We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allerdale Bed & Breakfast, Eskin Street, Keswick”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #31 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Allerdale Bed & Breakfast, Eskin Street, Keswick”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Had a wonderful stay the Allerdale, the hosts, Barbara and Paul are so welcoming and friendly. Nothing is to much trouble, and every guest is made welcome. It is a lovely guest house and our room was fantastic with a super king bed and ensuite bathroom, plenty of room to lounge about. It is only a 10 minute walk down to the lake and other amenities. We would really recommend this guesthouse, it is one of the best we have stayed in and definitely will be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and will ask for it again on our next trip. Large room, super-king bed and beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudgeway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
338
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

once again me and my partner came back to stay at the allerdale house and i must say it just gets better every time. we arrived about 4 and were shown up to our rooms as paul and barbara helped with our luggage. got into our room witch was spotless once again. we stayed in on the first night and just relaxed so comfortable and homely. breakfast was fantastic as usual we always have the cooked breakfast i would highly recomend theres also a good choice of other things to. paul and barbara advised us on a trip on the launch witch was brilliant especially when the weather is lovly. nothing is ever to much trouble for the lovly couple of allerdale house and they make you feel so comfortable and welcome. i was sad to leave once again but i will be back later on in the year. great bed and breakfast great couple all round a great place to stay :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is certainly a top notch bed and breakfast. Paul and Barbara are excellent hosts and the breakfasts are good locally sourced produce... There is a choice for main course and the fresh fruits and granola or cereals were super each morning. We stayed in room 4 which is very comfortable, spotlessly clean, quiet and well presented. The parking is very welcome and only a short walk to either the lake or the town. A great place to stay after a day's walking in the fells. Will definitely return to stay at Allerdale again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awtwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My recent stay at Allerdale House was perfect, Paul and Barbara are very kind and friendly without being intrusive. My room was lovely, light and with a view of Catbells. The bed was very comfortable, I think the mattress was a very good one! Breakfast was super, Barbara's porridge was the star. Altogether I was very happy at Allerdale House. Thank you Paul and Barbara.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our second visit to Allerdale House in Keswick. This time we stayed for 3 nights from Thursday 10th April 2014. We decided to stay here again because our last visit was faultless.

We booked about 3 months in advance for our stay and communication between me and the owners (Barbara and Paul) was excellent. They remembered that we had stayed the year before and sent a lovely email to ask how we were etc., which I thought was a lovely touch. They even remembered that we had been married a year when we arrived.

When we arrived we parked up in the car park like last year. We rang the doorbell and were warmly welcomed by both Barbara and Paul. We sat down to a cafetiere of coffee, pot of tea and delicious homemade cookies and a good old chinwag! As my mother in law and niece were staying a couple of doors down it was nice to say that we could use the guest lounge and invite them over.

We were shown to our room, which was room 6 on the first floor of the Guest House. We opted for Room 6 because it had a bath and seating area in the room. The bed was King-size and I slept soundly for three nights.

Once again the room was spotlessly clean and there was plenty of space in both the room and bathroom. There was a kettle with tea/ coffee and border biscuits. My husband was so happy to see that they still do border biscuits!

In the bathroom, there was a selection of bath products, ear buds, and cotton wool and cotton pads. There was even a big bottle of bath bubbles. Extra toilet rolls were on the stand in the toilet. There were ample towels and a towel rail to heat the towel, however we never used this.

There was a hairdryer in one of the drawers and if you needed an iron or ironing board you just had to ask. I also noted that there was a bible in one of the drawers something that not all independent guest houses have. The Allerdale House guest pack provided you with plenty of information about the local area. If you needed to know anything else Barbara and Paul have an excellent knowledge of the local area. Paul even typed up some directions for one of the walks.

Barbara’s breakfast was better than we remembered. There was a great choice. Cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, juices, coffee and a selection of fair-trade teas. You could also order cooked breakfast to your liking. The full Cumbrian breakfast is a must. On the first day it was served by Barbara because Paul had other commitments. Barbara managed to keep her guests happy as well as cook breakfast for them.

We were so glad we opted to stay here again and look forward to staying here again in the future. I had a bottle of wine the room, which Barbara took to chill in her fridge, when she cleaned the room, thank you.

Room Tip: Stay at Allerdale Guest House when staying in Keswick. We stayed in Room 6. Great if you want a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week in the Lake District. We were fortunate with the weather and were able to walk each day which is so easy from keswick - no need to move the car if you don't wish to!
This was our first stay in Keswick and the whole week was made perfect by the excellent accommodation and hospitality of Barbara and Paul at Allerdale House.
Experienced hosts, they were most welcoming on arrival and they made breakfast an enjoyable experience, happy to chat when time permitted - and if you wished - and full of useful information.
The room was excellent and the location just 2 minutes from the centre and cinema and the start of many walks, but still very quiet.
We fully intend to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompeyblue62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Yet again we couldn't fault allerdale house. Barbara and Paul are the perfect hosts and alwayd make you feel welcome. Breakfast as usual was great and you get a very good choice.

Would recommend to friends and family

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank canddsilsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#63 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#35 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#86 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Property: Allerdale House Keswick
Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing