We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Short Break at Portland House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bebington, Wirral, Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Short Break at Portland House”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is our first visit to Portland House and we chose this B & B based on our son's recommendation from tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. It is a lovely Victorian property with clean spacious rooms with lots of light. On arrival our hosts Denise and Rod made us tea which was lovely. The little touches Denise and Rod provide in their rooms such as the homemade shortbread which was provided every day on our refreshment tray and the tray with glasses and a corkscrew for a little drink after a hard day's walking made it a lovely stay. The location is only a few minutes walk from the centre of Keswick. The varied breakfast was beautiful with everything you could want - plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, fruit juices and breads to choose from. Also the full English Breakfast with every choice you could want and eat to a lighter one was cooked fresh to order for you by Denise every day. Breakfast was always served by Rod with some lovely friendly chat and humour and made all the guests feel so at home. Any help, knowledge or maps regarding walks or trips were all provided for you. We would thoroughly recommend this B & B to our family and friends and are looking forward hopefully to our next stay with Denise and Rod next year.

Room Tip: We had Room 6 which was on the second floor which had a lovely view and was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. It is very rewarding when our guests mention the little extras we provide, we do try to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible and it is nice to know our efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you all again next year!
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
404
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I and two college age daughters were touring the UK in June and planned some time in the Lake District. I found the Portland House B&B on the internet and booked two nights based on good reviews on Tripadvisor. What a great choice!! Denise welcomed us and showed us to our rooms, which were perfect. My wife and I had a bright room on the second floor on the corner with large windows. The girls had an equally nice room on the third floor. The beds were quite comfortable and the ensuite facilities were larger than is typical. The delicious English breakfast is made to order by Denise with Rod acting as host, server and entertainer. Rod provided us with great suggestions for touring the area. Ask him for directions to the Surprise View. The B&B is within easy walking distance to the town center. Looking forward to next time...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review - let's hope you can stay longer next time!
It was very nice to meet your family and thank you for sending through photos of the girls riding the Cumbrian Heavy Horses, it really is a lovely place to visit.
We really appreciate feedback from our guests and do look forward to seeing you all again one day.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We are a group of advanced motorcyclists and have now stayed at this B&B twice and can honestly say we will be back again....and again. Rod and Denise are brilliant hosts with pots of tea or coffee made for you on arrival and superb accommodation. We really needed somewhere with off road parking for our bikes and there was enough room for our 8 bikes no problem. Rod even came out for a day ride with us during our stay and offers guided rides too which is fantastic. The food is devine with Denise serving up a delicious breakfast. The house is very conveniently located too within 2 minutes of the centre but in a quiet area too.

Room Tip: Room one is ground floor and has disabled access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
It was a pleasure having your group to stay with us and we thank you for posting this review.
Rod enjoyed riding out with you on the Saturday and looks forward to leading you all when you come back and stay again. We are so pleased that the weather was kind and that you didn't need your waterproofs when you rode out!
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Chose this B&B based on tripadvisor reviews as it was my 1st stay in Keswick and I was not disappointed. It is lovely property with clean rooms with lots of natural light and all needed creature comforts. Very convenient location as within a few minutes walk from the centre. The hosts Denise & Rod were lovely, friendly and helpful. Would certainly return on next visit to Keswick.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevo_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for posting this review, we were pleased to be able to help you with your travel plans for your long walk and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you come to Keswick.
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed at this B & B after seeing the great reviews on trip advisor. I was not disappointed, we had tea made for us on arrival and home made short bread provided on our refreshments tray every day. The room was spacious and clean, also the bed was very comfortable. Denise and Rod where very helpful and friendly nothing seemed like too much trouble. Rod even provided us with maps and gave us some helpful advice on walks to do. The breakfast was lovely and the menus' had an offering for all dietary requirements. I would not hesitate in recommending this to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, we are pleased that your stay lived up to the recommendations on our previousTrip Advisor reviews.
We hope that all our guests enjoy their stay with us and do our best to ensure they get the most out of their visit to Keswick, it is such a lovely place!
If you come back to the Lakes, we hope you will stay with us again.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here in March (only just got round to writing review!). We had a lovely 2 night stay and could not fault this place. The breakfasts were delicious and the owners Denise and Rod were lovely and very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. The rooms were spotless and warm with a big comfy bed and the price was very reasonable: what more could you want.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucielastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We do appreciate you remembering to write a review after your stay in March and thank you for your positive comments. We hope that you will come back and see us again when you next visit the Lake District.
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife & I have just returned from our annual Beer Festival weekend at Keswick (1st weekend in June). A great time was had by all and we were blessed with glorious weather.
We were pleased to find that Portland House was up to the very high standards we have come to expect. Our room had a new bed in it which was really comfortable and very spacious. Breakfast was as filling and tasty as usual with plenty of fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, cereals, breads, & juices to choose from. I opted for the "full monty" both mornings (best black pudding I've ever tasted!) and the Mrs opted for a lighter version.
All of the guests in the hotel were the same as last year and we have all booked the same dates next year, so that tells you how good this establishment is. There aren't any negatives to report from our stay and I'm certain if we did have any concerns Rod and Denise would have gone out of their way to put things right.
Thank you and Keep up the great work Rod and Denise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay-n-Sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
It was great to see you again for the Beer Festival, as we said when you were here, it was like having a house full of friends as you had all stayed before.
The new beds are proving to be a success with everyone - a good nights sleep is so important!
Our sausages, bacon and black pudding are supplied by our local butchers Thomasons and will certainly be on the menu when you come back again, perhaps in the Autumn or definitely next year for the 2014 Beer Festival.
Best wishes to both of you.
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing