We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor standard of accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #49 of 176 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor standard of accommodation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the desire for a central hotel in Keswick, utilising 3 rooms for two nights.
Unfortunately in our eyes the hotel does not live up to the reviews previously posted. The rooms we used are small and dingy, poorly furnished and in desperate need of refurbishment. It is recognised that this is an old building, and therefore there are limitations to the physical space, however there is no excuse in failing to maintain the property in good order.
The main bar area felt dirty, rather like a run down pub the morning after a heavy session, with dirty/sticky tables in the breakfast area
We only ate breakfast at the hotel during our stay, which was adequate, but lacking in any imagination.
The lack of ventilation/cooling meant that windows had to be left fully open; the party goers of Keswick on a Saturday night put paid to any hope of a good sleep
Overall we felt this was poor value for the money. Will not be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuckebox53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, we try to sell ourselves as an Inn rather tahn a hotel and both negative and positive comments help us to get better. Being centrally located has its pro's and con's unfortunately you experienced the latter as Keswick town centre can be quite lively at tines. Sticky tables and a dirty bar are not acceptable, I will share your comments with the team. I'm sorry once again.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    203
    105
    32
    24
See reviews for
79
323
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

So -- we had good food in here - of the pubs in Keswick this was the best we had this year. And the beer was good too. Nice and airy so the presence of dogs was not an issue in here. Good place to come for food and beer in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments, I'm so pleased you enjoyed our beer and fayre. Hope to visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

First of all I would like to say that we enjoyed the town of Keswick, and had no issues with staff or food at the hotel or any other restaurants or services offered in the village, so I wouldn't say not to visit Keswick, it is a charming market town etc, I would just avoid this hotel.

The issues we have are with the hotel and the room . I know people have said the staff were friendly, but the only contact we had, outside our complaint, was saying we wanted tea in the morning and ordering a drink at the bar. Also the breakfast the same as any other you would get in any other hotel. I know it says breakfast of the year 2009, but that was 4 years ago !

We arrived at the hotel which is nice and central, unloaded our bikes and as promised reception said they could store them for us, as arranged. We were given keys and made our way to the second floor. When we entered the room it was dirty and shabby. Mould in the bathroom, on the tiles and over the shower sealant. The toilet also made an horrific churning noise when flushes and at random times which was enough to wake you. Im assuming its the Saniflow type used. You don't mind this once you have used the loo, but not 20-30 mins later. The carpet was also dirty and stained. The inside of the windows was covered in condensation and remained so for the 3 days, there was also mold here. The wall paper also showed signs of damp and staining.

The bed valance was also stained with blood and mould stains

We went to reception to complain. The man apologised and said that the condensation “could not be helped”. He also said he would arrange for the room to be cleaned once we went out. I asked for a different room to be told that the hotel was full. However when we arrived there were arrival forms for a number of other guests yet to arrive, so a switch around could have been possible. Also I checked on Booking.com which showed there was still 1 room available for the nights we had already booked.

We decided to stay as trying to find new accommodation after a 6 hour drive, in Half Term, wasn't something we wanted to do late into the day.

When we returned to the room, we found that their idea of cleaning was simply to remove the blood stained valance and not replace it, leaving the bottom bed frame exposed for the 3 days

The hotel also states “Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel”. We had no issues with wifi in the main bar/restaurant area, and in the corridor leading to the room, but it was impossible to get any signal in the room. Even if i sat by the moldy, condensation covered window, which was on the front of the hotel about the bar entrance it could not be picked up. I am self employed and rely on internet access.

We tried to spend as little time in the room as possible

The final straw came on the 3rd day at breakfast. We appreciate that it is a dog friendly hotel, and again when we were in the bar, there was a dog there which didn't cause any issues. However the bar/lounge/restaurant area is basically the same room with a carpet area in the lounge/restaurant area and the bar area having wooden flooring. Eating breakfast, another resident came into the restaurant area with 2 small dogs, one of which jumped onto my leg, the owner then apologised , but a third dog came into the breakfast area and all 3 started barking and fighting etc. I cant see why they don't use the full area for breakfast instead instead of just the carpet area, when the wooden flooring area just had the chairs stacked on the table. This would mean that people without dogs could eat breakfast without them sniffing around, jumping on you and fighting with other dogs.

Also it would be more hygienic should one of the dogs urinate or worse on the carpet. it would be a lot easier to clean up from the wooden flooring. And who wants a dog passing wind when you are having food.

Finally the buffet area used communal bowls for some foods and the last thing you want it someone to be messing around with their dog and then handling the food left on the table without washing their hands. I have 2 dogs, but I would at least give respect to other people who dont have animals

I did complain to to reception again and with they other complaints, which had not been passed on initially, they did give a 25% discount on the bill. We would have preferred to have paid the full price and been given a clean, dry room, and been allowed to eat food without it being as if we were at a dog fight.

Keswick is a nice place to visit, but i would avoid this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I am sorry that we haven’t kept to our own high standards here - although we’re a quaint and very old coaching Inn, there is no excuse for poor housekeeping. We’re having a real drive in this area to bring all the rooms up to the same high standard – with an emphasis on cosy comfort. I hope you will visit again in the future and see the improvements we are making.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very well situated hotel, very friendly owner and staff. Although my wife and I stayed there only one night, I can say its well worth a visit. The location, if not ideal for car owners, is central and perfect for walkers to the lake or visits to the town shops and attractions.
The food served in the Hotel is top rate and compliments to the chef, we had dinner at night and an excellent breakfast in the morning, couldn't fault it. Oh, and the beers on tap are no' bad either !!
try it/them for yourselves, you won't be disappointed.
Richard Stewart

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments, i'm glad you enjoyed the experience and I hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

stayed her for one night over the bank holiday. Our room was small but the bed was very comfortable and the complimentary tray was packed with nice expresso coffee, biscuits, bottled water and the lady on reception gave us a flask of fresh milk which i thought was a nice touch. The hotel itself is just what you expect in Keswick, old with lots of character it is in a great location for walking on the fells. We parked easily enough on one of the side streets even though it was a bank holiday would stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollywagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The place was busy. Instead of loving it and chasing tips/even just providing a pleasant experience staff all seemed to be having a horrible time. Food (though ok- but never order a side of veg, talk about over boiled and boring) was pretty much just thrown at us. Also it was almost difficult to pay for the food at the bar as everyone was so miserable! Sorry guys would like to but wont be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank j77h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We normally pride ourselves on our service but on this occasion we let you down. I will share your comments with the team and use them as an incentive to get much better. Please accept my apologises for your poor experience with us.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent-
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed recently for a large event in Keswick. We had a total of 6 rooms. All rooms (even my small little room No1) were very clean and well presented.
The hotel did have a problem with power on our first night, but that could not be helped and the staff were in good sprits and helpful, power was all good next day so we had one night of dark room (glad I packed my head torch!)
The beds may be a little old and tired in some rooms as a few of us had varying nights sleep, again no complaints from me as my bed was nice and cozy!!!
Negative point-
Toilets in bar. Without a doubt the most smelly loo's Ive ever been into. why???
Food, we ate out a few times in Keswick and had some great meals, the place is geared up for serving substantial fodder to hungry walkers.
This hotel however was at best pretty average. Our main issue was the breakfast, we have never tasted anything so bland, it says something when the sausages taste the same as the bacon which has the same taste as the eggs! After the first day most of us switched to toast and just bacon butties.
We did eat one evening with 6 of us opting for Steak and chips, they were fine, but just that fine/average/nothing special.
As a guest I would say defo stay at this very centrally located clean and convenient hotel but eat elsewhere in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We normally get very positive comments regarding our breakfast, on this occasion however we didn't hit the mark. Please accept my apologises, we have made some menu changes recently and I sincerely hope you will revisit and taste the improvements. Please accept my apologises for your last visit.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#13 of 176 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Property: The Royal Oak at Keswick
Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing