We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Herdwick; comfortable and friendly, with a great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Herdwick Guest House
Ranked #67 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Herdwick; comfortable and friendly, with a great breakfast!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our first trip to the Lake District, and on this experience we'll definitely be back!

Whilst the scenery and activities are fantastic, what's also extremely important is to have a great base.

The Herdwick guest house ticked all the boxes; room was fantastic-spacious, clean and very comfortable bed. The shower was also very welcome after a day out exploring in the sun. Breakfast was delicious; choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts and toast for a lighter option, and full English was yummy and tailored to your wants on a daily basis.

The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. It was good to be able to have a chat in the mornings; they helped us with any local info we asked for, and gave us good recommendations for our stay.

All in all, a really nice weekend and exactly what we needed! Would whole heartily recommend to anyone visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyClapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Owner at Herdwick Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Its so much appreciated when you take the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
57
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Situated only a few minutes from town centre, Nice cosy room with en suite,mod cons,quiet part of town, excellent choice of breakfast food's with a swift service. owners always willing to give advice on the local area.well worth a second stay.

Room Tip: Any room really as always clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightyman504049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We arrived for a four day stay and were welcomed by Shaun, who gave us a great low down on the local area. The guest house is a short walk to the main street, so excellent base for shopping, the lake or fells.

We stayed in room 5, it was a double room with ensuite shower. In the room there was tea and coffee with biscuits. Also, provided was an ironing board, straighteners, hairdryer, alarm clock, tv, Walking books, cotton buds and shower essentials. The rooms were cleaned daily and fResh towels provided.

Breakfast: The breakfast in a morning is served and prepared by Dawn. Huge selection of cereals on offer, fruit, juices, butters and conserve and tea/coffee. You can also have cooked breakfast and dawn is willing to accommodate any changes to regular fry up, served with toast.

I would highly recommend the Lake Mere Guest House for somewhere to stay in Keswick, friendly, helpful owners, super breakfasts and a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Good value b&b in the heart of Keswick. Served as a good base for a solo hiking trip and the small single ensuite room was ideal for a former camper turned soft. Neat little room with all mod cons. Not masses of space for luggage if you don't travel light. Wifi available throughout but a bit sketchy in the single room. Dawn a lovely friendly host. An extra pint or earplugs may have blocked out the noisy neighbours returning at 1am....thanks guys...

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SherpaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The room was extremely clean and smart, we were impressed. Bed was comfy and both got a great few nights sleep. We liked the added touches like cotton wool/ear buds and straighteners. Shower was spacious and reasonably powerful but took a little while to get hot. We missed the bath after a long walk but that was the only negative and i was aware there wasn't one when booking.
Breakfast was good, lots of coffee and juice.
I picked this place because the decor looked smart, modern and simple and the B&B lived up to that expectation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Lakemere. We stayed in a large double at the top of the house and were delighted with what was on offer. Lots of attention to detail - wlaking books left in the room, good tea/coffee tray, hair dryer and HAIR STRAIGHTENERS!!!, cotton buds, etc. The room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. Bed a little soft for my husbands tastes but he is very fussy - I slept fine. the only issue being at the top of the house was that the toilet cistern took ages to fill up and the water pressure wasnt great whilst it was doing that. Dawn was a great hostess and breakfast was good. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happylils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Received a warm ŵelcome from the friendly owners.
Lovely decorated room, quiet, good thick curtains kept out any light when asleep. Key provided for your stay, so come in and out anytime during the day. Breakfast was top class and a great range of provisions from full English breakfast and cereals, juice, fruit, toast etc, etc.
We fully recommend Lakemere guest house and if we come back to Keswick, Lakemere would be included in our agenda.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adruralo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#4 of 173 in Keswick
343 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
701 reviews
4.0 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdwick Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdwick Guest House

Property: Herdwick Guest House
Address: 13 Leonard Street, Keswick CA12 4EL, England (Formerly Lake Mere Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdwick Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured of a very friendly welcome at the Herdwick Guest House. Breakfast is served in our dining room. We are a quality Cumbria accredited accommodation situated in a quiet residential street with free unrestricted parking in the streets around. It is just a short walk to the town centre, Lake, Theatre and Parks.All rooms have ensuite facilities with towels and toiletries, hospitality trays flat screen tv wifi and alarm clocks. The guest house has been totally refurbished in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Herdwick Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing