We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic B&B in the heart of Keswick”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #32 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fantastic B&B in the heart of Keswick”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked Allerdale on the back of other Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with a huge bathroom filled with lovely toiletries. There was a great choice of fresh fruit and cooked items for breakfast and Barbara and Paul had lots of helpful information on places to go. It's only a short 5-10 minute walk from the centre of Keswick, making it an ideal base if you don't want to use your car. The best thing about Allerdale is that it is really good value for money compared to other B&Bs in the Lake District. It was our favourite B&B on our trip and we hope to be back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_m_hurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
343
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilkeel, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I were just able to stay one night in Keswick on our way back home. We chose to stay here after reading the excellent reviews for this B&B. We were not disappointed. As I've already typed, we were only able to stay here one night, and this was the only problem - we'd loved to have stayed longer here, using this as a great base to explore Keswick and the surrounding area. Great hosts, accommodation, food, and location.
John

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and on arrival were met by Paul who helped us park and offered to carry bags in. The whole place was spotlessly clean and the room was extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was fantastic - loads of choice and the cooked breakfast was delicious!
Paul and Barbara were extremely friendly, taking the time to talk to us and discuss our plans, even when they were probably very busy.
Great food, location and hosts - will definitely stay again when in Keswick!

Room Tip: If staying again I would definitely try for one of the larger superior rooms -they looked gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaserlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We pulled into Allerdale House on a rainy evening and Paul was at our car door with an umbrella before I could turn off the motor. Every aspect of our three night stay - room, breakfast, helpful advice & recommendations - was flawless. Paul & Barbara run one of the best B&Bs in the UK, not just Keswick.
Excellect location, too. 5 minute walk to town center. 5 minute walk to great hiking trails.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danb208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just had a weekend at Allerdale and it was brilliant. We found it on Tripadvisor and it fully justifies its number 1 ranking. The place is perfect. Outside there are lovely gardens and window boxes, the fact its so nice outside gives you and indication of what its like inside. We stayed in room number 3. To us it was perfect, spotless, and comfortable with everything you would need. Despite this Paul and Barbara told us that it was next on the list for a refurb! You can tell that they take a pride in their property and constantly work to keep the place tip top.
Allerdale House is everything you'll read on Tripadvisor and more! Clean, homely peaceful and relaxing, with superb breakfasts!
Hope there are vacancies for us on out next trip to the lakes because we will definately be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnydiamondBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was very impressed with my stay at allerdale house! Me ad my daughter had a great time. Room was great very comfortable very very clean location was lovely. The breakfast was amazing! Paul and barbara where very helpful with everything. I will definatly be staying here when I visit keswick again! Would highly recommend allerdale house such a friendly an comfortable guest house!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryLee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had a wonderful week at Allerdale House which truely lives up to its tripadvisor ranking as the number 1 B&B in Keswick. Located just a short stroll from Keswich centre it offers: a warm, welcoming and peaceful environment; quality accommodation with comfortable lounge/local interest library. The superb breakfast sets you up for the day. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts (even loaning a pair of cuff-links for the wedding we were attending).
Thank you for a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briddiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 173 in Keswick
410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 173 in Keswick
548 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#61 of 173 in Keswick
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#13 of 173 in Keswick
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#75 of 173 in Keswick
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 173 in Keswick
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Property: Allerdale House Keswick
Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing