We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak at Keswick
Nearby Hotels
$149
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
$106
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$215
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$196
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveler rating
251
221
111
36
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
221
111
36
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb hotpotthe pubsteak and ale pieflask of fresh milkbooked a tablean overnight stayate hereminutes walk awaycumberland sausagean evening mealeggs benedictcumbrian breakfastgood nights sleepcentre of townstayed for nightscouple of nightsgreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
576 - 581 of 654 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our stay at the Inn at Keswick was an enjoyable one. Food fab, dog was made so welcome and other dogs too. Couldnt be more welcome to be honest. Wish I had asked to upgrade to a larger room but didnt know if there was a larger room that would accomodate dogs? (should have asked) as this would have made our 4 nights even more enjoyable, other than that staff were helpful they couldnt do enough. Just lv Keswick and the pubs and the different beers just a fab place. Thankyou Inn at Keswick. Thankyou for welcoming us and our dog Tigs :)))))

Room Tip: ask for a larger room if you have a biggish dog.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Iain Anderson - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thank you for your great review. Next time you book if you would like to call us first we can ensure that you have a larger room.

Kind Regards

Iain Anderson - Manager and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We visit this area annually in February to check that our caravan is still standing. This is our first stay at the Inn at Keswick. We had problems with the booking site. We booked a junior suite but on arriving were offered a standard room. We were finally given a family room. This was not an issue as it was very spacious. There are no parking facilities so you have to find street parking or feed the car park meters. Some local hotels appear to provide parking permits for the car parks but not this hotel. With the exception of the gentleman on reception (who was rather off-hand) all staff were very helpful. The food was excellent value. We enjoyed our stay and would stay next year if the hotel could resolve the parking issues

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephb762 B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Booked online but then rang to enquire about upgrading the room and was told we had been allocated a large room anyway so didn't bother. However when we got there we were put into room 11 which was very small with barely enough room in the bathroom to use the toilet. It also had some torn wallpaper hanging off the wall. Disapointing start.
However, went straight back to reception to tell them about the problem and they moved us to room 8 which was far better, for no extra charge.
Food and beer was good. Liked the 1/3rds idea to try out different beers.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Iain Anderson - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise for our poor start, but was pleased to hear we were able to rectify any issues and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Iain Anderson - Manager and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stopped here on a recommendation for lunch. Food was excellent and served quickly. Beer was fantastic. Service was offhand and distant which was a shame as this hotel certainly has a lot going for it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleverclogscomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Iain Anderson - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your service did not live up to our usual high standards. Hopefully we can redeem ourselves on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Iain Anderson - Manager and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

When I booked the hotel I put on the booking we were bringing our dog, I rang a few days later to confirm they had received the notification that we were bringing the dog. When we arrived, the room we were put into was tiny. Our dog is pretty small but we struggled to fit all our walking gear in and find somewhere for the dog to sleep. On the website it states they will put a pillow out for your dog to sleep on, which was no where to be seen. Though we booked two nights we had to come home on the first night due to a family emergency but when I called the hotel the next day to advise why we had left in the night, I wasn't offered a refund on the second night (This was at 9am so well within their refund policy). We got the feeling that it was abit of an inconvenience that we had our dog with us and thought the staff might be abit more welcoming. They all seemed too concerned that there was a guy in the bar doing an audit of some type to worry about the customers. Overall I was disappointed with the hotel and future will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHoldsworth87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Iain Anderson - Manager at The Royal Oak at Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank you for your review about your recent stay, I was sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing stay with us and i hope in future you would give us another chance and we would be glad to upgrade you to one of our larger rooms.

Kind Regards

Iain Anderson - Manager and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews