We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Nearby Hotels
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
$120
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$150
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$229
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$185
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveler rating
251
221
111
36
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
221
111
36
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb hotpotthe pubsteak and ale pieflask of fresh milkbooked a tablean overnight stayate hereminutes walk awaycumberland sausagean evening mealeggs benedictcumbrian breakfastgood nights sleepcentre of townstayed for nightscouple of nightsgreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 654 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We will stay at the Inn at Keswick again.Good food, great selection of ales, friendly staff in a relaxed atmosphere, all set in a superb location.

The staff are always helpfull and the traditional pub setting is excellent.
We hope to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wornboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. I am glad the team looked after you and that you enjoyed the pub atmosphere, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the Inn in Keswick for three nights last week and had a thoroughly good time.

Having read some reviews complaining about the small rooms and uneven flooring we took the plunge anyway. We found the small room with uneven flooring and bed at an angle to be charming and added character to the hotel. Yes the bed was firm but I slept well anyway. The room may not be modern but the extras in the room like toiletries and the fresh coffee sachets and galaxy hot chocolate was a nice change from unbranded cheap alternatives found in bigger chain hotels.

The staff were always polite and helpful and breakfast was superb. We ate dinner the first night here and the food was your normal bar food stuff. My wife hit it off with her pudding though as she asked for chocolate bread and butter pudding. A few minutes later the waiter came over apologising that there was none left, however he offered the sticky toffee pudding as an alternative. When asked if she wanted cream, ice cream or custard on her pudding, she answered yes please! Sure enough it came out with all three (cream and custard in separate jugs. She did say that it was the nicest sticky toffee pudding she had had in a long time.

Our last night was a bit noisy from the street below, but that would be the case whatever hotel you stayed in on the main street. You can’t blame the hotel for noisy revellers heading home.

For £60 B&B per night I would book again far preferring the quirky old building charm of this inn to the modern boxes with no character in chain hotels.

Room Tip: We had room 17 (second floor) overlooking the main street. Small double room but had sufficient space for a three night break.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Roper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, uneven floors are not unusual in an eighteenth century former coaching house, we like to think it adds character. I was also pleased to here you enjoyed your dessert and the team went the extra mile. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel/pub is located in the town centre of keswick. The room we stayed in was very spacious. The staff are very friendly, James was great and very knowledgable about the area. There is a great selecton of breakfast and they even offered to fill your flasks of tea and coffee for the walks. The bar has 2 open fires on either side of the room we felt very wlecomed by all. Would definalty stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 very good
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueandstu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments we always try and give value for money. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit and I will share your positive comments with James. I hope you visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to this pub twice during our recent stay and both times had a friendly welcome from all the staff and great food.
The pub is fairly plain and lacks a bit of atmosphere but this is more than made up for by the quality of the food.
Do try one of the Deli Platters these are excellent value and give you a sample of either fish or meat,the warm crusty bread is fantastic !
You can sample 3 of the real ales they have on tap for the price of a pint.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pennwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the atmosphere but i'm happy that you enjoyed our hearty fare. I will share your comments with the team. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having attempted a couple of nights camping in "the coldest march for 50 years" we opted for the Inn to save our week's holiday and were so glad we did! We lucked out on the room (no. 2) which was HUGE for the two of us, complete with a lovely bathroom and big, comfortable bed.
The staff were so friendly and the breakfasts were superb fuel to start us off on our long walks around the area.
Right in the town centre yet slept perfectly, this was a real treat. Room was clean and well facilitated with tasty hot chocolate , coffee and tea, and tasty biscuits every day.
Remember this is a pub with rooms above it so those looking for hotel/boutique experiences have to be prepared to pay the price!
We found that for under £200 for 2 people for 3 nights in a fantastic room meant that we had a wonderful week and will definitely head there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLT_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

I think the most important thing in tough economic times is value for money, and by the sound of your wonderfully positive comments, I think we achieved this which makes us happy so glad you enjoyed your stay and we went some way to saving your weeks holiday in beautiful Keswick, I will share your positive comments with the rest of the team.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews