We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need from a B&B”
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #69 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All you need from a B&B”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent B&B in a great, quiet location just a few minutes walk from town centre. Comfortable, warm and welcoming with lots of attention to detail. First class breakfast with loads of choice. Really friendly hosts in Richard and Judy. Would highly recommend this B&B for anyone visiting the Lake District.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
It was lovely to meet you both and thank you for your generous comments. Richard and I are so pleased you were comfortable and enjoyed the breakfasts and your stay here with us. We look forward to seeing you both again next time you are in Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
162
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had high hopes for Amble House. The vast majority of which were achieved. Although our room was tiny, it was super clean and comfy.

Richard was very friendly and attentive when we arrived. We were delighted by the information folder provided in the room, which details in some length the renovations undertaken by Richard and Judy in the last ten years. No minor upgrade is left out, and it makes a great read with a cup of tea when you first arrive. Tea made with the individually room-numbered fresh milk that is provided in a small fridge along the corridor. High quality biscuits round the experience off. Free wifi access is also available in all rooms.

The bathroom was spotless, the toilet even having a 'disinfected for your comfort' ribbon around it. High-end toiletries were also present. A good power-shower, filtered drinking water on tap, and really nice fluffy towels set it apart from other guest houses we stayed in during the same week.

One of the reasons we booked and were particularly looking forward to was the AA Award winning breakfast. On their website, they boasted that they offered no fewer than FOUR different breakfast juices. Before you get too excited, you must specify only one on your breakfast order form, to be completed the night before. A vast array of breakfast options are available, but again, choose wisely as you cannot change your mind after filling in that form. That said, if you're still happy with your choice in the morning, you will be treated to an amazing breakfast, cooked by the never-seen Judy. Indeed, Richard and Judy have never been seen in the same room. Perhaps Richard just uses the mythical 'Judy' to hide behind when explaining certain house rules. Locally sourced produce and homemade jam are the order of the day. Good portion sizes, and extra fruit, cereal and yoghurts are available too. A variety of tea choices was another welcome addition.

On a couple of occasions we were made to feel like naughty school children for deviating from Richard and Judy's very strict rules. Notably, wanting to take a glass of juice up to the room to a sick partner, and wanting to use the drying room for swimming kit rather than walking gear - a faux pas we will never make again!

Parking can be an issue but this is the same for all guest houses in Keswick. Proximity to the town centre, though, means that you can easily walk in.

For the price, this was an excellent place to stay, and we would definitely stay there again as long as we were planning a weekend of walking and not wild swimming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ultrasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We like the title of your review - it sounds like a tv programme! Thank you for your feedback and generous comments regarding the cleanliness of the room - its important to us to ensure each guest feels they are in a clean environment and, as one gentleman put it, 'feel like they are the first people in the room'. You obviously enjoyed the beverage offerings and the biscuits too. Yes the room you booked was/is small but you understood that when you booked it and were offered alternatives but chose to stay with your booking in the small double en-suite room. You did not meet me as you did not come down for breakfast the first morning and by the time I had finished catering for other guests and gone into the dining room your partner had left with your OJ. so your comments are rather rude and unfair. Your partner was given a tumbler of orange juice to take up to the room for you - we prefer our stemmed crystal glasses to stay in the dining room to avoid breakages so gave her a tumbler instead. We were concerned to be told you weren't well and did offer to contact a doctor but this was declined so you can understand why we were absolutely amazed to be presented with sodden swimming attire, towels and shoes as we had believed you were poorly and that's why you were absent from the dining room but you obviously recovered enough to go swimming in a freezing lake!! The fortitude of youth! Oh to be young again! We have never been asked to dry shoes used in swimming nor bathing suits and towels either but were happy to turn the heat on to get it all dry for you The breakfast system we have in place and widely used by others doesn't suit everyone but its a practise endorsed by the AA, and we have their award, as mentioned by you, and Visit England too, and we now are in receipt of their National Breakfast Award too! [wow!] as enabling the accommodation provider to offer a large variety of dishes. There are establishments that use other systems and some that offer a very limited menu. We're sorry if you would have liked things done differently but there are only two of us and we do the best we can to offer the best we can. Should you plan to return to Keswick please don't hesitate to give us a call and we will be more than happy to help you find accommodation more suited to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Another wonderful stay at Amble House. Everything was as good as ever, brilliant hosts, incredibly clean and comfortable accommodation and breakfasts to die for. There cannot be a better B&B in Keswick - we really can't recommend Amble House highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Once again it was lovely to see you both and to enjoy your company, which we did very much. Your comments are very much appreciated and we're glad you feel so comfortable here. I am still looking to expand the breakfast menu so you will have even more difficulty making your choices! Walking weather was on your side - so very different to your last visit! We very much look forward to seeing you both again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deurne, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This has to be one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed at. The landlords make you feel right at home and are ready to help with just about anything.
The rooms were exceptionally tidy and clean, as was the rest of the house and everything was just the way it should be.
The aspect that stood out the most was the breakfast menu. Whether you chose the full English breakfast, pancakes and maple syrup or simply a bacon butty, everything was prepared with such dedication and eye for detail that nothing was left to chance.
This is the B&B I shall be comparing every future B&B's to.
Regards from Belgium!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklaas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Belgium! Thankyou for taking the time to post your comments. It was so good to meet you both, Niklass and Siegfried, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and got some really good walking done whilst you were here. Your very kind comments are really appreciated and we're really happy you enjoyed your breakfasts so much - hope you are not missing them too much! It would be lovely to see you both again if ever your travels bring you back to Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Chose this lovely B & B to stay at again this weekend because we were so pleased with it the last time. The breakfasts were fantastic as usual (prepared by Judy - except for the toast, which Richard says he makes!!!). It is such a lovely, clean, home from home place to stay and relax. Richard and Judy are really welcoming and we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Amble House again the next time we visit Keswick. In fact, we wouldn't contemplate staying anywhere else. What is the point when you have had the best!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We were so pleased to see you both and to know you enjoyed your stay with us once again is really great! Thankyou for posting your comments. Guests often write lovely things in our visitor book but never do a review for us but you've done both - thankyou! Richard and I enjoyed your company and are really pleased everything was as you remembered from your first visit and you had a really relaxing time. Look forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in room no. 2, which was pretty but very small. Everything is nicely renovated and the hosts really went out of their way to help us with advice and directions. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, with fresh fruit, regional produce and a varied menu that you can choose the night before. In the bathroom there is a special tap for filtered drinking water - very handy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your comments. We are glad we were able to direct you to all the Stately Homes you wanted to visit and that you enjoyed Wordsworths home so much. Thankyou for sending an email to us on your return home. We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts so much and just to let you know we have received another award for them and this time from Visit England!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Amble House in early June, 2013 for five nights and found it to be an excellent B&B. It is in the small town of Keswick which is loaded with character and perfect for touring the Lake District. Judy prepared wonderful breakfasts each morning and Richard was a most charming, entertaining and informative host, as well as tour guide. We have not had better service anywhere in our travels. We met so many friendly and interesting people that it was hard to leave. Also, the best pubs ever! We rate our stay here as top notch.

Donna & Bob Wilson
Saint Augustine, Florida

Room Tip: Keswick is a great base location to explore the Lake District and a wonderful town to enjoy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello Florida! It was really good of you to post your comments. Richard and I really enjoyed meeting you both and your company over the five days. If everything we did helped make your trip and your visit to Keswick just that bit better then we did it right! Thank you for your invitation to visit with you - you never know!! Thanks once again for the pleasure of your company and for your very kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#49 of 175 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Green Guest House
Eden Green Guest House
#100 of 175 in Keswick
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#46 of 175 in Keswick
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#21 of 175 in Keswick
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#81 of 175 in Keswick
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Property: Amble House
Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing