We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find! Fab”
Review of Brookfield B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brookfield B&B
Ranked #19 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

For anyone loving the challenge of the great fells this is the place to stay. We usually opt for pubs and hotels to stay in the lakes. On this occasion we decided to try a B&B. and what a wonderful choice it was. Ronnie the owner is just such a fantastic host and looks after everyone so well. Nothing is too much trouble ( printing maps and guided walks as well as his very informed knowledge of the area) really clean and cosy rooms, the most amazing breakfast we have had in years and wonderful views of Eskdale Fell from the house. We came in by bus from Penrith and the bus stops outside Brookfield - perfect for those on foot with luggage. There are buses to Helvellyn just outside the B&B, and a lovely disused train track takes you into Keswick 10-15 mins max walk where you can fill your boots with anything that floats your boat, music, beer, food and company. A great walk to the stone circle and then over Walla Crag to Ashness bridge Is literally on the doorstep as is Eskdale Fell ( ask Ronnie for details) and Blencathra is just round the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheridan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 620 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Brookfield. We had 2 small dogs. Booking was easy, directly through the internet. The photos show are precise and there were no disappointments.
Ronnie welcomed us and provided local knowledge to compliment our time away.
The room was clean and comfortable. The welcome was coffee was just right.
Breakfast was one of the best we have had, freshly cooked and more than enough. Ronnie's poached eggs are superb!
Every day Ronnie enquired if we were ok and gave us lots of information about the town, where to go and how to get there.
Ronnie even made sure the dogs were comfortable! A towel was waiting for them to be dried off before coming into the building. Water is provided outside and even spare pooh bags with a dog bin!!
Everything had been thought through.
A home from home without any work!

Room Tip: We had Room 1, one flight of stairs. Enough room for us and 2 small dogs. Doggie walk just across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonBodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Ronnie was extremely friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived at the b&b, even providing advice on restaurants, walks etc. We were pleased to have found somewhere dogs where allowed and the extra touches such as a food mat, info on dog friendly restaurants etc made us feel like our dog was welcome not just allowed in the b&b.

The rooms are old fashioned but have all the facilities you need and are kept clean, particularly considering dogs are allowed, I didn't see a single hair.

Breakfast included the usual selection of bits and all the cooked food was very tasty.

Overall good value and a friendly, welcoming b&b. If we needed a b&b in Keswick again we would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Brookfield, not only was the room, well decorated and immaculately clean, the landlord was so friendly and welcoming and did everything he could to make sure we made the most of our short break in Keswick.
We had a lovely time, and it was much more than having a place to lay our heads at night.
I will definitely stay again, and recommend it to other persons heading up that way.
:-)

Room Tip: We were in the room at the top, beautiful regency style room. Didnt look in any of the others as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Late booking a walking trip I was pleased to find Brookfield had a warm welcome and great coffee after a long drive. Family bedroom a good size, very clean and very comfortble clean bed. Excellent TV picture. Walk into town is pleasant along the disused railway (no tracks!) and town is surprisingly good shopping precinct. No lounge available but overall great place stay if you want somewhere for bed & breakfast and perfect for a two night stay where the second night you go into town for the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinkplug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed here with our two digs in June 2013. We were greeted with a friendly welcome and even had our bags carried to our room. After settling in we were invited to the dining room for tea and biscuits and given the low down on the local area including advice on where to eat and dog friendly pubs. Doggie bags were provided along with a doggie towel and dog biscuits were provided with the tea tray! Our bed was a super king and the room was decorated to a very high standard. Breakfast was impressive and well presented in a lovely setting. The location is slightly out of town but the walk along the old railway line is blissful and parking was not a problem. We loved Brookfield so much we tried to return a month later but unfortunately they were fully booked! better luck next time :)

Room Tip: We had the room on the top floor which was a bit of a trek to get to but unlimately worth the hike!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calum F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A really lovely B & B and I would highly recommend.
Ronnie is a very nice approachable guy and made me feel very velcome. The room was lovely with everything I could need. I have booked another stay I liked it so much.
Thank you Ronnie, looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#13 of 189 in Keswick
341 reviews
0 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#3 of 189 in Keswick
609 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swiss Court
Swiss Court
#16 of 189 in Keswick
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
413 reviews
0 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 189 in Keswick
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield B&B

Address: Brookfield Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: $97 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arrival you will be served with tea or coffee and biscuits in the dining room, All rooms are ensuite, individually decorated and are serviced daily. They all have showers, tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV's. and FREE WI-FI. Children welcome, Full English Breakfast is inclusive, with available vegetarian alternatives. We are inspected annually by Enjoy England, Cumbria Tourism and Keswick Tourism. receiving 4 stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brookfield B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing