We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Accommodating...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Most Accommodating...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Rang day before I wanted to check in for a single evening as I'd seen they had a twin/family room available for one night. Denise was more than happy to take my booking over the phone and asked how old my son was. Booking was very smooth and was quickly followed up with a confirmation email. So excellent so far.

Arrived for our stay yesterday evening at 5.30pm ... No parking available onsite but plenty available on street. Portland House is near a Triangle in the road where plenty of spaces are usually available. After a cold walk from the car, Denise welcomed us with a wide smile and showed us to our room (room 4). I had actually stayed in the exact same room approximately 11/12 years ago as part of a mountain biking trip to the lakes. Was as remembered although as under new ownership had seen at least one modernisation since my last stay all those years ago. Denise explained all the usual mod-cons and timing for breakfast (Between 8.30 and 9.00) and even noted that she'd got some special sausage for my son. Finally she pointed out the homemade shortbread that was on the coffee tray (yummy) and left us to unpack with the usual "details" form.

An excellent comfortable quiet nights sleep followed our meal out that evening in Keswick and a trip to the Dog and Gun's Halloween party!!!

Shower had great water pressure and once you'd got the temperature of the water to stay where you wanted was great.

Down for breakfast and what a breakfast ... The best choice I have ever encountered in the lakes, usual toast/cereals/yoghurts/jams etc. But not the standard "Cumbrian" full english on the menu but a list of items that you could select from. Rod joyfully took our order from the vast selection of hot items which for once in the Lakes included Baked Beans!!! Denise had obtained some smaller sausages rather than the big cumberlands that I had which was a very nice gesture rather than over facing a child.

Highly recommended B&B and will be on my list of places to return too given that I visit Keswick at least 2 or 3 times a year.

Thanks Denise and Rod...

Room Tip: Room 4 is a family room and is MASSIVE! Double bed and a single with two huge bay windows. Stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickyTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
378
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent a weekend wild camping in the lakes bookended by a night either side at the Portland. Denise and Rod provide comfortable,scrupulously clean rooms and a great breakfast. However, they offer far more than just rooms and breakfast. They are an engaging and personable couple who clearly aim to make everyone's stay special. Added to that when shivering in your tent with soaking wet kit in minus too many Denise's lemon drizzle cake is a touch of heaven. I would recommend Portland House to any one that still values the personal touch

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights while walking the Cumbria Way. After walking all day it was wonderful to be met by Denise with a pot of tea and homemade shortbread. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfasts were great with fresh fruit every morning. Denise and Rod were gracious hosts and a wealth of helpful information. I highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURHAM
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day break to Keswick for our anniversary. We chose this guest house on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor and happy that we did.
Denise and Rod are a very warm thoughtful couple who made us very welcome from the moment we arrived. We were upgraded to room 4 which was large, bright and comfortable. The king-size bed was the most comfortable bed we have slept in anywhere away from home, and with 2 large windows and window seats, big fluffy bathrobes and little treats such as face wipes, cotton buds, hand lotion etc. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and home made shortbread were stocked up each day. Breakfasts were delicious with lots to chose from. I particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit salad as a starter, followed by the full Cumbrian breakfast which set us up for the day. We even received an anniversary card from Denise and Rod. Only 5 minutes walk to the town centre and 10 minutes from the lake. I'm very fussy when it comes to finding places to stay but rate this B&B 10 out of 10. Thank you so much Denise and Rod.

Room Tip: Room 4 is large bright and very comfortable (first floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caznkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodden10, Owner at Portland House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you Martin for this excellent review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Ask us for nescafe next time - we serve Fairtrade beverages but if they're not to your taste we may be able to sort something!!
Best wishes
Denise and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in October 2012. My welcome from Denise & Rod made me feel instantly at home and all through my stay they were keen to help and provide advice. My room was good, clean and well maintained. The breakfasts were excellent, better than most B&Bs I've stayed in and I came away feeling full and happy each morning and ready for a day on the hills. They also have plenty of information if you're not sure what to do on a rainy, or even sunny, day. The B&B itself is well positioned, only 5 minutes from the centre of town. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in a double room for 3 nights during a birthday trip to the Lakes. From the moment we arrived (to a warm pot of tea and Denise's home-made shortbread) we were made to feel completely at home. The room was large, warm, clean and very comfortable. There were plenty of options for parking outside in the otherwise very busy Keswick and our muddy boots were well cared for at the end of the day drying indoors. The breakfasts were both delicious and as substantial as you could want them (with lighter options available) and freshly prepared by Denise each morning. Rod and Denise proved extremely helpful, suggesting tips for the local area and all told were very friendly and welcoming hosts. Our thanks to them both. A lovely weekend's stay, we'd very happily come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattGreenhalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Received a lovely welcome from Rod and Denise when we arrived, of a pot of tea and homemade shortbread...yum!! We had booked 2 rooms, a first floor double for hubbie and myself and the ground floor room for my elderly Dad. Both rooms were large, airy and spotlessly clean with nice decor/furnishings, plenty of storage space and comfy beds. Each en-suite had a large shower cubicle and huge fluffy towels. The beverage tray and biccies were restocked daily and there were thoughtful little touches provided such as cosmetic and personal items, a torch and wine glasses and a corkscrew. Breakfast included juices, a good selection of cereals/muesli, seeds and nuts, dried fruits, fabulous fresh fruit salad, yogurts, toast, jams etc. Denise excelled with the main event, perfectly cooking quality local produce freshly to order for each guest. Rod and Denise have loads of books/leaflets about the area which you can borrow and were on hand to advise what walks in particular would suit the three of us. A great recommendation from Rod, try Luca's restaurant, great food, wine & atmos, plus Rod will give you a voucher to get 15% off the bill. Location is great, only a few minutes to walk into the centre and we were always able to find a parking space right outside the B&B. To sum up , Portland House is a beautiful, property, full of of character with high ceilings and original fireplaces. It oozes a warm, homely, relaxed atmosphere which is all due to the fabulous hosts. Many thanks Denise and Rod

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireMand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#10 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing