We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay in beautiful Keswick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Ranked #57 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely stay in beautiful Keswick”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having attempted a couple of nights camping in "the coldest march for 50 years" we opted for the Inn to save our week's holiday and were so glad we did! We lucked out on the room (no. 2) which was HUGE for the two of us, complete with a lovely bathroom and big, comfortable bed.
The staff were so friendly and the breakfasts were superb fuel to start us off on our long walks around the area.
Right in the town centre yet slept perfectly, this was a real treat. Room was clean and well facilitated with tasty hot chocolate , coffee and tea, and tasty biscuits every day.
Remember this is a pub with rooms above it so those looking for hotel/boutique experiences have to be prepared to pay the price!
We found that for under £200 for 2 people for 3 nights in a fantastic room meant that we had a wonderful week and will definitely head there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLT_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I think the most important thing in tough economic times is value for money, and by the sound of your wonderfully positive comments, I think we achieved this which makes us happy so glad you enjoyed your stay and we went some way to saving your weeks holiday in beautiful Keswick, I will share your positive comments with the rest of the team.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    204
    105
    32
    27
See reviews for
82
323
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed it. The pub area had nice fires and character. The rooms were adequate with a good selection of hot drinks and also biscuits. Good location with parking nearby. Spent the evening at the Inn and enjoyed the food and a selection of the Thwaites ales.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete and Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our room (no 11) was so tiny as to make it impossible to open up the folding lugguage rack provided in the wall cubhoard: nowhere to store folded clothes or swing a cat; movement around the bed possible only with advanced planning and a bathroom toilet located in such a place as to make it useable only by contortionists. In fifty years of using hotels I cannot recall paying so much (£90) for so little, but the breakfast and staff were excellent

Room Tip: Before booking check room and bathroom floorplans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeChadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Always stop off at the Inn at Keswick for a pint of Thwaites whenever i pass, love Keswick. Thought i would like to stay longer and perhaps not rush me pint so much and me and my partner stayed for 2 nights , 3 days......it did not dissapoint at all !! We arrived at lunchtime on a very cold day and enjoyed a pint of "lancaster bomber" by the lovely open fire , theres always a nice feel to the pub, your made very welcome. Booked in at 2pm and was offered a flask of fresh milk to make tea , coffee etc in the room which was a nice touch, the room was small but cosy with everything you needed, Went down for our evening meal around 5-45 and in 15 minutes the bar was full of people eating, the food here is always good and lots of passers by use the pub, we had soup and a roll each and shared the butchers deli board which was lovely and more than enough for two ! more "lancaster bomber" arrived and everything was a blurr , a nice blurr though , it,s a lovely atmosphere in the bar. The location is great stepping out into the top of Keswick market the whole town is on your doorstep, it,s also a great place to walk from with easy access to the northern and central fells and the 3,765 walking shops !! If you want a lovely inn with great beer , good food and freindly , helpful staff ......look no further, i will certainly book again...my girlfriend says i look well on Thwaites !!!

Room Tip: Rooms over 3 floors ......if your dodgy ont legs ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patto9941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

couple staying in a double room, stayed here for 2 nights in march . nice hotel great central location decent food and drink. polite staff. the only downside was a very very small room(room 1). and a very small double bed. otherwise a decent place to stay, due to the size of the room i think it is overpriced.

Room Tip: i can only speak about room 1, its tiny,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrensafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a nice meal here, got a mixed starter to share between 2 which was a very large portion which was lovely and filling. Then had Pasta which was delicious. Service was very quick and friendly. I would here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to The Inn at Keswick. You must have had one of our deliboards which are delicious and very filling! Hopefully next time your in Keswick we can impress you again, I will share your positive comments with all the team.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel after turning away from our original booked hotel which looked poor. We were not disappointed. Room was clean and adequately decorated and kitted. We had the room situated on the front corner above the bar. We heard no noise from the street and a little from the bar which stopped sharp at closing. As we participated at the bar most nights this was not an issue. Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. Would stay again no problem.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Tim Banks - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It's always nice to hear when our guests have had a nice stay and I'm glad that you would stay here again. I will share your positive comments with the rest of the team.

Kind regards,
Tim Banks - Manager and all the team at The Inn at Keswick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak at Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak at Keswick

Property: The Royal Oak at Keswick
Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England (Formerly The Inn at Keswick)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak at Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak at Keswick is a welcoming pub offering great home-cooked food and accommodation in the vibrant market town of Keswick, which is situated on the lakeside North of Derwentwater in Cumbria's Lake District. The Royal Oak at Keswick offers a pleasing blend of pub, restaurant and hotel rooms with a well stocked bar and a varied menu of freshly prepared produce and seasonal ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your The Royal Oak at Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Keswick Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing