We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcome, very comfortable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I loved our recent 5 night stay at Denise and Rod's beautiful B&B in Keswick. Welcomed with a cuppa after our long drive we immediately felt at ease. Denise makes the best shortbread and a piece awaited us after every walk we took in the beautiful Lakes. Breakfast was to die for - so much choice and beautifully cooked. The room was lovely, perfectly clean and comfortable with a huge cosy bed! The B&B is in a perfect position in Keswick, just 5 mins walk into town where you can find great pubs and places to eat. We hope to be back one day, this time on our motorbikes to follow up on Rod's promise to show us the local roads!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to post this review. You certainly made the most of you stay here and we will enjoy showing you around when you come back on motorbikes - plenty of fantastic ride outs! The room you had will be having some beautiful new oak furniture shortly as well as the comfortable bed that you mentioned.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Portland House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 743 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked the Portland House Bed & Breakfast after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. Needless to say, we weren't disappointed! Rod and Denise made us very welcome and they run and lovely clean Guest House with fabulous breakfasts and nothing is too much trouble. Rod and Denise helped us with recommending places to eat, walks etc. and all in all made our stay extremely enjoyable! Would thoroughly recommend staying at the Portland! Do hope to return some time :o)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

We do appreciate you taking the time to post this review for us and are very pleased that you agreed with the comments posted by other guests! We try to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay with us and are happy to give advice or suggestions on where to go in our beautiful area.
We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Denise & Rod perfect hosts and could not do enough to make stay enjoyable. Home made shortbread was delicious. Ideal location to walk into town or to Derwent museum, very quiet location and would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone. Only draw back parking in street is limited, but Rod there to assist and guide you to suitable spot.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and it was a bit of effort to carry up heavy suitcases. After this...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was good to meet you both.,
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful 4 nights with Denise and Rod in their extremely well run guest house. Our room was large, well appointed, quiet and comfortable. The location was perfect for us - easy walking distance to town (read shopping, pubs, restaurants) and the lake, but far enough away to be very quiet at night. Breakfasts were excellent - filling, nicely presented, and tasty. Two of our mornings there, we had to leave prior to breakfast in order to get to where we needed to be on time. Denise was kind enough to offer to prepare a bagged lunch in lieu of our missed breakfast. This was much appreciated. Denise is a great cook and baker - excellent homemade shortbread was left in our room every day and she made homemade cakes for lunches. Rod has a great sense of humor and gave great advice about the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Portland House and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends and family. We would certainly stay there again if we are fortunate enough to be able to return to the Lakes District!!
Just to add one more reason to stay here - we discovered a self-service laundromat (seems to be a rarity in the UK) just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (#6) which is the only guest room on that floor. It was quiet and very well...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for this great review. We were pleased to be able to offer you packed lunches on the days you had to be out very early and are glad you enjoyed them! You mention that we have a ground floor room - this is very popular as it is a spacious flexible room that can be either twin bedded or kingsize, it is wheelchair accessible and has a very large shower room. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that maybe we will see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a wonderful two days at Portland House. Starting with the room, it was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the bed soft, a good shower with heated towels on the bathroom towel rack. We especially enjoyed sitting at the small table by the window, enjoying the amazing view. Breakfasts were delicious. The bacon and sausage were both delicious. Denise and Rod were both welcoming and helpful, suggesting restaurants and good places to hike. If we get the opportunity, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MindfulTasting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. Your room on the 2nd floor is very popular with views across to Walla Crag (weather permitting!). We are very proud to have recently been given a Breakfast Award by Visit England following an overnight assessment. We serve locally sourced produce whenever possible and our bacon and sausages are made by our butcher here in Keswick. We do hope you have the opportunity to come back to Keswick and visit us again.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent two nights in the wonderful Portland House. it was our first time at Portland House b&b and we both found it to be clean comfortable and very frienly,
owners Denise and Rod what a fantastic couple they really made us so very welcome,
we really enjoyed the tasty home cooking breakfast, the smoked salmon on a muffin was fantastic.
they are both very helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
we loved our stay and would recommend this beautiful b&b to anyone and we are so glad we chose Portland house.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wulf69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We enjoyed meeting you both and thank you for taking the time to post this review.
We hope that all our guests enjoy their visit to our lovely Lake District and try our best to make their stay here extra special. We hope to see you again one day.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a really good short stay here in August. Benise & Rod are a lovely couple who are really helpful whatever you are in the Lake District for, walking, cycling or just relaxing. Accommodation, breakfast & location are all excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilikstalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

We were very pleased to read the title of your review 'We will be back' as it let's us know we are doing things right - we very much look forward to seeing you here again!
Best wishes
Denise and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#1 of 189 in Keswick
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#5 of 189 in Keswick
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $50 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing