We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy - good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak at Keswick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #46 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy - good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed in a twin room with my son on a touring trip. The room was basic twin, it did the job, was clean and the welcome from the girl on reception could not have been warmer. She went to great lengths to explain the best places to park. (Ring up before you arrive and get parking directions would be my tip).
The highlight was the choice of beers on draught and the food, if you want a steak and good wine they have it, if you want some fried sharing platters and lager they have that too.
Playing cards in a relaxed bar on probably their quietest night of the year was not disappointing. Great little pub with rooms!
The brecky was worth have of what we paid for the room so very good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi Thanks for your positive comments ,i'm glad you were afforded a warm welcome ,and enjoyed the food, wine beers & our hospitality ,would be great to see you again next time your in Keswick
Regards
Tim
General Manager
Inn@keswick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    199
    101
    31
    23
See reviews for
75
315
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was ok. Bed was uncomfortable (could feel springs) and room was cold even after turning heat on full. Draught from old windows but i suppose this is to be expected from an old inn. Bar lacked atmosphere so ate across the road. Breakfast was good though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, General Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi Glad you found us clean & comfortable ,& sorry for the lack of atmosphere, its very difficult to create in the dark winter months, thanks also for your comments regarding breakfast ,we are having some improvements very soon,i hope you will return & we can offer you a more comfortable stay with a great atmosphere
Regards
Tim
General Manager
Inn@keswick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights 14/15 Jan 2014 with our dog. Hotel is completely dog friendly and we felt very welcome and comfortable in all areas. Breakfast lovely. All very fresh and well presented. Service lovely too. We paid £55 per night for the room which was well proportioned and immaculately clean. We agree with some other reviewers that the décor/facilities may be a little 'tired' but bearing in mind the cost, we think this is irrelevant. Those posting complaints regarding décor etc should bear in mind that if major refurbishment work were to be carried out, the cost of the rooms would reflect it!

Room Tip: Room 19 a good size with dual aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, general manager inn at keswick at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi Thanks for your very positive comments, we think the most important thing for our guests ,is they leave feeling they have had value for money ,then maybe they will return for another visit,hope to see you again in keswick very soon
Regards
Tim
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked this hotel as a special 40th birthday break and decided on a character room to make it a bit special.
Well we were very disappointed with it and didn't live upto basic standards, let alone a room of character.
Rather than write paragraphs about everything I will just list the faults and put the photos up

Exposed plug socket
Large damp patches, flaking plaster on ceilings
Bedside lamps not working (not due to the sockets, we tested them in sockets that worked)
Plug sockets not working
Extractor fan not working, or extractor fan isolator switch not working
Seals on shower don't work, bathroom floor full of puddles
Mould round sealant
Mould round window frames
Twin beds made into double but covers didn't fit properly
Cupboard doors don't shut, fixings broken.

Even in the bar in the evening they only had one bottle of cider left, so not a good establishment all round.

The Dog and Gun pub, is great for food, just round the corner, and was more welcoming than here.

On departure we told the receptionist about faults and all she said was "it's a popular room" no apologies, just pay the bill.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, general manager in at keswick at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi really sorry you didnt enjoy your birthday weekend with us ,i accept some of our rooms are a little tired and in need of some tlc,i was dissapointed we didnt give you an apology which is the very least we could have done, we are having some work done very soon,to bring all our rooms up to spec, if you would like to get in touch by emai, i will explain more in some detail, once again please accept my sincere apologies for your unsatisfactory experience
Tim
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent stay. Staff were very helpful even though they were extremely busy. Rooms were comfortable, clean and offered good value for money. The location was perfect. On New Year's Eve we joined everyone in the square to say goodbye to 2013, it was a fabulous atmosphere, very safe and memorable. Then back to the hotel for last drinks, although I think we may have been last up apart form the landlord and staff who were enjoying a well deserved night cap. The breakfast was very good, quality ingredients and generous. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay only the weather could have been better,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shootingstar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, manager inn@keswick at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments, the atmosphere ,this year in keswick was memorable ,just glad we contributed a little bit, always nice to enjoy a small sherry when everyones gone to bed ,just to unwind you understand ,look forward to seeing you next year ,all the best
Regards
Tim
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawtenstall
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great breakfast and a very comfortable room. Low doorways...
The staff are great and endlessly helpful-they are sending my doorkey back to me after I gave it in error for their after hours key!
The hotel is owned by Thwaites so the wainwrights is very good. It was part of the Royal Oak and has information celebrating that heritage.
We stayed on a 3 day deal and it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a bath with shower, but only a view of Greggs side wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, manager inn@keswick at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
In the current economic climate we think it is really important for our customers to enjoy value for money ,thanks for mentioning it & i agree the Wainwrights is good, unfortunately we can't do anything about the view (greggs), but look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to keswick
Regards
Tim
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the inn for 2 nights , for the price we paid it was quite reasonable but the stairway didn't give good impression with dirty stained carpets and worn decor , we had a small double which we didn't mind we only sleep and shower in our room but the bedding had a few rips in it and the carpet and ceiling was stained , the window latch was broken and the room was far too hot but I think with a bit of a spruce up we would stay again , the breakfast was good and staff friendly , they even fill your flask for you which was very good and no they don't have milk in the room but we told if we required some just let them know and they would put some in our room overall we had a lovely time in Keswick as always

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitecheeksNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatKeswick, manager inn@keswick at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi good news ,we are spending some money refurbing our bedrooms & the downstairs bar area sometime early this year ,we are just waiting for planning permission,thanks for your honest comments,i agree the decor is tired ,i just hope we made up the shortfall with our welcome , i hope you will see the difference next time you come & stay
Regards
Tim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#6 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Property: The Royal Oak at Keswick
Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, LateRooms, HRS, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing