We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amble House
Nearby Hotels
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
$99
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
$188
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$170
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Castlerigg)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
207
6
2
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
6
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrichard judygranolajudy's breakfastsfresh milkfiltered waterb btown centrefull englishperfect hostslittle touchesmarmaladehigh standarduseful advicewouldn't stay anywhere elsea nice place to staytea trayhome from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 220 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Have just returned from 2 night stay at Amble House and cant wait to go back. Richard and Judy were wonderful hosts making us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble - Judy immediately offered to dry our very wet clothing as soon as we walked through the door before offering to carry my case upstairs. Richard was very attentive in the dining room ensuring everyone had got what they wanted and making pleasant conversation with all the guests. The breakfast was superb - cooked to perfection,well presented and all locally sourced.
We were so impressed with our room - it was absolutely spotless and the bathroom positively gleamed! There was a well stocked hospitality tray and they had even left a chocolate on the pillows!
They really have thought of everything. Its the extra little touches that make all the difference and I would recommend this fantastic b&b to everyone

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherrylw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

What a lovely review!! It really is heartwarming to receive such a glowing testament and to know that you enjoyed your time here with us! It was a pity the weather wasn't too good but at least you managed to get some walking done. Richard and I enjoyed your company and look forward to the next time! Thankyou for taking the time to air your views!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

hello richard and judy, just got home, would like to say a great big thank you, your hospitality was lovely, and the food was fab, so anyone wanting to visit keswick in the lake district please try amble house and we guarentee you will not be dissapointed. it is very handy for town and all that keswick has to offer, hope to see you two soon.
many thanks,
mike & angela from cheshire (the coeliac lady)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nieveepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thankyou so much for your really kind comments. It was really lovely to meet you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return visit and remember to let us get your gluten free foods for you - we are happy to do it - its really not necessary to bring your own!! Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Judy was available to greet us on our arrival and couldn't have been more welcoming. We stayed three nights. If we had been able to stay 4 nights we could have taken the king size room. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay during what was probably the wettest week in July.

Richard was on hand a breakfast each day offering weather reports and suggestions of where to go and what to do and Judy's breakfast was something to behold! We certainly didn't need anything else until T time.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be booking again for next year.

Room Tip: A tad on the small side due to us taking luggage for a week travelling the lakes and Scotland
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thankyou so much for your kind comments. It was lovely to meet you both and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay - such a shame we couldn't organise better weather for you!! Hope your onward trip to Scotland was enjoyable. Richard and I look forward to seeing you both again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We first stayed at Amble House in November 2009 and when we recently thought about having a mini break (7th-10th July 2011 inc.) we had absolutely no hesitation in knowing that we wanted to stay at Amble House once again. In fact, it was ONLY because Amble House had a room available that we actually went to the Lakes and not elsewhere on a mini break. Amble House was our first and only choice in the Lakes. If it wasn't available, we wouldn't have stayed anywhere else in the Lakes and would have gone elsewhere in the UK/Europe instead. We love it that much!

The first time we stayed at Amble House, we received a very lovely warm welcome and were shown to our very impressive room. Judy showed us all the facilities the room offered and advised us of breakfast times etc.

When we arrived at Amble House for our second visit, we received yet another warm welcome and it was as if we were home from home.

We stayed in a different room during our second stay. Both the rooms we have stayed in during our visits to Amble House have been welcoming, cosy, comfortable, beautifully decorated and have a variety of facilities that make you feel at home.

Both rooms had an en suite shower room with a sink and toilet and big fluffy towels. They also had travel essentials such as razor, shampoo, shower gel, cotton buds, cotton pads, shower cap etc which were very useful.

Each of the rooms also had a fantastic hospitality tray with a wide selection of teas, instant coffee, filter coffee and filter de-caff coffee with a cafetiere and also a very much needed instant hot chocolate with delicious biscuits.

The rooms have a wardobe and plenty of drawer space for storing all of your clothes during your stay. Each room also has a hairdryer.

There's also a drying room for your walking gear if you happen to be caught out by the good old British weather.

Having stayed in Amble House in the cold season of November and also in the warm season of July, the temperature was perfect both times. In winter the rooms were really toasty and in the summer they were lovely and cool.

Breakfast....There are no words that can describe how delicious the breakfast is at Amble House! Scrumptious, delicious, yummy are a few but still don't do it justice! The breakfast system at Amble House is straight forward. Every day you have a menu in your room and you simply tick your choice of breakfast and leave your menu in reception before 8pm the evening before! Simple! The only hard part is choosing what you want to eat as the whole menu is gorgeously tempting! There's fruit juice and tea or coffee brought to your table when you arrive in the breakfast room. You can help yourself to cereal (including Judy's homemade Granola), yoghurt and fresh fruit salad. You can choose everything from a Full English Breakfast right through to beans on toast for a lighter breakfast option.

Breaksfast items are locally sourced as well as being DELICIOUS. Judy not only makes the Granola (I didnt taste it myself but other guests loved it and one said "it's the best granola I've ever tasted"), she also makes fantastic marmalade. The jam is also homemade by a friend of Richard and Judy's and is also, you've guessed it, delicious!

For a very reasonable small additional cost, Judy will prepare you a picnic with sandwiches etc as long as you let her know your requirements the evening before you want the picnic so she can cater for your request. This is a brilliant idea as it means you can literally grab your lunch and head off up a mountain or around a lake without having to go via Keswick town centre first. It's worth noting here that Kesick town centre is literally a 5 minute walk away and is beautiiful.

Richard and Judys knowledge of the area is outstanding and they were brilliant for telling us where was good and not so good to eat, to walk and to visit.

Checking out is a smooth process and credit/debit cards are accepted.

Richard and Judy are fantastic hosts. They have made us feel very welcome each time we have stayed and they are very accomodating. We love staying at Amble House and we will definitely be booking to stay there again...and again...and again...!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolsyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Wow!! What a super review! Thankyou so much for taking the time to do this for us. Its really gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your break so much. It was great to see you both again and Richard and I look forward to seeing you both in the near future [try the granola next time!!]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Owners Richard and Judy were welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The room was a small double but was ideal for us and the breakfast was great and varied, with plenty of choice even for us vegetarians. My other half can be quite particular about her food and they were very accommodating and keen to make sure they'd got it right.

You can be spoiled for choice for B&Bs in Keswick, but you can't go wrong with Amble House.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank andyj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CumbrianPeppa, Owner at Amble House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments for us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Amble House and your visit to Keswick. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are very pleased you enjoyed your breakfast choices and the actual food too! We look forward to your return to Keswick and your next stay here with us at Amble House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews