We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hazelwood Guest House
Ranked #167 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Leeds
1 review
“Great Guest house”
Reviewed March 30, 2009

This is one of the better Guest houses we have stayed in, in the Keswick and Ambleside area. We are regular Visitors to the Lake District for our Walking pursuits.
Nice Friendly Occupants, good home cooked breakfast, clean rooms with nice decor.
The walk into Keswick town centre is not too far, and the railway route is a nice pleasant walk

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BimblingRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Very freindly owners who made us feel welcome.
The bathroom or should I say shower room was below standard. It was fairly clean but the sealant around the shower tray was coming away and very mildewed. There were evident gaps between the tray and the tiles. The tray was very shallow and easily filled up quickly so you had to turn the shower off in order for it not to overflow onto the floor! The breakfast room was below our shower room and you could see watermarks on the ceiling!
The B&B was a little too far out of Keswick for it to be convenient to walk there each day. Although the old railway line walk along the river is a pleasant route into town.
Our bedroom was bright and clean and a good size and the beds were comfy. The decor was acceptable although a little chintzy. The breakfast room was a reasonable size but again the decor was rather dated. The breakfasts were simple but tasty. Although a bit of variety would have been good, maybe croissants or fruit could have been included. The garden at the front was very nice but the busy road meant that it wasn't really a relaxing place to sit in for long. Our room was at the front and so the noise of the road was quite loud. A room at the back would have been quieter.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotti12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Ended up booking this B&B as it was the only decent place with a vacancy for 1 night over the Bank Holiday weekend.

The property is very easy to find and there is a spacious adjoining car park.

Our room at the front of the house was large enough, and had a nice view overlooking the garden. The decor was rather chintzy but thats usually been the case in the majority of B&Bs I've stayed in.

My only complaint about the room was the dreadful shower. The water pressure was little more than a trickle and the shower tray was tiny.

Full English breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the owners were friendly enough.

The 10 minute walk into Keswick centre along the old railway track is very pleasant and its very conveniently located for Castlerigg Stone Circle and even a hike up Skiddaw!

All in all perfectly acceptable as a base in Keswick.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The trickling shower!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stayed at the Hazelwood for 2 nights in May during the Keswick Mountain Festival. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful! The landlady was very friendly and helpful, there was no problem with an early breakfast when we needed an early start. The property is located on the junction of two main roads so there is a bit of road noise if you sleep with your window open (as we do) but it didn't disturb our sleep. Good location otherwise, about 10 min walk into town centre. Also has own car park which is a definite plus in Keswick!

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Some road noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Hazelwood Guest House is located in a residential neighborhood about three/fourths mile from the town center at the junction of two major roads leading into Keswick. With windows open, early morning traffic noise can provide an unexpected wakeup. I don't think this would be a concern for sounder sleepers or people who aren't fresh air freaks. Otherwise, there's a minimum of interior noise from other rooms or plumbing.

Helen and Andrew, the hosts, couldn't be more hospitable. On the first of our six nights there, they managed a plumbing problem in our room with such grace and aplomb that the event was all but forgotten the following morning. Andrew is a hiker and can provide advice about all the local trails. Two resident teenage children are all but invisible while Fergus the sheepdog is as intrusive as a throwrug, which he imitates quite well.

Hazelwood has its own car park, and we left our vehicle and walked everywhere during our entire stay. Local busses stop right by the house, and access to the Railway Footpath is just a few hundred feet down the road. The latter makes for a pleasant walk to the shops, restaurants and pubs in the center of town. A large, well-groomed yard in front of the house is a good place to relax outdoors as time and weather permit.

Our room, upstairs and at the front of the house, was large enough for our needs and comfortably furnished. It had two large windows, providing nice cross ventilation and a view toward town and the mountains beyond.

Bottom line: If we ever have the good fortune to be in Keswick again, we will book into Hazelwood Guest House.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast - it was good, but exactly the same menu six consecutive days
  • Tips/Secrets — Use Railway Footpath, not street, for walks to town center
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belladonna_Took
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
603 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
292 reviews
3.0 mi away
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelwood Guest House

Property: Hazelwood Guest House
Address: Hazelwood Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing