We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class B&B”
Review of Brookfield B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brookfield B&B
Ranked #23 of 196 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay here on Valentine's weekend with our springer spaniel Jack. Brookfield was a fantastic find!! Our host Ronnie carried our bags to our room on arrival, and then prepared freshly made coffee and tea for us with biscuits in the dining room. He then chatted to us and gave us some maps of the area and plotted on dog friendly pubs. Our room was spotless, and even things like a hairdryer had been provided in the room, along with tea/coffee and biscuits. Breakfast in the morning was fab! You can help yourselves to a range of cerals, yoghart and fruit etc. Ronnie provides both fresh juice and tea/coffee. We then both had the full English, all of which is made from local produce, with no cheap cuts. The saugage and bacon in particular were very tasty and we left feeling extremely full! The b&b is about a mile walk to Keswick, and is in a great location. We would throughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joejackWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 620 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2010

We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble for our host. The breakfasts were excellent, freshly cooked and piping hot, plus a breakfast buffet with fruit and cereals.

The situation is a little distance out of town, which has the advantage of being quiet, but the disadvantage of a 15 minute walk along a pleasant disused railway track or use of a car to get to and from town

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efjaynorwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed here for three nights, and loved it. The room was a cozy size for two people, with great quality wireless internet and television. The furnishings were lovely and the breakfasts were great. Our host was extremely helpful, offering tips about what restaurants to eat at, what trails to hike, and how to get around. He was continuously attentive, helpful, and friendly. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbyrousmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed at Brookfield for the fourth year running. This B&B is without doubt the best we've ever stayed in and we will continue to return year after year. Ronnie's hospitality and breakfasts have to be witnessed first hand to be believed. His knowledge of the Lake District is second to none. If you're planning on visiting Keswick then I would have to say stay with Ronnie at Brookfield!!!!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Bru70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Exellent accomodation, you would not guess that rooms are dog friendly as very clean, and although room quite small fully equipt with everything needed and en suite shower room very modern. Breakfast was lovely with a variety of times to sit and eat. Very friendly owner, happy to advise on local walking spots, dog friendly pubs and general area. A fresh pot of tea and coffee on arrival, in the dining room, after a long journey was an extra special touch that most B & B s don't provide this. Will be staying again and taking our 4 legged friend.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARNEYBOYTINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We had a three night stay at Brookfield in December. We stayed in room 4 which is a really lovely room, a great big king size bed which is very comfortable with good quality bedding. Couldn't fault the cleanliness, the place was spotless. The room was cleaned each day. One extra thing I liked was conditioner in the bathroom! Usually a B&B will provide shampoo but not conditioner!

Ronnie the owner is a really friendly guy, he recommended a lovely walk for us and also told us about the different pubs and restaurants in town. Nothing was too much trouble, he even made us a thermos of tea when we were making a very early start and made us breakfast at 6.30am

I would definitely recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firecracker1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Friendly and attentive owner. Warm ,cosy rooms. Fantastic breakfast. Couldn't fault the accomodation at all. Have spent many years travelling around The Lake District and this rates as one of the best B&B's that I have used.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkerat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,216 reviews
0 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#12 of 196 in Keswick
375 reviews
0 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#8 of 196 in Keswick
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#16 of 196 in Keswick
182 reviews
23.9 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield B&B

Address: Brookfield Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $105 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arrival you will be served with tea or coffee and biscuits in the dining room, All rooms are ensuite, individually decorated and are serviced daily. They all have showers, tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV's. and FREE WI-FI. Children welcome, Full English Breakfast is inclusive, with available vegetarian alternatives. We are inspected annually by Enjoy England, Cumbria Tourism and Keswick Tourism. receiving 4 stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brookfield B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing