We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #69 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Deurne, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
“Regal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This has to be one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed at. The landlords make you feel right at home and are ready to help with just about anything.
The rooms were exceptionally tidy and clean, as was the rest of the house and everything was just the way it should be.
The aspect that stood out the most was the breakfast menu. Whether you chose the full English breakfast, pancakes and maple syrup or simply a bacon butty, everything was prepared with such dedication and eye for detail that nothing was left to chance.
This is the B&B I shall be comparing every future B&B's to.
Regards from Belgium!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklaas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Belgium! Thankyou for taking the time to post your comments. It was so good to meet you both, Niklass and Siegfried, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and got some really good walking done whilst you were here. Your very kind comments are really appreciated and we're really happy you enjoyed your breakfasts so much - hope you are not missing them too much! It would be lovely to see you both again if ever your travels bring you back to Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    4
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
157
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Chose this lovely B & B to stay at again this weekend because we were so pleased with it the last time. The breakfasts were fantastic as usual (prepared by Judy - except for the toast, which Richard says he makes!!!). It is such a lovely, clean, home from home place to stay and relax. Richard and Judy are really welcoming and we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Amble House again the next time we visit Keswick. In fact, we wouldn't contemplate staying anywhere else. What is the point when you have had the best!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We were so pleased to see you both and to know you enjoyed your stay with us once again is really great! Thankyou for posting your comments. Guests often write lovely things in our visitor book but never do a review for us but you've done both - thankyou! Richard and I enjoyed your company and are really pleased everything was as you remembered from your first visit and you had a really relaxing time. Look forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in room no. 2, which was pretty but very small. Everything is nicely renovated and the hosts really went out of their way to help us with advice and directions. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, with fresh fruit, regional produce and a varied menu that you can choose the night before. In the bathroom there is a special tap for filtered drinking water - very handy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your comments. We are glad we were able to direct you to all the Stately Homes you wanted to visit and that you enjoyed Wordsworths home so much. Thankyou for sending an email to us on your return home. We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts so much and just to let you know we have received another award for them and this time from Visit England!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Amble House in early June, 2013 for five nights and found it to be an excellent B&B. It is in the small town of Keswick which is loaded with character and perfect for touring the Lake District. Judy prepared wonderful breakfasts each morning and Richard was a most charming, entertaining and informative host, as well as tour guide. We have not had better service anywhere in our travels. We met so many friendly and interesting people that it was hard to leave. Also, the best pubs ever! We rate our stay here as top notch.

Donna & Bob Wilson
Saint Augustine, Florida

Room Tip: Keswick is a great base location to explore the Lake District and a wonderful town to enjoy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello Florida! It was really good of you to post your comments. Richard and I really enjoyed meeting you both and your company over the five days. If everything we did helped make your trip and your visit to Keswick just that bit better then we did it right! Thank you for your invitation to visit with you - you never know!! Thanks once again for the pleasure of your company and for your very kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just had our 4th holiday at Amble House with Richard and Judy we had the top front room lots of space and a really comfy king size bed. Since our last visit we noticed wine glasses had been added to the tea and coffee making facilities - a good idea. Everything is always excellent each time we stay with great attention to detail and to top it all you cannot get a better breakfast. Looking forward to another visit in the near future.

Jenny and Malcolm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
How kind of you to write this review for us! We were so pleased to see you both again and wasn't it great you had such splendid hot weather instead of the dreary rain you had on your last visit? Thank you for your comment re the breakfasts; you were here of course when we had our Visit England Inspection and were given their Breakfast Award - you were so pleased for us too - thankyou. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Good Luck with your plans for the end of the year Jenny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOLTON
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have just had the great pleasure of 2 nights in this lovely guest house.
Our room ( a twin on the front ) was very neat quite spacious with a nice bay window.
A great shower too. lovely touches like chocs on the pillow and a bowl of sweets. I always like it when the owner puts tissues and cotton balls etc for you to use too.The breakfast was second to none, I tried an Omelete ( highly recomended ) 2nd day Scambled egg and Salmon OMG. I liked it so much that I am going back for 3 nights in August. Richard and Judy ( I know!! ) are lovely people, cannot fault anything, unusual for me.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the only one with a Bay window is on the front up 1 flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank socket52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Oh thank you so much for your lovely review! Richard and I are so pleased to know you had such a great time here and are certainly looking forward to seeing you again in August.. Visit England have just given us their coveted, prestigious National Breakfast Award! Now we have one Award from the AA and one from Visit England - both for our breakfasts! Amazing! We are thrilled to bits! Thanks again for taking the time to do this review for us - we are always grateful to people who take time out of their day to do this for us. See you in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just returned from a short break at amble house and cant praise it enough, it is one of the best b&bs that we have stayed at, great attention to detail, very friendly people and the breakfast was spot on. Richard and Judy are very helpful and their local knowledge is very informative with plenty of suggestions of places to visit , would definately recommend and we look forward to returning.

John and Lilian

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Richard and I are very grateful you have taken the time to post your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfasts too. I know you will be thrilled to hear that we have just today been awarded the prestigious and coveted Visit England Breakfast Award!! We shall be adding the sign outside to join that of the AA Breakfast Award we won last year. Rich and I look forward to your return to Amble House in the near future and once again thank you very much for your generous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#46 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shemara Guest House
Shemara Guest House
#83 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#55 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#41 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hunters Way
Hunters Way
#135 of 177 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#20 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Property: Amble House
Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing