We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little Gem!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just had another visit to Keswick and Portland House in particular - cannot speak highly enough of this gem of a B&B! Very clean and comfortable with extra little touches everywhere....especially Denise's home-made shortbread which is delicious! The variety at breakfast means you need never eat the same meal twice, and the owners hospitality is still second to none; Rod is particularly good at advising people on routes and places to visit be it on foot or on a motorbike! Many thanks again to Rod &Denise for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyRix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
It was great to see you again and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments. Rod enjoyed leading you out for motorbike rides and showing you some new places in and around the Lake District - there are plenty more to see, so we look forward to the next come you come over!
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
378
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rod & Denise could not have been more helpful. Our room was full of little finishing touches and the breakfast was excellent. We couldn't have been more welcome loved every minute. This is a really good base whether you just want to stay around Derwent water or want to travel further afield.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richsmith97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We really appreciate our guests taking the time to write a review and post it on TripAdvisor - thank you! Your 2 day stay was a taster of this beautiful area and we look forward to seeing you again - maybe for a little longer next time.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived on a busy weekend and the parking was a bit intimidating--but Rod promptly bounced out of the house and with a bit of hand waving and cheerful chatter, I was parked, and we were soon settled in a comfortable, well appointed room with home-made short bread to greet us. Denise is quiet but warms to guests quickly; Rod looked suspiciously like Rod Stewart and has a seriously funny streak of Robin Williams in his blood--if he ever tires of hosting at a B&B he could easily dominate the stand-up comedy circuit. His sense of humor kept us chuckling, Denise kept us well fed, and Rod provided excellent information on the surrounding lake district and things that interested us in town--everything from the best ice cream to used bookstores. The house is well located within a couple minutes walk from downtown, but is quiet as a pin in the evening. It's also close to St. John's Church which we visited for Sunday worship services, and found the congregation welcoming. We had the second floor corner room which was light, spacious, and well-maintained/clean. This was our last B&B in a three week stay and was a good way to end our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RangerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for our great review, it was a pleasure to meet you all. It is good to know that your stay with us was a nice way to end your holiday before returning to the US. There is plenty more to see if you get to come back to the Lake District - Rod will be happy to provide directions!
Very best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in June. Portland house is well located for walking into the centre of Keswick but far enough away to be quite at night. Rod & Denise are very helpfull warm hosts (there is locking private parking for motercycles at the rear of the property & Rod is exellent at leading rides out if previously aranged). My on suite room was very clean & comfortable with an exellent breakfast in the morning (massive choice).
Thanks for a great stay
Mick

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting this review.
We hope to see you again one day soon.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gisborne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in May this year and it was comfortable and clean, as with all Victorian houses there are lots of stairs but you sort of get used to it after awhile. Just remember to limit the amount of luggage you bring in as you have to lug it up and then down again ! Parking was at a premium when we were there but managed to score a spot not far from the house. Breakfasts were nice with good selections and cooked to order ,and hosts Denise and Rod were friendly and helpful with any local knowledge you needed to know and a good sense of humour. The breakfast room is lovely and cosy and has a beautiful outlook to the little front garden and quaint surrounding streets. The location is within walking distance to many restaurants and pubs. We ate at a Mexican restaurant which was great and also a nice Indian restaurant. This B&B overall is not overpriced and good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your short stay. Our guesthouse accommodation has 6 rooms, one double on the 2nd floor 4 rooms on the 1st floor and a ground floor flexible room that can have either a twin or superkingsize bed so should you return to Keswick and stay with us again, there is no need to use the stairs if the room is available! We are always happy to help guests with their luggage on arrival and departure.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Rod and Denise are warm, helpful, considerate hosts. We had a lovely four night stay at Portland House in Keswick in late June, '13. It's well-located, with easy parking, and very comfortable rooms, as well as personalized breakfast menus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imlac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for posting this review - it is nice to get a review for Portland House from Portland in Oregon! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again should you return to the Lake District in the future.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I booked 2 nights here after reading all the previous reviews and I wasn't disappointed. My mum and I couldn't have been more impressed with Portland house and all the attention to detail and friendly hosts Denise and Rod. From the extremely comfortable beds, the soft fluffy towels and the homemade shortbread, amazing cooked breakfast and the helpful advice re walks and places to visit we couldn't have been happier! Wine glasses and corkscrew provided in the room too!
Just wish we could have stayed longer, I can't recommend Portland House highly enough, all these other brilliant reviews are not wrong!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us. Sharing our knowledge of the area and helping people plan where to go and what to see is a very enjoyable part of running our guesthouse. Hopefully your visit was the first of many to the Lakes and we look forward to welcoming you back to Portland House.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
569 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 177 in Keswick
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing