We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Garstang, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely warm welcome”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at Portland House for the first time last weekend and had a wonderful time. Denise and Rod were superb hosts; they made us feel extremely welcome and recommended some lovely places to eat in Keswick. The rooms were great and the beds were so comfy we didn't want to get out of them! Fabulous breakfast and we'd thoroughly recommend a visit.... we certainly hope to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We enjoyed meeting you all and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The guest rooms all have super comfortable beds and you aren't the first to mention that you didn't want to get up!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
411
57
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingham Oxon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here twice in 2013, once at Convention time and once off season; outstanding on each occasion. Good location, very pleasant rooms, a super breakfast and a sense of being very much welcomed and among friends.

Room Tip: We like the upstairs room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We were very pleased that you came to stay again and were able to get out and see some of the area. The weather was perfect and we are glad that you enjoyed driving to the places we suggested. Thank you for posting another review, we really appreciate it.
We look forward to seeing you again in July for Convention.
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Part of me wants to keep Portland House as a secret! I first stayed with them in 2012 and this was my third time to visit. Rod and Denise make you feel like there is nothing they cannot do for you that would be too much! I spent a great New Year with them and they made me feel so welcome. I was not at all lonely as their other guests are also friendly. As a keen walker used to the wet Lakes it was great to have them help dry all of the wet kit off!! The rooms are warm but not too stuffy and the complementary tea and coffee goes that extra bit further with their splendid shortbread. I will definitely be back!!

Sharon

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shevaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We both enjoyed seeing you again and were pleased that you spent New Year at Portland House.
Our single room is very popular with people coming to Keswick alone or as part of a group spread out and staying in various places. The weather was pretty awful during the Christmas and New Year holiday, but we are pleased that our guests tell us they had a good time regardless!
We hope to see you again soon and thank you for not keeping us a secret!
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed at Portland for the 3rd time - this time for New Year. As always, Rod and Denise were excellent hosts. The food was fabulous. Our room was on the ground floor facing the dining room so had some noise first thing in the morning (and at night too as people came home) but nonetheless was spacious and extremely comfortable.
What makes it for us are the extra touches such as home made shortcake, fresh milk in a flask for the room, the loan of umbrellas (and maps, walking routes etc.) if we wanted them) and the sheer friendliness and welcome of the hosts.
If you're looking for a first rate, quality, friendly, and comfortable and warm B&B, then look no further.

As an aside, we've never ever stayed anywhere as spotlessly clean as Portland.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick_Butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your New Year stay with us and thank you for this great review. New Year is always popular in Keswick, and understandably people are out later than usual, so there may be some noise from people coming in but we are glad it didn't disturb you too much. We pride ourselves on our silver and breakfast awards, which are recognition by Visit England of high quality of food, service and accommodation, but we really value the comments and appreciation shown by our guests and thank you for this.
We hope to see you again soon and once again wish you all the best for 2014.
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEARDALE
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights over the new year holidays. The service, welcome, cleanliness, location etc etc etc is second to none. The excellent breakfasts, including the bucks fizz and chocolates new years morning, were very much appreciated.The weather wasn't the kindest but a hot shower soon makes you feel much better. Will see you again very soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieWeardale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Julie for posting another great review for us. We enjoyed your company over New Year and are glad you appreciated the Bucks Fizz and chocolates on New Years day.
We look forward to seeing you again soon, hopefully the weather will have improved but as you mention, there is always a hot shower and nice warm room to come back to after a days walking!
Very best wishes for 2014
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at Portland House at New Year for 3 nights. We went with friends who had stayed several times and recommended the place.
We weren't disappointed. The first floor room was larger than average with a big, comfortable bed. The breakfasts were really nice and made with best quality produce. Rod and Denise made us feel most welcome and chatted openly whenever we saw them.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your New Year stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post this excellent review. We hope that it will have been the first of many times we see you here and look forward to the next time!
Once again, very best wishes for 2014.
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottish borders
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have just spent our second visit to Portland House and once again had a warm welcome from Rod and Denise.We have stayed in many B&Bs in Keswick and this is by far the best. From our lovely room with some lovely touches, to the excellent breakfasts. I cannot fault it in any way.We will certainly stay there again. Thanks again. Carol and Ian.

Room Tip: I think you would not be disappointed with any of the rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello Carol and Ian.
It was great to see you again for New Year. Thank you for your excellent review and compliments about our guesthouse, especially your comments about us being the best in Keswick!
We wish you both a very happy 2014 and look forward to seeing you again.
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 173 in Keswick
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing