubble bath, there were some lovely lavender bubble bath, fresh towels awaiting me. Fair Trade tea and coffee where on tap and a bottle of still water every morning in my room every day. I greeted with Tonys evervescent smile. I recommend the yoghurt crunch prepares as one of the choices Helen makes every morning. the full english fab. If I needed anything, I knew I could ask for it, and if it was possible, I know Helen and Tony would go out of their way.
Ladies, if your looking for a few days break, with a warm and friendly welcome and dont want to feel overwelmed in a big corporate hotel, I would recommend Alledale House. By the way, the walks are fabulous too! Also shopping- try Peabodies for the shoes ladies . Fab! Oh yes, and off street parking. Another plus...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oprah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2009

If you like fellwalking, but still like the comforts of home this is the place to be.The owners Helen & Tony are so friendly & helpfull. Everything about Allerdale House is exceptional in a B & B, great food, superb rooms and furnished to very high standard. Another plus for a fellwalking break is its own private car park, once I had parked my car I did not use it until I left. Five minutes from the door and you can be on your way into the fells or a five minute walk into the centre of Keswick and all its amenities, shops, restaurants, pubs, Derwentwater and 'Theatre by the Lake'. Exellent value, you will not be disappointed, Allerdale House has to be one of the top B&B's in the Lake District - Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rushcutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 175 in Keswick
405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#83 of 175 in Keswick
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#66 of 175 in Keswick
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brierholme Guest House
Brierholme Guest House
#4 of 175 in Keswick
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Property: Allerdale House Keswick
Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing