We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantatstic place to stay”

Elm Tree Lodge Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elm Tree Lodge Guest House
Ranked #124 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Elm Tree Lodge for the second time over the late May bank holiday weekend. Our room was really nice and the breakfast was great. The welcome is warm and you will struggle to find a better B and B than Elm Tree Lodge. It is a short 5 minute walk to Keswick so easy to pick up sandwiches before a day's hiking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 55 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for a week what a delight. The rooms were spotless and clean I stayed in room 1 a twin room at the rear of premises. Everything was perfect in the room I liked how you could go and buy the soaps from a shop along the road if you wanted as they were beautiful. Breakfast was lovely every morning just enough to start you off for a day of exploring. It was nice how there was just one big breakfast table so you could talk to everyone but its not for everyone. The guest house was only 5 minutes walk into Keswick so nice and close. Parking is busy but we didn't find it a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday-Lady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here with friends or a walking weekend in Lake District. Two minutes walk from Keswick town centre, the Elm Tree Lodge is ideally situated, with on-street parking right outside and a small driveway for two cars off the road. Rooms are spotless, very-well appointed and very reasonably-priced. Full breakfast consists of local produce and is superb. Tim (the owner) is very accommodating and keen to ensure you enjoy your stay. If you enjoy the mountains you will also be delighted to learn that he has summited Everest more than once and will happily discuss his adventures with you!
Highly recommended - this will I am sure be the first of many stays for me!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mortian1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The host was welcoming but not over the top. We stayed in room 1 a twin at the rear of the premises. Very clean and adequate room for two with a shower in the en-suite. The full English breakfast was well cooked and in acceptable proportions. The breakfast could be bettered by fresh fruit. All guests sat at a communal table for breakfast which would not suit some but allows for and exchange of "war stories". Copious coffee and toast available, drying facilities available to help outdoor people who were there for a wet week/end.


This B&B is in the centre of Keswick and suffers from lack of car parking
Good value for the money.

Room Tip: Quiet in the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PunchyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from staying at the elm tree lodge in Keswick . Lovely b+b with clean accommodating rooms . Breakfast was fab and made to feel very welcome.... Will definitely stay here again when visiting Keswick . Marc and Sarah

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcusdickus110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

11/10 for everything. Tim is a great host and everything about the place is top quality. Great breakfast too. I would recommend the Elm Tree to anybody. You could not be disappointed. Denise&John, 19.07.12

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inghamjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Elm Tree Lodge really is a fantastic guesthouse. It has been decorated to a high standard and is spotlessly clean. The breakfast is of high quality and there is a choice of full cooked/cereals and the like. The guesthouse is very well placed on a quiet street with only a 5-10 minute walk into the town centre for your evening meals and shopping.
This is the third time that I have been over three years and what keeps me and my partner coming back is not just the guesthouse but the owners. Tim has a superb knowledge of the Lakes and if you wish, provides you with different more interesting walks to take according to your ability. He is an Everest Summiteer and we love to hear about his adventures. Tim does everything to make sure your stay is an enjoyable one. Why would you stay in a hotel when you can get this extra evel of service here? Lindsay

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
4.5 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakeland View
Lakeland View
#86 of 189 in Keswick
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Escape
Riverside Escape
#25 of 189 in Keswick
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Powe House
Powe House
#6 of 9 in Portinscale
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Craglands Guest House
Craglands Guest House
#78 of 189 in Keswick
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Tree Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Tree Lodge Guest House

Address: 16 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $99 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Tree Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently modernised and very tastefully decorated Elm Tree Lodge is the perfect place for you to enjoy a bed and breakfast break. All the rooms are very well equipped and the en suites feature huge well lit mirrors, shaver sockets, heated towel rails and laminate wood floors. Very high quality beds and linens used throughout and the tastiest breakfast to start your day. Run by Everest summiteer Tim Mosedale and only 3 mins walk from town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elm Tree Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing