We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #28 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
202 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic 4 night stay at Allerdale House. I can honestly say that I could not find fault with anything.
We had a double room on the top floor of the house, this felt very private as there was nobody in the room next to us for the first 3 nights, we had the top floor to ourselves. Our room was very nicely decorated, spotless clean and had everything we needed for our stay including plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. The heating was always on when it was needed so the room was lovely and warm and the water was always hot in the bathroom.
The highlight of our stay has to be the breakfast. It was hot, tasty and cooked to perfection every morning. Nothing was too much trouble and the ingredients used were top quality.
We were made very welcome at Allerdale House and we will definitely try to stay here again the next time we visit Keswick.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolamy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
337
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wells somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

stayed for 3 nights, Paul & Barbara were attentive & friendly , the room was lovely, the breakfast delicious, would recommend Allerdale house as the B&B to stay in Keswick, Will definitley be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandieWellsSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Woodburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Rob and I stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. Paul & Barbara were absolutely fantastic hosts, and made us feel very welcome. It was the little touches that made the difference!! Whatever they are doing, they certainly have everything spot on . . . . never seen a place so clean and breakfast was so well organised and delicious. Well done to you both, and really hope to see you again when we are next in Keswick.

Can well and truly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Paul and Barbara we so helpful and attentive. All of the small details were covered and you did not have to worry about anything. Breakfast was wonderful and we felt at home. Paul is a great resource for local hikes and walks. This was our favorite B & B on our whole two week trip through Great Britain. We would go back again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

After the wife suggested a stay up in the lakes years ago.she found this lovely B and B in keswick owned by Helen and tony farqharson,everything was top notch so when they retired and Paul and Barbara took over I was a bit sceptical,silly me it's still kept to a high standard,nothing is too much trouble for them,and they always make sure everything is ok.the only downside is Paul is a Liverpool fan lol

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spideydaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Everything was perfect. We were warmly greeted on arrival by Paul and Barbara and immediately offered refreshments. Our room was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Tea, coffee and biscuits were replenished each day. 'Extras' such as cotton wool balls, tissues, cotton buds and shower cap were provided. Within the lovely guest lounge additional tea/coffee sachets were available and also wine glasses and corkscrew for use by guests. Books could be borrowed from the guest lounge or swapped from a shelf upstairs.
Breakfast was a feast! In addition to any main choice, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurts, fruit juice toast and preserves were readily available. The breakfast room was well appointed with tables well spaced apart.
Allerdale House felt like a home from home. Paul and Barbara were lovely hosts and knowledgeable about Keswick; suggesting good places to eat or things to do in the area.
Allerdale House was ideally situated only a short stroll from the main shops and the lake.
My overall impression is that Paul and Barbara go the 'extra mile' for their guests. I am so glad that we stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whakaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Booked the Allerdale as a last minute trip to the Lakes and what a delight it was. A very warm welcome from Paul & Barbara when we arrived, with the offer of tea or coffee and also help with our luggage. We stayed in room 2, double with en-suite shower room, a lovely clean and bright room. Can't fault the room at all as it had all you needed, wardrobe, drawers, dressing table & mirror, small kettle, tv and a travel type hairdryer (which worked a treat even on long hair).
The breakfast was great. Can't add anything else that other people haven't already commented on.
The location of Allerdale House is pretty good too with just a short walk to the town centre.
Can't thank Paul & Barbara enough for such an enjoyable stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#64 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#35 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#87 of 176 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#10 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Property: Allerdale House Keswick
Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing