We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional B&B. Fantastic breakfast.”
Review of Amble House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amble House
Ranked #70 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceptional B&B. Fantastic breakfast.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and were absolutely delighted with our stay. Judy and Richard are such lovely hosts, we could happily have sat chatting with Judy all day if we didn’t have sightseeing to get on with! They gave us lots of useful advice and even lent us some guide books to help us find our way around Derwent Water and the vicinity. We were in room six at the front of the house and it was spacious, clean and very nicely decorated. Judy’s breakfast was one of the best I’ve ever had in any hotel or B&B (and I’ve stayed in some very nice establishments around the world in my time). The “Cumberland breakfast” was piping hot and everything was made with fresh local produce. Judy’s fresh fruit salad was also particularly nice.

I’m a long-time user of Trip Advisor but somehow never get around to writing up reviews of the places I’ve stayed at (there are always so many other things to be getting on with when you get home from a trip) but I HAD to make an exception in this case because Amble House really does deserve the highest praise. It’s just a shame that we had to check out a day early in order to miss the snow that was due to arrive in huge volumes on our last night. I had really been looking forward to another one of those fabulous Judy breakfasts!

Room Tip: Room 6 is a spacious king-size at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely review! Richard and I really enjoyed meeting you both and although it was such a shame you decided to check out a day early to ensure you reached your onward destination safely it was the right decision! We really did get a lot of snow that night and the road you travelled was closed for a time due to an accident so well done for forward thinking!! Thankyou for your compliments regarding the breakfast we serve and for the house too. I hope we get to see you both again in the future. Thankyou for tsking the time to post your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
162
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've just returned from a two night stay at Amble House. What a wonderful experience. We hadn't planned to stay there but awful weather prevented us from getting to our planned destination. Thankfully, we managed to get the last available room here and how pleased are we that we did. This is an exceptional bed and breakfast. We had a warm welcome from Judy who made us a pot of tea and gave us two enormous pieces of delicious home baked cake as we'd had a fairly horrendous time with the weather. Our room and the dining room were spotless (as I'm sure is the rest of the house!). All of the fixtures and fittings are high quality with lovely touches in the room like chocolates and sweets. The breakfasts are superb (really enjoyed the home made granola) and everything was cooked to perfection and was clearly good quality produce. Richard and Judy are the perfect hosts, warm and friendly, very informative and helpful. This is a must return to bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thankyou so much for your review. Richard and I are so very pleased we were able to help you with accommodation after your dreadful ordeal getting stuck in the snow and not being able to get to your original destination!! I wouldn't normally say that I was glad we'd had a cancellation due to the appalling weather but because of that we had a room we could offer so it all worked out for the best in the end. Thankyou so much for your kind words - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - and the cake too!! We hope you had a good journey home. We would certainly love to see you both again next time you visit our beautiful town of Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at The Amble House last week for 2 nights with my husband. It was just perfect! Excellent hosts and lovely rooms. They even give you a breakfast menu the night before so you can pick exactly what you want the next morning. We were so full we skipped lunch! I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalashes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are so pleased you had a good time whilst staying here. Thankyou for your feedback and for taking the time to do this for us. Richard and I are always so grateful for the reviews knowing that the reviewer has taken the time to send it in. Thankyou too for all your lovely comments. It was so nice to meet you both and we would love to see you both again anytime you are next in Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Myself and my husband spent two nights at Amble House and will now not stay anywhere else in Keswick. Firstly we recieved and lovely personal welcome from Judy, who ensured every aspect of our stay was perfect. Amble House was perfectly placed in Keswick, the town centre, restaurants and pubs are within a short distance. Our room was spacious, clean with lovely personal touches, we even got upgraged which was great. Breakfast was fantastic, all local produce, great portions with lots of choice. Judy, after breakfast gave us advice on walks, were to eat and what was going on within the town. There is absolutely nothing negative to say. Thank you for making a much needed break better than we could of imagined. We are not hardened walkers but found lots to do in keswick and visiting the local Lake is a must for budding photographers. Would highly recommend and we will certainly be returning in the summer.

Room Tip: Room 6 is lovely. Room 5 has a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write this review for us and for all the lovely comments. It was a great pleasure to meet you both and to give you some tips to add to the experience of your first visit to our lovely town. The weather, although cold, was bright and perfect for the budding photograhers you are and to hear how many photos you took of our magnificent Lake Derwentwater and our super Herdwick Sheep! I'm glad the short break did you both good and set you up for decorating your kitchen on your return home! Richard and I look forward to your return in the summer. Thanks once again for your very welcome feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you visit Keswick we would highly recommend that you stay at Amble House... Here's a few reasons why:

We stayed for 2 nights from Friday 22nd to Sunday 24th February 2013.

- The warm welcome from Judy and continued friendliness of her and Richard was fantastic, this couple are just made for B&B hosting
- The breakfast choices and quality of local produce was excellent - lots of home made goodies including Judy's Granola
- The attention to detail was wondeful from a corkscrew and wine glasses available in your room to little tiny scissors on the breakfast table to cut your sauce sachets
- They made us feel really welcome and were very interested in what we had planned - a detailed Met weather forecast was produced to aid our walk plans too

Great weekend, great B&B, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thankyou so much for posting your comments and saying such nice things about us!! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the Granola too! It was lovely to meet you both and we're glad the weather was good enough for your Great Gable climb [and slide too! ] Richard and I would love to see you both again next time you visit Keswick. Thanks again for your feedback and very generous comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are a gay couple and stayed here for 4 nights early January. The location was great, just a short walk from the centre of Keswick on a quiet street. We were given a very warm welcome when we arrived. We booked a double, but as the king-size was free they let us have that. Which was very nice of them. Our room was spotless clean and pleasantly decorated with good quality furniture.The area was quiet and we had good nights sleep in a very comfy bed. There was drink making facilities in the room and fresh milk in a flask container replenished each day.The bathroom had complementary toiletries, which we didn't use but its great to have just incase we forgot anything. The shower was a power shower and towels good quality. Breakfast was served at either 8.30 or 8.45am, which ever you choose. A choice of breakfast is available and you select it and the time you want it the night before. The choice for breakfast was great which is so important when you are staying quite a few days. We are vegetarian and appreciate the choice of how we wanted our eggs, fried, poached, scrambled. We also had Lakeland Plum bread at breakfast and tasted lovely. The hosts Judy and Richard were excellent and helped us plan our days, providing us with maps and books of the local area. The lake is only a short walk away and a variety of other walks also. We had a great holiday which was made special by the attention of Judy and Richard. We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thankyou very much for taking the time to post your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Amble House. It was great to meet you both and to hear of your plans to visit Canada next year - do hope all goes well! The weather was kind to you both and we can see the photos you took and posted - thankyou they are lovely! It was a pleasure to move you to a larger room as its something we like to do for our guests when we can, especially in the quieter months of the low season. We look forward to seeing you both again the next time Keswick calls out to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights on the 25th and 26th October and couldn't have found a better bed and breakfast. We love Keswick and have stayed on many occasions, but this is the best place so far!!
Judy gave us a lovely welcome and showed us to our room, Room 3 with a King size bed and comfy chairs in a large bay window. The refreshments in the room were excellent; a wide choice of teas, hot chocolate and fresh coffee for a caffetierre. Judy also provided fresh milk in a thermous which was wonderful as I personally hate the taste of UHT milk!
The room was very well equipped with toileteries and a good size hair dryer.
The breakfast was beautifully cooked, not at all fatty- big choice of componants all locally scourced and delicious. There was also a lovely buffet of fresh fruit salad, grapefruit, prunes granola, natural yogurt, choice of fruit yougurts, cereals and fresh fruit. Judy also made us a lovely packed lunch for our climb up Cat Bells for a very reasonable price.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We will definately be back! Thank you Richard and Judy for a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJJPFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thankyou for such glowing comments! Richard and I appreciate the time you have taken to do this for us and its gratifying to know we helped to make your recent stay in Keswick an enjoyable one. We enjoyed meeting you both and are very pleased you were happy and comfortable here and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damson Lodge
Damson Lodge
#49 of 175 in Keswick
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Green Guest House
Eden Green Guest House
#100 of 175 in Keswick
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harvington House
Harvington House
#46 of 175 in Keswick
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edwardene Hotel
Edwardene Hotel
#23 of 175 in Keswick
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunnyside Guest House
Sunnyside Guest House
#80 of 175 in Keswick
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble House

Property: Amble House
Address: 23 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble House 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing