We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Keswick!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best place to stay in Keswick!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Everthing about our stay at the Portland House B&B was perfect. The greeting we received from Denise and Rod was exceptionally warm and friendly - they even had a pot of tea waiting for us. They remained helpful and gracious hosts throughout our stay. The rooms themselves were light and roomy, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the en suites were a good size for B&B standard. The thoughtful little extras made the stay extra special - corkscrew, wine glasses, torch, hairdryer, sewing kit and homemade shortbread (which was delicious!). The breakfasts were delicious, and the selection was outstanding, and far and above the normal B&B standard. You could certailny tell that Rod and Denise used high quality, local produce. Overall, our stay was outstanding. We will definitley be recommending it, and we hope to return soon ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjb1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
374
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Lovely single room, clean and beautifully decorated, with a comfortable chair to sit in and a comfortable bed.
Lots of choice for breakfast, and all excellently cooked. Scrambled eggs with smoked salmon was my favourite!
Very friendly hosts with lots of chat and friendly advice (when wanted) - they made everyone staying there feel welcome.
This is the best b&b I've stayed in for a long time, and I hope to return regularly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenwoman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Although regular visitors to Keswick, we're not long back from our first stay at Portland House and can only re-iterate the comments already made by the many satisfied guests, that it's a fab place to stay. We had a lovely big, bright and airy room. Everywhere was spotless, the food was great and Denise and Rod are very welcoming hosts. There's a great breakfast selection (and plenty of it) and they clearly use good quality produce, even down to the bread, which is good proper stuff - none of your cheap sliced variety here and with the toaster in the dining room, you can help yourself to as much of it as you like. After their breakfast, we didn't bother eating again until teatime. Denise is a great cook and 'Rodders' makes a very efficient waiter ! We think Denise should treat him to a uniform ! :-). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and usually try somewhere different each time we visit Keswick, but think we'll make an exception with this one and will be returning. The quality and service received surpassed many bigger hotels that we've stayed in, so well done and many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

What a really great place to stay, although the weather as usual was wet, we received a warm and sunny welcome from Denise and Rod.
The room was excellent, the breakfast great, what more could you want.

Room Tip: Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna503982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We have returned from our annual pilgrimage to Keswick and this year we stayed at the Portland House B&B. For us, this is the best B&B we have stayed in following our numerous visits to Keswick.

What makes the B&B special are the proprietors; Rod and Denise are exceptional hosts and lovely people who have thought about everything to ensure that you have a very comfortable stay.

Our room was bright, airy and very clean, with an en-suite shower and toilet. Extra little touches included wine glasses and a corkscrew in the room, and homemade shortbread for you to enjoy with your cuppa. The B&B is on a corner plot, and there is parking available just outside the B&B.

For breakfast there is plenty of choice. There is cereal, fruit juice, yoghurt and fresh fruit salad, and each morning you can choose what items you would like for a cooked breakfast. Vegetarians are catered for, and if you don’t want a full fry-up, you can have a lighter breakfast such as poached eggs on toast.

The Portland House is in a great location and whilst it is only a 5 min walk to the centre of Keswick, the area around the B&B is very quiet. It isn’t far to go to explore the surrounding hills and lakes, and if you are going walking for the day, Denise and Rod will supply you with a hearty packed lunch which includes home-made cake, freshly made rolls, juice and fruit for a reasonable charge. If you are new to the area, they can also suggest places you may wish to visit.

This is definitely a gem of a B&B that you must visit that I would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sioux_rogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Portland House. Rod and Denise were very accomodating and did everything to make our stay the best it could be. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Their breakfast was by far the best of any B&B we have previosly known. They share our love of fresh locally sourced ingredients cooked to order and not out of a tin. We were made to feel almost part of the family and would definately go back there next time. 5 Stars for the breakfast (Denise will know what we mean!).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Spent a May weekend at Portland House during the Mountain Festival. As others have said Rod and Denise are excellent hosts without being overbearing. Anyone who makes me a pot of tea on arrival gets my vote. We stayed in Bedroom 6 on the top floor, which was spacious and spotless with a good size en-suite. There was an excellent variety at breakfast , locally sourced and fresh. Walkers welcome. It's within an easy 5 minute stroll of Keswick town centre with ample free on-street parking. We will go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesandSue-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Portland House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Victorian residence in a quiet area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, theatre and the lake. Our six en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order using locally sourced ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for and all beverages are Fair trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Completely non smoking and sorry no pets or children under 12 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing