We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely - glad we picked this one!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lyme Regis
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely - glad we picked this one!”
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Just returned from a trip to the Lakes and a lovely stay at Portland House. There are so many B&Bs to choose from in Keswick, so we were glad that this one lived up to it's excellent reviews. The House itself is lovely - set in a really quiet street, so we had a peaceful (silent!) night, and yet it's only a few minutes walk down into the town, so perfectly located. Our room was bright and spacious, with lots of little extra touches. Breakfast was yummy - thick, tasty bacon, and perfect poached eggs with lovely runny yolks - couldn't fault it! The owners are really friendly and helpful - lovely people, and cleanliness throughout was spot-on. We would most definitely recommend Portland House.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldLymeGuestHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
393
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Really welcoming and friendly, they honestly couldn't do enough. Lovely breakfast and great location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterhough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Excellent Guest House. Had a specious king sized room and mother-in-law had a comfortable single room. Beds were also comfortable which was important to me. Hosts Denise and Rod were welcoming and friendly and made us a cup of tea as soon as we landed. Deocor is fresh and clean and hygene standards are immaculate. Really good breakfast with no supermarket rubbish here. Fresh meat from the local butcher. May find a guest house £5 a night cheaper but standards were high and well worth the little extra. Husband loved Rods sense of humour.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Denise and Rod were warm and friendly from the outset, giving good advice regarding Lucy's surprise adventure walk of a lifetime. Spacious, clean room; delicious breakfast; convenient five minute walk from town and an all-round lovely stay.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snoopstasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Another visit to Rod and Denise's lovely guest house. This time a group of ramblers took over the whole house and were made to feel like it was our home!
Greeted with smiles, shortbread and a warm place to stay followed by lots of laughs, gossip, good breakfasts, great packed lunches (including Denise's cake again!) and the knowledge that you were being looked after while fumbling around the lake district.
Restaurants were again reccommended and food ideas swapped! As well as the good outdoor converstations about the lakes, shopping and local area.
I'm already looking forward to our visit next year!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Denise and Rod provide a really friendly welcome where nothing is too much trouble, the service is faultless. The rooms are spacious and individual with lovely high ceilings and very clean.

We went as a small rambling group so all needed to be fed at the same time, this wasn't any trouble and they do a lovely packed lunch, perfect if you are getting up early to go walking. The B&B also has a small library of maps and books to borrow.

The location is perfect as Keswick town square is literally 3 minutes walk away which is convenient for many walk starting points, shops, pubs and restaurants. Although there isn't a car park there are spaces in the adjacent streets to the B&B.

Portland House is perfect for a weekend away in the Lakes!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dashdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Spent three nights at this lovely B and B in Keswick. Rod and Denise made us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. Lots of choice for breakfast and beautifully cooked. Our room was large and very clean with lots of additional extras ( including home made shortbread every day). Only two minutes walk into the centre of Keswick so ideally situated for restaurants, shops and walks. Would definatley recommend and will hopefully be back again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pemsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing